We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time - Peking Duck” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dadong Roast Duck Restaurant (Jinbao Place)

Dadong Roast Duck Restaurant (Jinbao Place)
Jinbao Place, No.88 Jinbao Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing, China (Tian'anmen / Wangfujing)
010-85221111
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 8,772 Restaurants in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Beijing Specialties
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“First time - Peking Duck”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Their specialty Duck is divine. So well worth going and also to see their Menu, it's like a picture book with over 120 pages with all sorts of food. It was a experience. But well worth going for the Duck, I would go back.

Service good, but through no fault of their own, there was a fight at a table with some drunken patrons who decided to smash beer bottles and plates, while they were very sorry for the incident occurring and gave me dessert and my drink for free, I found that NO ONE handle the situation and the scene continued until they decided to leave instead of being thrown out.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    365
    187
    67
    20
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cheshire
Top Contributor
481 reviews 481 reviews
247 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 205 cities Reviews in 205 cities
243 helpful votes 243 helpful votes
“hard to find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

This was a difficult place to find it is effectively in a shopping mall but as it was good enough for Ken Hom it was for us. We came for the duck which was excellent although I was not too keen on the waitress waiting whilst we looked through a huge menu which to be honest was too big we also had scampi and crucian carp which were both nice and we enjoyed the experience, thanks Ken

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing and best duck ever! Must go!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Local friends took me here to have the Beijing duck. The restaurant was superb! The presentation of the food and dinner was remarkable. I am back in the states now and still crave the food from this place! It's a must do on your list if traveling to Beijing! The desserts were delectable and for this foodie, a real treat! I would fly back just for another dinner here!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“A disgrace”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We were staying at the St Regis and staff from there called and made a reservation for us however when we arrived they claimed they had no knowledge of this gave us a number and said it would be a short wait. After all the hype we thought why not and settled to have a cocktail watching the duck ovens. First shock was being asked to pay for our drinks when they arrived - I asked if we could add it to the bill but apparently not - it later became apparent that this is because lots of people leave before ever getting a table - anyway as we were in China we were like OK and paid. Some other Eurpoean tourists arrived maybe 20 minutes later and they refused to pay for their drinks and demanded to speak to the manager and all of a sudden they are being seated. Basically when I queried this it was just a lot of sorries but seemed to be if you complain you get seated so I did and low and behold we were seated.
Ordered a variety of food including the duck and in honesty they were all fine but not exceptional and as has been mentioned before the duck is quite greasy and the special pancakes are not as good as elsewhere.
The main issue was a large group of chinese customers were having a drinking competition and one of the party threw up over the table and then fell asleep in his own vomit. His party continued their meal around him and he was not asked to leave. They merely cleaned the floor around him which is nothing short of disgraceful.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“There's better in Beijing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We visited the Dadong duck restaurant in the Wangfujing area last night. Attempted to have dinner there friday night without a reservation and was told it would be at least 1/2 hr wait. So we made a reservation for the following night instead and were told that it would be a much better idea, "guaranteed to have a table with no waiting". Showed up 10 mins early for the reservation to be given a number, and that it would be 10-20 min wait. 30 mins later, there were still "2 tables ahead of us"???!!?? The front line girls were extremely apologetic, while the manager ignored us when we spoke to her (after a disdainful look). As I speak fluent mandarin, there was no miscommunication issues going on here. 40 mins later, we finally complained enough to get a table, and although our waiter was extremely pleasant and apologetic, the duck was greasy and lack lustre. The presentation of the restaurant from interior layout to the creative plating of the food was stunning, however, if you can't deliver what the anticipation leads up to, the end result is the same - stunning environment that distracts from the mediocre quality of the food.
Having grown up in Asia, this is not the bar that Peking Duck is set at. It's for show.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dadong Roast Duck Restaurant (Jinbao Place) also viewed

 
Beijing, Beijing Region
Beijing, Beijing Region
 

Been to Dadong Roast Duck Restaurant (Jinbao Place)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dadong Roast Duck Restaurant (Jinbao Place), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.