We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Xiao Yuan Alley Courtyard Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Xiao Yuan Alley Courtyard Hotel to your Saves list
Xiao Yuan Alley Courtyard Hotel
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   No.12 Lishi Alley, Nanxiao Street, Chaoyangmen, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100010, China (Tian'anmen / Wangfujing)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 672 Beijing B&B and Inns
4.0 of 5 stars 86 Reviews
Worcester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Great location, great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We were recommended to here by friends, and we weren't disappointed. Paid a little more for one of the better rooms upstairs. Well worth it! Just loved the decor and furniture. Breakfast and wifi included. Great value. The staff are lovely, with Apple being particularly attentive. Loved the location for tripping out at night to different (non-touristy) resdtaurants. Being just inside the hutong is perfect.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    29
    20
    3
    2
See reviews for
9
32
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
George Town, Malaysia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Clean room, beautiful decorations, convenient location. Metro station within walking distance. The breakfast served was okay, I don't like the hot chocolate. The hotel wifi is good, I can access the wifi from my room on the second floor. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Warm welcome, nice and cosy rooms, clean and properly maintened. The young staff is helpfull and friendly, English speaking. The hotel bar is quite nice and drinks are - very - cheap. Loads of cocktails to choose from. Breakfasts are convenient as well. Location is very convenient close to forbidden city, gardens,tian an men ... The tours and shows offered are also good value for money. The street itself is very lively, lots of street food available nearby.

Room Tip: Even basic room is ok.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

My son and I loved staying in this very friendly and charming hotel. It is in a central location so good for sight seeing, but more than that a wonderful hutong experience as we watched the locals go about their day. The chair outside the door was my favourite place to do this with the lovely staff popping in and out to check that I was ok.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Most members of hotel staff are English speaking. The hotel arranges for train tickets if needed and possible. This is our first visit to China so having access to friendly staff in English proved very helpful. We will not hesitate to stay at this hotel if we will be here again. This is a rather small hotel which tends to make ones stay a little more personal. We even enjoyed some live musical performance of Chinese guests here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We loved our stay here. We were two girls travelling together for our first time in China and this place was our favorite by far. The staff are amazing!!! Special thanks to the gorgeous Apple who was so smiley and friendly and super helpful everyday. She booked a great wall tour for us and organised our train tickets for Shanghai. Also special thanks to Jerry who checked us in on our very late (3 am!) arrival and greeted us when we had late nights out.
The communication was wonderful during and also before our stay when Star would respond to emails immediately.
Very cute rooms with traditional style decorations. Clean and sizeable for 2 girls with big suitcases. Conveniently located with subway 10-15 mins away but a great atmosphere to walk in. We had no problem getting dropped off or picked up at the door of the hotel. But the main road is a 2 minute walk away anyway. Lovely traditional chinese area but still really close to Tiananmen and Forbidden city and main subway lines.
Couldnt recommend this place higher! I would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed at the Xiaoyuan Alley hotel for one night in a comfortable room off of the central courtyard. The interior is very oriental - complete with a small bridge over a fish pond as you enter the main hallway. The staff was very friendly (and spoke English perfectly well). This small hotel has a lot of charm and it is an especially "Beijing" experience to stay in a hutong. Beds were typical Chinese beds (although our room had 3 beds, which was nice). AC worked fine, decent bathroom, plenty of space to put luggage. Nice chinese decor. Central courtyard has a water cooler and a nice library of travel books. Overall a very pleasant stay and would definitely come back!

One note - this is not a Western-style skyscraper hotel. If you want to stay in a homogeneous Sheraton, this is not the place. This hotel/inn is on a narrow Chinese alley. Easy to find and well-lit once you're on Lishi Alley. However, when taking a taxi, you may be let off at the end of the alley and must walk 3 minutes down to the hotel. Sometimes difficult with baggage (if you don't use their airport transfer). You also walk by small noodle shops, people in the street selling meat on a stick, kids playing etc. The walk is worth it though as you are staying in a clean, nice hotel in - what is for now - an authentic hutong.

Room Tip: Doors are thin. Sometimes you can hear people in the hallway walking. However, our room had no windo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Xiao Yuan Alley Courtyard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xiao Yuan Alley Courtyard Hotel

Address: No.12 Lishi Alley, Nanxiao Street, Chaoyangmen, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100010, China
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 672 B&Bs / Inns in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Xiao Yuan Alley Courtyard Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
a traditional courtyard hotel, center of beijing. close to wang fu jing street and beijing train station ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Xiao Yuan Alley Courtyard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Xiao Yuan Alley Courtyard Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.