We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Comfortable and reasonable in price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Guidu Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Guidu Hotel to your Saves list
Guidu Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.217 Guang'anmen Nei Main Street, Xicheng District, Beijing 100053, China (Xidan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #380 of 5,424 Hotels in Beijing
4.0 of 5 stars 127 Reviews
Tudela, Spain
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Clean, Comfortable and reasonable in price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

I have been 3 times in this hotel in Beijing...and it is my choice for visiting Beijing in my multiple visits to China
It is "close" to the center (approx 10min by taxi to Tianamen Square)
Hotell is clean, comfortable, Breakfast is GOOD, very GOOD
Dinner option in the restaurant is also a good choice (asian and international options)
Restaurant is also reasonable
Good desk for working, good connexion
Staff is not very fluent in English but they have good disposition
Same as in many other places...everything takes time (check in & check out)
I recommend this hotel for business but also for tourism...You can rest well, good breakfast and possibility of good dinner
The worst is that there is not 24 hours room service...(to mention a but in this hotel)

Room Tip: i have stayed 3 times and i had 3 different rooms (all are similar or the same) recommendation: sam...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    73
    14
    1
    2
See reviews for
4
5
4
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Requested for non-smoking room but received with an ashtray right on the desk. I could find the smell of smoking even before I open the door. Staff is not friendly when I checkout (not to mention it took more than 10 minutes), and when I checked in the staff manning the reception was lying down there, sleeping.

Room is old and wall paper has started falling off. Internet is extremely slow.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I chose the Guidu Hotel for two reasons: there was a very good "mystery hotel" deal on Wotif (it's always pretty easy to identify the Wotif "mystery hotels" in China), for US$ 77 per night; and the location was ideal for me. I stayed for a week in December.

The Guidu Hotel is near Xuanwumen, a little bit to the South-West of Tian'anmen Square - it's inside the Second Ring Road, so it's pretty central. If you have lots of meetings in government departments and large State-owned enterprises, it's great - you're reasonably close to most of the offices in Xicheng, and it's not too far to the ones in Dongcheng. It's also very good if you're travelling out of Beijing a lot: it's two metro stops or 10 minutes in a taxi to Beijing South Station. It's only about five minutes' walk from Caishikou Station on Metro Line 4.

The lobby is your usual four-star State-owned hotel lobby: lots and lots of marble, and an outlandish chandelier. The room was very nice: there was plenty of space, lots of storage space, and a good, big bath and separate shower. The bed was unbelievably comfortable - one of the best I have ever slept in.

Staff were friendly and helpful. A couple of them tried to deal with me in English, and struggled, but I think you'd be OK if you didn't speak Chinese.

English TV is limited to CNN and BBC World. Internet is free and fast, but is only wired: Wi-Fi isn't available in the room.

I had room service twice. The Singapore noodles were dire; the dumplings were OK. There are a few good food options nearby: a shabby-looking Northwestern Muslim place just past the market near the hotel's East entrance is especially good, and there's a good Shaanxi chain place just past the Islamic school to the West of the hotel. Supermarket options are limited: there's a very small, very limited supermarket across the road, and there are no convenience stores nearby.

If the same deal were available next time I'm in Beijing, I'll definitely stay again.

Room Tip: If it's windy, there can be a bit of a whistling / creaking sound from the window. Don't op...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

all you could wish for a five star hotel, a little to hot in the bedrooms for our liking, food good and good breakfast buffet, tea and coffee in rooms and complimentary water each day, staff very keen to please, resident manager Wilson speaks excellent English.he was very helpful Good location.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

This hotel is great with great rooms fit for 5 star rateing but let down by staff who seem totally incompedent especially the dinning room who staff need a good shakeing or better still replaceing, such a shame that this could be a great hotel if managed properly

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Booked 3 double bed rooms, but basic amenities were not there.
- AC never worked, when it did the temperature could not be set below 23 degrees centigrade
- AC switched off in the morning, automatically
- no milk in the room for making tea or coffee- on inquiry were told it will be charged
- staff had difficulty to understand English (Each time had to go in person to the reception and convey)
- Booked online and paid a premium compared to some of the other friends who booked online

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

Was a nice hotel. you notice it as quite lavish and grand around the hotel

Service was quite good but like many other hotels in China, English skills very very basic, to non existent especially those at the desk. When we checked in we ofcourse had wait but they didnt notice us waiting there to be checked in, staff were standing around which I found was a common thing in Chinese hotels so by no means a problem restricted to this.

Very friendly and nice room service staff though, the best of the whole trip!

Facilities,bathrooms were good and nice. The only problem which I thought should be mentioned is some power outlets in our room were very loose, on unplugging a laptop the whole outlet came out of the wall exposing the hole and wires and I got a minor electric shock and singed from sparks, it could be dangerous especially with kids, China obviously doesn't have the safety requirements like in western countries so just take care in any hotel there as I found outlets loose in all hotels I was in there.

Breakfast was very good, included lots of unusual asian choices aswell as western continental breakfast amongst other things although not included in our room price, one person from our party of 3 had to pay extra because we were just paying for an extra bed/towel etc in the room, it was a bit petty but many things are in China when it comes to these kinds of policies.

The coffee was excellent, included espresso in the breakfast, but if you wanted it outside of breakfast time it was a large $9.50 fee! so we since found coffee shops outside as this is amongst the most expensive coffee price in the world out of all the hotels weve stayed at but I have to say it was almost worth that $9.50 price if you really needed one.

Restaurant was really nice and had some unusual items on the menu, had an english menu which was also entertaining but was easy to order with the photos.

Around some shops and food outlets so its quite a good location.

So all round a good hotel! Also want to mention that some items were left in the room, it was hard to communicate with the staff, but we came and picked them up some days later and they freshly cleaned and pressed, and packaged the clothes which was really nice of them, we are still not 100% sure if they charged us for them but we think it was complimentary so a really nice gesture if it was!

Room Tip: just be careful of the little issue with plugging things in and out, (like all hotels in Asia basica...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Guidu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guidu Hotel

Address: No.217 Guang'anmen Nei Main Street, Xicheng District, Beijing 100053, China
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing > Xidan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #380 of 5,424 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Guidu Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 273
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Guidu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Guidu Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.