We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Peking Duck” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dadong Roast Duck Restaurant (Jinbao Place)

Dadong Roast Duck Restaurant (Jinbao Place)
Jinbao Place, No.88 Jinbao Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing, China (Tian'anmen / Wangfujing)
010-85221111
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 9,493 Restaurants in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Beijing Specialties
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Grayslake, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Peking Duck”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

On a recent trip to Beijing, we ate at Dadong. We got reservations for 6 pm and were immediately seated. Unfortunately, I don't think many of their staff speaks English. We were given a huge book of a menu. The menu is definitely extensive and there are wonderful pictures of every item. However, we really just wanted to taste the Peking Duck and then have enough other food to fill us. The waiter was unable to help us so he called over a supervisor to help us. Unfortunately, she just kept saying we needed more food, so we kept ordering more food. In the end, we didn't need as much of the food as we ordered. The food was good, we just didn't need so much.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    333
    174
    60
    19
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Fantastic, delicious roast duck. The menu is enormous but all you really need to order is the roast duck special with condiments. Wafer thin pancakes, shallot, hoisin sauce etc plus the spectacle of the chef slicing wafer thin slivers of duck. A must do Beijing experience.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“First time - Peking Duck”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Their specialty Duck is divine. So well worth going and also to see their Menu, it's like a picture book with over 120 pages with all sorts of food. It was a experience. But well worth going for the Duck, I would go back.

Service good, but through no fault of their own, there was a fight at a table with some drunken patrons who decided to smash beer bottles and plates, while they were very sorry for the incident occurring and gave me dessert and my drink for free, I found that NO ONE handle the situation and the scene continued until they decided to leave instead of being thrown out.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Top Contributor
457 reviews 457 reviews
234 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 197 cities Reviews in 197 cities
222 helpful votes 222 helpful votes
“hard to find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

This was a difficult place to find it is effectively in a shopping mall but as it was good enough for Ken Hom it was for us. We came for the duck which was excellent although I was not too keen on the waitress waiting whilst we looked through a huge menu which to be honest was too big we also had scampi and crucian carp which were both nice and we enjoyed the experience, thanks Ken

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing and best duck ever! Must go!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Local friends took me here to have the Beijing duck. The restaurant was superb! The presentation of the food and dinner was remarkable. I am back in the states now and still crave the food from this place! It's a must do on your list if traveling to Beijing! The desserts were delectable and for this foodie, a real treat! I would fly back just for another dinner here!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dadong Roast Duck Restaurant (Jinbao Place) also viewed

 

Been to Dadong Roast Duck Restaurant (Jinbao Place)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dadong Roast Duck Restaurant (Jinbao Place), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.