We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For foreigners in the dark” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Dadong Roast Duck Restaurant (Jinbao Place)

Dadong Roast Duck Restaurant (Jinbao Place)
Jinbao Place, No.88 Jinbao Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing, China (Tian'anmen / Wangfujing)
010-85221111
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 9,385 restaurants in Beijing
Cuisines: Beijing Specialties
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
San Francisco, California
1 review
“For foreigners in the dark”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Restaurant is over rated and way over priced. One can find much better, quality and taste, at other location at 1/3 the price. Service leaves a lot to be desire unless you are not rush for time. Prior reviews do recommend reservations and I agree. Overall, save your money and go elsewhere for much better food, better service and MUCH lower price.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    251
    134
    50
    16
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Peking Duck to die for”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Fabulous experience from beginning to end. The duck are cooked in wood burning fires in a central arena so there is lots to see. We managed to get a table alongside so got some good photos too.
The menu is enormous, but all with photos to help you see what you will get. Even so we found it all bewildering so went for one of the cheaper tasting menus. An exciting selection of small appetisers were served one after the other all beautifully presented. Then came the Peking Duck which was expertly carved at our table and came with all the usual accompaniments. Really crispy skin and not too fatty. Finished off with a small dessert and a bunch of fresh lychees.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
404 helpful votes 404 helpful votes
“Gimmick only”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

The menu is thick and huge like a phone book.
The dishes are mostly gimmick, aircon is poor. we were all soaked in our sweat after dinner.
It took forever for our orders to come.
It is $$$ the veggie and the oxtail dish were good.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“One of the best meals I've ever had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

Amazing Peking duck. What's special about their duck is that it's so lean with little fat and it has a terrific smokey, charcoal roasted taste. Terrific value as well. Seafood is top notch, but stratospheric pricey, but you'll find some really exotic fishes served. We had the leopard grouper cross bridge in lobster broth. Best fish dish I've ever had and that I'll be dreaming of for a long time. If you can, splurge abit and you'll taste a little bit of heaven.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grayslake, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Peking Duck”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

On a recent trip to Beijing, we ate at Dadong. We got reservations for 6 pm and were immediately seated. Unfortunately, I don't think many of their staff speaks English. We were given a huge book of a menu. The menu is definitely extensive and there are wonderful pictures of every item. However, we really just wanted to taste the Peking Duck and then have enough other food to fill us. The waiter was unable to help us so he called over a supervisor to help us. Unfortunately, she just kept saying we needed more food, so we kept ordering more food. In the end, we didn't need as much of the food as we ordered. The food was good, we just didn't need so much.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dadong Roast Duck Restaurant (Jinbao Place) also viewed

 

Been to Dadong Roast Duck Restaurant (Jinbao Place)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dadong Roast Duck Restaurant (Jinbao Place), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.