We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Backpacker & Value stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Xiao Yuan Alley Courtyard Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Xiao Yuan Alley Courtyard Hotel to your Saves list
Xiao Yuan Alley Courtyard Hotel
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   No.12 Lishi Alley, Nanxiao Street, Chaoyangmen, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100010, China (Tian'anmen / Wangfujing)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 812 Beijing B&B and Inns
Wilson, WY
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Backpacker & Value stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Super friendly staff, Clean rooms, locals feel. It's also a great neighborhood even though it's a bit rundown.Definitely tough to find though! Three taxi cab drivers gave up on the way here from the airport.

Directions: Take Subway Line 5 to the Chaoyangmen stop. Walk west on Chaoyangmen (about 200m) until you get to Chaoyangmen alley (not really an alley), which is indicated by the elevated crosswalks (footbridges) at the intersection. Take a left (south). Your next right is a dark alley in between a few locals-oriented restaurants. The hotel is about 25 meters on your left, right after a little restaurant.

Wifi is solid if you're in a room by the router.

Room Tip: They'll help you if you want a different one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    32
    21
    4
    2
See reviews for
11
35
13
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Well I agree with all the good reviews from other guests. Plus, the hotel is closed to metroline station yet actually in residence area. So we didn't see so many tourists as hou hai (lake) area and south luo gu lane. All rooms are very quiet. And the hotel has a nice small yard and the terrace. But during our stay, the weather was hot so did not see people enjoying them. So could not be a good chance to meet new people.

Becoz this is residence area, good to try some cheap and authentic Chinese food without rip-off as touristic area. The spicy Sichuan restaurant next to the hotel and the one next to 161 hotel (west side of Lishi Alley) are very good. Qing tang fu at south chaoyang street provides good noodles from west China (shaanxi province). Anyway, local favorite night market - Gui Jie and bar street - San li tun are both in 15 minutes taxi driving distance.

Room Tip: Some rooms on ground floor have no open windows, so better to pick rooms on the second floor. The ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

This friendly hutong hotel/guest-house is conveniently located between two useful metro stations (about 15 min walk in either direction).
The rooms were clean enough and quite nicely decorated. I wouldn’t recommended it for fussy travellers who like everything pristine and immaculate e.g. it was difficult to close the window and the shower didn’t work one day – but the bed was very comfortable and sheets and towels were changed daily.
The real draw, apart from the excellent location, is the fantastic and bubbly staff who went out of their way for us on a number of occasions (including darting off down the road to a nearby supply store to get us a travel adaptor). Really genuine, pleasant and likeable bunch of young ladies with a few English speakers amongst them (basic English but certainly good enough to get by). Their tours were also good value. We booked our Great Wall of China tour with them and it was perfect, no scams, no shopping, just a mini bus directly to the Wall and back. Exactly what we wanted.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We wanted a hutong hotel with character. This was a great choice. It is a short walk from the Subway and was easy to find. They have a great restaurant in the hotel. The staff spoke English well. The organized a tour of the great wall and we were very happy with the tour. We were very happy with the room, it was nice and clean. They also had free WIFI. I would highly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Very good and helpful staff, good hotel where you can have European breakfast.
The nearest metro station is Chaoyang Men (it was not written anywhere).
Besides the hotel on the big street when you go out on the right side there are many places to eat an excellent food. We went 3 times to the last place on the first block - fantastic chilly food. There is also a bakery in the same line of the shops a bit further. Excellent cookies.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

the staff were very kind and helpful, and spoke english very well.
the location is good: inside a classic beijing hutong, 8 minutes walk from Chaoyangmen subway station (take Exit H), and 15 minutes from wangfujiang.
the food at the hotel was tasty, but a bit pricy. I would recommend looking for other restaurants - there are dozens of them at the lishi hutong (turn left at the hotel's door).
i reserved a private rom with bathroom. it was clean and nice, and I loved the chinese decorations. it was also surprisingly quiet, although the window turned to the hutong. however, there was an annoying bad smell from the drain.

Room Tip: the rooms behind the reception are a bit better (though, as mentioned above, my room had bad odor).
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Located in a pleasant hutong with some of the friendliest staff I've ever met in a hotel. They were great in helping us out with things to do, directions, and booking tours and train tickets. The hotel is located a 10 minute walk from the metro, about a 30 minute walk from Wangfujing Snack Street, The Forbidden City, and Ghost Street (for a great selection of restaurants). The suite we stayed in was fantastic with a large comfortable bed and tastefully decorated. It was clean and had a reasonable bathroom. The basic room we also stayed in was obviously a bit smaller and simpler but still very nice, although I would recommend paying for the larger room. If I come back to Beijing I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Xiao Yuan Alley Courtyard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xiao Yuan Alley Courtyard Hotel

Address: No.12 Lishi Alley, Nanxiao Street, Chaoyangmen, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100010, China
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 812 B&Bs / Inns in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Xiao Yuan Alley Courtyard Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
a traditional courtyard hotel, center of beijing. close to wang fu jing street and beijing train station ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HostelBookers and Agoda so you can book your Xiao Yuan Alley Courtyard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Xiao Yuan Alley Courtyard Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.