We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as good...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Beijing 161 Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Beijing 161 Hotel to your Saves list
Beijing 161 Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hostel   |   No.161 Dongsi Lishi Alley, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100010, China (Tian'anmen / Wangfujing)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 589 Specialty Lodging in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Barcelona
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Not as good...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We found that the way for paying is a bit complicated, and the ways of claiming money are not so kind, they had sometimes an agressive behavior.
The room was okay but the water of the shower was always too cold or too hot.
The hotel is well located because it's in the entrance of a hutong and there's a metro near, there are some cheap restaurants around there.
In resume, it's not such a good hotel as the people say, we think that you can find a better hotel for the same price in Beijing.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    109
    54
    5
    2
See reviews for
26
74
25
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here a week and, compared to hotels in other capital cities, found it to be good value. We had a double aircon room, but in the basement so a bit of mould here and there.
Shared facilities are 2 Asian-style toilets and 1 shower, so expect to wait sometimes. Not sure how often these were cleaned but often found them dirty.
Staff, while friendly, were not knowledgable!
Wifi included but was pretty patchy connection-wise.
A sign behind the main desk offers coffee or other inducements for reviews of 85% or greater on the review websites. Needless to say I do not agree with this type of behaviour and did not take any bribe.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

very good location, only a a short walk to dongsi subway. plenty of eateries and convenience stores nearb. Service at the reception and tour desk was good, they speak good english. Walking distance to wangfujing, forbidden city & tiananmen square. Overall, it was a good experience, and we would stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

Overall this place is ok. It has a nice ambience, generally clean with a bit of mould in the bathrooms, and ok location. I had a couple of issues while staying here however. Firstly, I had booked a single with an ensuite online, and on arrival was given a single w/o ensuite. When I raised this the staff were quick to fix it up so no big issue. Secondly however, on my second night at 1130pm I received a call to the room stating I hadnt paid for the night. I reminded the staff I had paid online at booking, and that was fine. More irritating than anything, as I had been asleep. The staff were so friendly it was impossible to be annoyed for long. Finally, as another reviewer had mentioned, there's a free coffee deal for good reviews.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

For a start, let's just say the location is probably the best part of our stay. It's a short walk fr the nearest subway, with plenty of eateries and convenience stores nearby.

We stayed in a dbl ensuite room that was ok in size. Though we requested for them to make up our room daily, I'm pretty sure they did nothing to clean the floors and the bathroom.

In-room wifi was "down" for the entire length of our stay (6 days), so u r stuck with the lobby/bar area. If u make use of that area without purchasing anything from the overpriced bar, be prepared that the air conditioner will be turned off without warning once the last paying customer leaves.

Service at the reception and tour desk was good. Once again, bar owner is nice only if u patronize her store. (isn't my fault that your wifi's unreliable).

Lastly, I think readers should note that customers are given a free cup of coffee at check out if they publish a good rating online. Take what u read with a pinch of salt.

3.5/10 overall. A decent establishment, though I'm sure u can fine better ones.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Myself and my boyfriend stayed in a double room using the shared bathroom facilities. Our room was of an OK size, however was in the basement and the window opened onto the courtyard area where you could hear music and chatting early until late - plus some annoying birds in a cage tweeting non stop! This didn't particularly bother me though. The toilets (squat) were kept clean throughout the day with staff constantly checking and mopping up. The shower (there was only one for a number of rooms so queues did form) was good although the boyfriend tells me there were flies all over the place. I seemed to miss this due to removing my glasses when taking a shower!

The WIFI was broken at the time, and only available in the lobby area. Although as our room was so close we could pick this up no problem!

Staff were helpful in booking onward train tickets for us, but the majority not particularly friendly. Their English was good though.

Great location, less than 5 mins from a subway station, that at 2RMB flat fair is a cheap and easy way to get around Beijing. Lots of places to eat around, along with shops for drinks etc and a Wu Mart on the corner by the subway station.

Overall a good experience, and we would consider staying here again for another visit to Beijing.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luang Prabang
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

This is a nice enough hostel, clean and spacious rooms, ensuite bathroom, desk in the room. The staff is friendly and attentive, the girls at reception are a bit giggly but very helpfull. The hostel has a small coffeeshop selling coffees and pastries and the public areas are well decorated. However, the real reason to stay here is the location. It is located in the Lishi Hutong. The hutongs are truely the "real" Beijing and you can spend hours wandering around. It is also really close to a main shopping street leading up to the Wanfujing shopping district and foodmarkets. The metro is about a 5 minute walk.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beijing 161 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beijing 161 Hotel

Address: No.161 Dongsi Lishi Alley, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100010, China
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 589 Specialty Lodging in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Beijing 161 Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in downtown Beijing, the No.161 Hostel (Beijing Yiliuyi Kezhan) offers guests easy access to the bustling Wangfujing commercial area and other top Beijing tourist attractions including Tian'anmen Square and the Forbidden City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelBookers, Ctrip TA, Agoda, HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your Beijing 161 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
No.161 Hotel Beijing

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beijing 161 Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.