We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing and best duck ever! Must go!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dadong Roast Duck Restaurant (Jinbao Place)

Dadong Roast Duck Restaurant (Jinbao Place)
Jinbao Place, No.88 Jinbao Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing, China (Tian'anmen / Wangfujing)
010-85221111
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 9,404 Restaurants in Beijing
Cuisines: Beijing Specialties
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Orlando, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing and best duck ever! Must go!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Local friends took me here to have the Beijing duck. The restaurant was superb! The presentation of the food and dinner was remarkable. I am back in the states now and still crave the food from this place! It's a must do on your list if traveling to Beijing! The desserts were delectable and for this foodie, a real treat! I would fly back just for another dinner here!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    271
    148
    52
    18
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“A disgrace”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We were staying at the St Regis and staff from there called and made a reservation for us however when we arrived they claimed they had no knowledge of this gave us a number and said it would be a short wait. After all the hype we thought why not and settled to have a cocktail watching the duck ovens. First shock was being asked to pay for our drinks when they arrived - I asked if we could add it to the bill but apparently not - it later became apparent that this is because lots of people leave before ever getting a table - anyway as we were in China we were like OK and paid. Some other Eurpoean tourists arrived maybe 20 minutes later and they refused to pay for their drinks and demanded to speak to the manager and all of a sudden they are being seated. Basically when I queried this it was just a lot of sorries but seemed to be if you complain you get seated so I did and low and behold we were seated.
Ordered a variety of food including the duck and in honesty they were all fine but not exceptional and as has been mentioned before the duck is quite greasy and the special pancakes are not as good as elsewhere.
The main issue was a large group of chinese customers were having a drinking competition and one of the party threw up over the table and then fell asleep in his own vomit. His party continued their meal around him and he was not asked to leave. They merely cleaned the floor around him which is nothing short of disgraceful.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“There's better in Beijing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We visited the Dadong duck restaurant in the Wangfujing area last night. Attempted to have dinner there friday night without a reservation and was told it would be at least 1/2 hr wait. So we made a reservation for the following night instead and were told that it would be a much better idea, "guaranteed to have a table with no waiting". Showed up 10 mins early for the reservation to be given a number, and that it would be 10-20 min wait. 30 mins later, there were still "2 tables ahead of us"???!!?? The front line girls were extremely apologetic, while the manager ignored us when we spoke to her (after a disdainful look). As I speak fluent mandarin, there was no miscommunication issues going on here. 40 mins later, we finally complained enough to get a table, and although our waiter was extremely pleasant and apologetic, the duck was greasy and lack lustre. The presentation of the restaurant from interior layout to the creative plating of the food was stunning, however, if you can't deliver what the anticipation leads up to, the end result is the same - stunning environment that distracts from the mediocre quality of the food.
Having grown up in Asia, this is not the bar that Peking Duck is set at. It's for show.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“WOW”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

The Tasting Menu was the best. The bountiful variety, exquisite presentation, and gourmet quality of the dinner exceeded our expectations. Cannot wait to go back again!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Don't say you have been to Beijing if you didn't visit DaDong”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Don't tell your friends back home you have been to Beijing if you didn't climb the Great Wall and had Peking Duck at DaDong!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dadong Roast Duck Restaurant (Jinbao Place) also viewed

 

Been to Dadong Roast Duck Restaurant (Jinbao Place)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dadong Roast Duck Restaurant (Jinbao Place), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.