We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Beijing Deshengmen

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Beijing Deshengmen to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Beijing Deshengmen
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.71 Deshengmenwai Main Street, Xicheng District, Beijing 100088, China (Houhai)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #90 of 5,462 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2011

This was the best hotel during our 10 day trip through China. The hotel is clean and fairly new. The breakfast selection in hotel was really good ! The employees were ALL very helpful. Of the five hotels we stayed at during our trip, this was the only one where you could exchange currency via an automated teller machine. In our case, we put in USD and it automatically exchanged the USDs into Chinese yuan - you get a print out confirming the transaction. No people involved and you could basically exchange currency at your leisure. Some hotels we stayed at either a) did not have enough Chinese yuan to exchange or b) did not have the capability to exchange Chinese yuan. My advice to you is that if you need to exchange money with a "live" person, it is best to present "new" bills (so... get your bank to give you some "new" or "newer" bills before you leave for your trip to China). My $100 bill at one hotel location had a small "nick" in it and the person asked if I had another $100 bill that did not have a "nick". They indicated that the Bank does not accept "damaged" bills. Good thing I had extras... otherwise, I wouldn't have been able to complete the exchange.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    114
    23
    4
    1
See reviews for
7
18
9
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2010

This was the first hotel of our 12 day tour through China and certainly became the benchmark for the rest of the hotels we stayed in afterwards. Rooms were really spacious, clean and modern. My husband and I shared a room with a king size bed. All the little amenties they provide are perfect: soaps, toothbrushes, shaver, slippers, comb, etc.
Bathroom was a good size with great shower pressure. We also had a shower that included a regular hand held and rain shower head. Breakfast was very good and included in our plan. I really wished that the other hotels we stayed in had the same quality and variety. the pain aux raisin was my fave plus they have all the traditional Asian and western breakfast options. You can have noodle soup cooked to order. I really enjoyed the different soups and congee they offered. The two mornings we ate there they changed up the hot food items so it was really nice to find that variety. Unfortunately the day we checked out was way earlier than opening time in the cafe so we got really crappy cold breakfast boxes to go. If you need to change to RMB currency the hotel does it free of charge if you need to break large bills, make sure you do it before 7a otherwise you will have to wait till later in the evening. We wanted to visit the pool but it was under construction.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinole, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2010

I, my wife and our adult daughter, stayed there from 10-15 to 10-18. We were traveling with a 55-person tour group and the hotel was packed. Still, we couldn't be more impressed. It is a newer hotel, a year old? The rooms are more than spacious, clean and well-appointed. Staff at the front desk were not supper efficient but the staff at their morning buffet area were more than helpful. We came away totally blown away by the buffet's quality and choices too. Just the breakfast buffet was worth half the room-rate, we thought.

We were troubled by the location at first. It is in a safe but no thrill busy residential/commerical area. You can forget about views and night life. However, we also found out that we could go to most popular places by taxi well within 40 yuan(about 6 USD).

We normally think of Holiday Inns in this country as dependentable budget-minded accomodations. In case of Deshengmen Holiday Inn, we were getting 4-star treatment with motel rates.

After Beijing we also went to Sozhou, Hangzhou and Shanghai. We had a hotel disaster in Shanghai(see my review on Shanghai's Hongqiao Airport Howard Johnson). My wife and I were in Beijing January this year. Our hotel at that time was quite OK but no comparison to this one. I hope the management can maintain the good qualities while improve on the staffing at the front desk. I also hope they will stop charing internet Wi-Fi service. In fact, we are planning our next year's China trip with this hotel in mind.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2010

Great stay at this hotel. I honestly didn't realize how nice Holiday Inns could be. In the US they're just average, but in China...wow! More like a Westin hotel like atmosphere.

Beautiful decor. Friendly staff.

Rooms were really clean, modern, comfortable! Bathroom included many toiletries including toothbrushes and shavers. Multiple types electric outlets-convenient for my camera charger, phone charger, and hair styling tools from the the US.

The breakfast buffet is awesome! Both Chinese and American/English style food options. Chefs work behind the buffet counter to serve fresh eggs, pancakes, noodles, etc. While most of the hotels included breakfast, this was definitely the nicest, freshest, and most elegant set up.

I would definitely stay at this Holiday Inn again!!!!

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2010

Rooms- The room is the most important factor in a hotel stay. Our room was clean. The bed was firm, but still comfortable. And it was quiet so we could get a good nights rest before our day of sigh seeing.

Amenities- After a long flight, we wanted to spend the day recovering at the hotel. Unfortunately they did not have a pool or a business center where we could use the internet. We hung out in our room and watched tv, but got a little bored.

Location- There isn't much shopping or eateries around the hotel. We wandered around the area around the hotel and headed back shortly since there was nothing to see or do.

I would recommend this hotel to someone who would be gone the entire day and is looking for a clean comfortable place to sleep.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2010

We arrived a day earlier before our tour started. The room was clean, the bed comfortable, the decor attractive, the staff courteous. The only negative was the poor location of this hotel. It was located in a sort of run-down neighborhood and after walking around the area, we found no good restaurants in the surrounding area. We tried the plain-looking Chinese restaurant next door and the food was disappointing. The walk to the subway was farther than we expected, perhaps a little over a mile away and we didn't find the entrance to the subway easily. If you are not on a tour, I would stay at a hotel in a better location with many restaurants and shops, like Wanfujing area. Another thing is we paid 60 RMB a day for internet.

Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvonneZ, Manager at Holiday Inn Beijing Deshengmen, responded to this review, August 25, 2010
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write your comments online.
It is only with comments such as yours that we may endeavor to improve our products and services.
Holiday Inn Beijing Deshengmen is the only international hotel along the 2nd North Ring Road, adjacent to the Financial Street and minutes away from the Houhai Bar & Restaurant Area.
Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Beijing Deshengmen in the future.

Sincerely yours,

Stephen Lam
General Mamager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2010

New hotel normally means good in China. It was just one night stay before flying back Thailand. We had Executive Room which was spacious with a lot of good complimentaries (6 free soft drinks from mini bar, internet, etc). Executive Lounge was comfy and snack/drink was various. It's much quieter than Holiday Inn Express I stayed in Beijing. There was still the sound from street on 15th floor, but didn't bother at all. Incredible fast check-in and check-out.

But, you just cannot count on room service or restaurant! We had late lunch on ground floor buffet restaurant. First, the staffs were so noisy chatting I guess it's just because the main service hours past only us two customers. Second, the staff was either too nervous to serve foreigner, or very new to the job - she had to go ask chef and come and go, for every order we did. For my carrot juice, her explanation WAS the juicer they had was so poor that it could only make watermelon now!? Later, we had room service for Cordon Bleu. On the phone, we repeated "serve with mixed salad" which was written on the menu. Then, it turned out they gave us Cordon Bleu and a Mixed Salad. That's fine, we like vegetables. But the problem was, it was NOT Cordon Bleu! In any other country, we will refuse to pay and laugh at the chef.

The location is closer to downtown Beijing. I recommend people who like to visit Nan Luo Gu Xiang/Hou Hai to consider this hotel. Otherwise, it's really in the local residential area - also means it's the best quailty hotel in this area. The rest around are small local restaurants, convenient stores, bank, etc. but nothing fancy, luxury or international.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvonneZ, General Manager at Holiday Inn Beijing Deshengmen, responded to this review, July 22, 2010
Dear dida_mars,
Thank you for taking the time to write your comments online.
It is only with comments such as yours that we may endeavor to improve our products and services.
Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Beijing Deshengmen in the future.

Sincerely yours,

Stephen Lam
General Mamager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Beijing Deshengmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Beijing Deshengmen

Address: No.71 Deshengmenwai Main Street, Xicheng District, Beijing 100088, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing > Houhai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#69 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#86 Business Hotel in Beijing
#156 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Beijing Deshengmen 4*
Number of rooms: 309
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Beijing Deshengmen is the only international hotel along the 2nd North Ring Road, adjacent to the Financial Street and minutes away from the Lama Temple , Houhai Bar Area and Deshengmen, which is a well known historical landmark in Beijing since Ming Dynasty. The hotel is easy access to CBD area and only 40 minutes drive to Beijing Capital Airport. The Holiday Inn Beijing Deshengmen provide comfort accommodations, freshing dining selection and multifunctional function rooms to individual business travelers, meeting and leisure travelers. With the latest Holiday Inn service program, Holiday Inn Beijing Deshengmen is aiming to offer a welcoming, relax and refreshing environment to the guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, IHG, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Ctrip TA so you can book your Holiday Inn Beijing Deshengmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Beijing Deshengmen Hotel Beijing

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Beijing Deshengmen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.