We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you go to China, you have to do this.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Juyong Pass of Great Wall

Juyong Pass of Great Wall
Juyong Pass, Changping District, Beijing 102202, China
010-69771665
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Private Tour
$87*
and up
Private Tour: Great Wall of China at Juyongguan...
Ranked #10 of 1,198 Attractions in Beijing
4.5 of 5 stars 1,550 Reviews
Type: Historic Sites, Military Bases/ Facilities, Landmarks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: 12 miles north of Changping and 37 miles north of Beijing. Apparently closest portion of Great Wall to Beijing.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“If you go to China, you have to do this.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

You have to go early. It gets crowded. I loved when I got to the first tower. All of the Asians had to have their picture taken with me. I do not think they get many Americans at this wall sight.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,550 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    798
    600
    135
    11
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Daly City, California, United States
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
118 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
429 helpful votes 429 helpful votes
“Great views of the Great Wall”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

You need to watch your step here. I've actually sprained my ankle a few times coming here by not watching my step and taking pictures of the place.

The floor is a little uneven.

Anyways this part of the wall was first used in the Qin Dynasty and was later rebuilt by the Ming.
It was an strategic point to defend China from the northern barbarians from the north.

There are many entrances to this place and depending on which tour group you go with or driver you take.

The entrance my wife and I went through was the one next to the reservoir. To the right was a way directly up which no one was going. I ran up by myself and wow it was a long ways up but the view from up there was absolutely amazing.

The left side had what seems to be an outpost, it had more buildings than just a wall.

Summary-

Something you should see even if you've been to Ba Da Ling and Mu Tian Yu. Actually not very far from Ba Da Ling.

Bathroom at the bottom area once you go up the wall you won't be finding a bathroom up there.

I can't remember I think it was 40-60 rmb to get in.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nairobi
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great wall-great fulfilment reaching the summit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I had an experience of visiting the Great wall at Juyong Pass, Beijing. The section is very challenging to climb but fortunately there are several rest place as you climb. It is a very good challenge to gauge your fitness. Not many people were able to reach the summit and people reached various rest places depending on their fitness and motivation. It is visited by people from all over the world and I liked the encouragement people were giving each other as they climbed regardless of their nationality or race. Those who reached the summit felt fulfilled and you could see it from their faces as they cerebrated.
At the summit you enjoy a great view of the area.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Wall at Juyongguan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Climbing up the Great Wall-Juyongguan is an experience unlike anything else. It gives you a sense of all the blood and sweat that went into protecting a nation at one point of time in history, besides the lasting legacy and heritage left behind.
It is a really steep climb but an experience worth having. If you're prone to giddiness and bad knees, you might like to take it easy and very slow. Beware, though there aren't many resting places until you cross the few hundred metres mark. If you persist, it gets less crowded after the first the few hundred metres, and the view from the top is just breathtaking.
You should wear something comfortable and breathable. It was overcast when I visited and I was still soaked. Carrying some water is a good idea but it adds to your load. You can buy them on the way but it can be a little more expensive.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“great wall, great views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

even if you are not fit enough to climb the massive steps it is still a great place. there is a lovely coffee shop where you can sit and absorb the atmosphere while you wait for the more energetic travelers to return.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Juyong Pass of Great Wall also viewed

 

Been to Juyong Pass of Great Wall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Juyong Pass of Great Wall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.