We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A royal experience at Hans” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Han's Royal Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Han's Royal Garden Hotel to your Saves list
Han's Royal Garden Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.7 North Bingmasi Hutong, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100009, China (Houhai)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 5,423 Hotels in Beijing
4.5 of 5 stars 99 Reviews
1 review
“A royal experience at Hans”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We picked Hans for its location in a Hutong and it more than lived up to our expectations. Hotel was clean, comfortable, serene and welcoming, just steps away from an incredibly lively and bustling pedestrian shopping street. Near a subway. Very helpful English-speaking staff. Altogether charming experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    32
    5
    4
    2
See reviews for
11
33
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We really enjoyed this hotel -- the building used to be the home of a nobleman, and was recently renovated as a hotel. The common areas (including six courtyards) are in traditional style, but the rooms are modern inside. Our room had 3 TVs (one in the sitting room, one in the bedroom, and one over the tub -- none in the shower, alas!)

The hotel is located in a hutong, so the streets right next to the hotel are nothing special, but within 5 minutes you can be walking on a busy pedestrian street. (Warning: in Beijing, "pedestrian street" means "not many cars or motorcycles, but they still will try to run you over.") A little further and you can walk around the "Back Lakes", with lots of shops/bars/restaurants.

The staff is friendly and helpful, but most of them don't speak a lot of English. At the time of our visit, they did have one European staff member, an Italian-Finnish woman whose English is excellent.

We were there during a hot spell, and while the air conditioning in our room worked fairly well, it didn't quite keep up with the humidity.

The breakfast buffet is not especially elaborate, but it got the job done.

In summary: our tour guide, who seems to have lots of clients, hadn't seen this hotel before, but remarked that she would certainly recommend it to her guests in the future -- the alternative, presumably, being the modern hotels that don't really have much of a local flavor.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manosque, France
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

this hotel has nothing todo with the others. complete chinese style,courtyards, the han suite is great !
the area is quite popular but the huton street located at 200M IS cool overnight (bars, shops, food,...).
taxi are required (tough you can walk,...) but rather cheap...(4-5 EUR to forbiddencity).
i did not had the time to look after the spa,...
TO BE RECOMMENDED

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Stayed in a Han's suite of this hotel in Oct 2011. As writing the reviews for the other hotels these days, just give a simple review for this one as well. The hotel was beautifully located in the middle of traditional residencial buildings. With a long narrow lane (hu tong) to the hotel, you would have the full picture what the old residential buildings in Beijing look like. The color of the hotel building and the garden let you realize that you have come to a different world, a place in the history where the rich and powerful people gathered together.

Everybody from the hotel was polite and friendly. The room was spacious with modern facilities. If you want to have some experience different from the other modern hotels, this one will surely give you some old royal atmosphere

Room Tip: Need to walk to the Main road to have a taxi sometimes
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tumba, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

My wife and I have spent 5 nights at this Hotel, the hotel buildings are really excellent, like living as an old nobleman Chinese, our room was like a suite, quite large and with very good furniture and very fresh and good looking bathroom. The personnel is very friendly. The breakfast was not good, so we only ate there the first morning (Mc Donalds breakfast the other days, 300m away)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

A very comfortable hotel with tons of character. It is at a good location just 5min walk from nanluoguxiang where there are many cafes and snacks, and 15min walk to Nanluogu subway station. (If you take taxi to the hotel, it is a 5min walk if you drop at mainroad off Beibingmasi, or ride through Qinlao hutong directly to hotel backdoor.

Despite the convenience, it is in a quiet part of the hutong. You get total tranquility inside the hotel, the courtyards with koi pond and magnolia trees feel like yours alone most of the time. We stayed in two deluxe rooms. Two deluxe rooms share a private foyer that is lockable.

We rented a chauffered car, arranged by the hotel, to Chengde enroute sightseeing at Eastern Qing Tombs. The service, though pricey (paid direct to hotel), was EXCELLENT. The car was a 2L Passat. The price was inclusive of gas, tolls and parking. You can tour with a peace of mind, not worrying about touting for extra add-ons by the driver. The driver was very professional - polite, opened car doors for the upteempth times, not intrusive, did not rush us at sightseeing and kept the car clean and stocked with bottled water. We even saw the driver did route researching while at Qing Tombs so that he know exactly how to go to the next sight. He has had the final destination in Chengde keyed into the GPS way beforehand. Ask for Mr Xu, the surname of the driver.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet. Deluxe rooms are located in main building compound which is more majestic. Del...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

I was at Hans Royal Garden back in July'11 but just got around to write a review now.

The 5-star was for the property itself. The hotel is absolutely stunning, so much characters. It was so surreal to just sit at the stone table at the courtyard. It has been almost 2 years but when I close my eyes, I still can visualize how beautiful the place was.

The service was great but I wouldn't say it was 5 stars. Hotel staff were friendly and always tried to accommodate your request. They also helped you with the restaurant booking but I was not sure if that was for the restaurant they had connection with but we enjoyed the meals all the same.

The location was close to a walking street so there are lots of snacks and souvenirs. There were lots of local designers/boutiques. The area felt a little touristy but I also saw some young locals hanging out there.

A must for the beauty of the property alone.

Room Tip: I got the corner room in the left courtyard and it was really spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Han's Royal Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Han's Royal Garden Hotel

Address: No.7 North Bingmasi Hutong, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100009, China
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing > Houhai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 5,423 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Han's Royal Garden Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Han's Royal Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Han's Royal Garden Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.