We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing amazing amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Juyong Pass of Great Wall

Juyong Pass of Great Wall
Juyong Pass, Changping District, Beijing 102202, China
010-69771665
Improve this listing
Visit Juyong Pass of Great Wall like an insider
Private Tour
$87*
and up
Private Tour: Great Wall of China at Juyongguan...
Ranked #11 of 1,463 things to do in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: 12 miles north of Changping and 37 miles north of Beijing. Apparently closest portion of Great Wall to Beijing.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Amazing amazing amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

I went to the Great Wall music festival this year at the juyong pass off the Great Wall......afrojack and armin van buuren....it was amazing and the Great Wall made this festival even more spectacular

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,612 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    836
    619
    139
    13
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

The great wall is on many people's bucket list for a reason! The sights are amazing and the pictures you take, you'll be sharing with your grandchildren. This was a must, must, must for me when visiting China and it live up to my expectation.

A few things to note. We went mid-winter and the crowds were much lighter than what I heard about during the summers month. However, it was very cold and windy. The stairs are very steep at some parts and there are sections which are not easy to climb if you choose to climb them. Bring water! You'll find yourself in need of a drink after walking a distance.

If you are willing to make the trek and have a few hours to kill, make sure to walk a ways out. There becomes less people and you really get to see some fantastic views.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Pictures don't do it justice!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Climbing up this part of the wall was magnificent. It was very busy at the start but thinned out the higher you went. It was a very strenuous walk but well worth it for the view.
Carry plenty of water, although there are people selling it along the way.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Be ready to sweat!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

This is a great alternative to Badaling and has significantly less people.
We arrived early, but there were still quite some people. The first tower splits the crowd abd leaves the unfit behind.
The hike to the top took us 40min, which was a great cardio workout - bring a bottle of water!. There are shops on the way to buy water-which are quite pricey.
The wall is impressive, but due to the haze/pollution there was nog much if a view. Try to go on a clear day (after rain).

The
The

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
New Delhi
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Experience of a Lifetime!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Climbing the Great Wall was one of the most awe-inspiring experiences in my life. At Juyong Guan Pass there are no cable cars to take you up, so you just have to climb up those seemingly unending series of steps. At the entry point, we went to the right as we were told the left side is steeper, and yet we thought we would never get even halfway- the steep flights of stone steps looked impossible to climb. But once we started off we were determined to reach the top. Clear weather helped and every now and then we stopped to marvel at the breathtaking view below and the wall winding over the hills. An iron railing runs along the sides so there is always support. Yes, the steps are very steep, so comfortable shoes with good grip are a must. There is a small souvenir and tea shop at the top with seating arrangements if one wants to rest a while. We found the climbing down more scary as we realised how high we had climbed and how steep the steps were! The area is very well maintained and we felt it was more rewarding actually climbling the wall than taking a cable car as in Badaling, which is supposed to be more popular with tourists. There are several souvenir shops at the base ...some amount of bargaining is advised. Buying a tee-shirt stating "I climbed the Great Wall" is worth the money spent!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Juyong Pass of Great Wall also viewed

 

Been to Juyong Pass of Great Wall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Juyong Pass of Great Wall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.