We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well...that was a disappointment” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Lao She Teahouse

Lao She Teahouse
Buliding 3, Zhengyang Market, Qianmenxi Main Street, Xicheng District, Beijing 100051, China
010-63036830
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #294 of 1,463 things to do in Beijing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Peking Opera
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Stairs / elevator
Daly City, California, United States
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
118 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
447 helpful votes 447 helpful votes
“Well...that was a disappointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I've been living in Beijing for 25 years now...and finally this year I said to myself "hey! Why don't I go to Lao She teahouse since I've never been there before."

Boy was it a bad decision.

Spent 320 rmb for the good seats for my wife and I.

The goodies on the table were great and the Chinese version of the candy apple was definitely one of the better ones I had in Beijing.

However, the entertainment was just bad....

If you've gone to the other shows in Beijing then I will tell you you need to skip this one.

Summary-
If it's your first time to Beijing and you want to catch all the shows in one but done poorly then come here. This is a definite tourist trap.
Little snacks are nice
The free tea is horrible you have to pay extra for the good stuff
Bathrooms clean but squatters

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    17
    9
    7
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
uk
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Go there too chill but not for the tea”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

the tea was about 2-3 times more expensive that other tea houses or tea in the park in china... and mine came in a tall glass rather than the traditional tea cups which I really wanted.
the format is such that they have small 5-10min performances while you drink and it's quite nice that way, so you get a sense of beijing/china style all in one if you have no time to see big theatre shows. We saw 3 piece instrumental performance, face changing, tea dance and shadow puppet performance.

We were there early afternoon and it was pretty quiet. Was nice because we got some respite from the heat and crowd everywhere else in Beijing!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful tea service and tea house”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Loved the presentation and tea samples. The employees push you pretty hard into buying the teas so beware but I ended up with 8 boxes so they must be good at their job. Nice attraction.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
64 attraction reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Fun night out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Went to a 7:50 pm show and had a great time. Bought tickets at the venue about an hour before the performance. Had a nice dinner at a Chinese restaurant a few doors down. The ticket included tea and snacks. The show was varied and included opera, face changing, acrobats, Kung Fu, hand imagery, and other acts. We laughed a lot and had a blast. Some of the translations from Chinese to English were hilarious. Definitely catch a show here.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menton, France
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Nice mix of chinese tradition”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Close to Tian an Men square (10 mn walk), the tea house is organized as a kind of "cabaret". Your entrance ticket includes tea, some traditional Beijing snacks, but mainly a show which includes samples of Beijing opera, Sichuan opera (with changing faces), some acrobats with turning plates, and some "talk show". One of them made me thing to a chinese ancestor of rap as the rythm of the words attracts your attention even if you don't understand chinese. The public was mainly chinese and if you are a party of less than 6 people then you share a table with locals. We have been with a group of four ladies celebrating their long standing friendship and they adopted us immediately, taking pictures...

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lao She Teahouse also viewed

 
Beijing, Beijing Region
 

Been to Lao She Teahouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lao She Teahouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.