We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok, Not anything to shout about!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of MU Hotel

Save Saved
You added MU Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
MU Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.33 Juer Alley, Jiaodao Kou,South AvenueDongcheng District, Beijing 100009, China (Formerly Beijing Traditional View Hotel) (Houhai)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3,242 of 5,111 hotels in Beijing
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Ok, Not anything to shout about!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

during booking I place a special note about early check-in. All the hotels I've checked into in Asia have allowed early check in without charge. Not this one, I arrived at 2:30am and they charged me for a "good room" but I was placed in a standard room.
No tea, coffee, sugar or teaspoons but kettle and cups are provided.
Aircon doesnt have cold air coming out of it.
Hard bed
Good Location (inside city)
No lunch served
Internet is average.
bathroom is clean, small and modern. toothbrush, shower cap, shower gel, shampoo and soap provided.
TV - doesnt have a single English speaking channel or doesnt even have subtitles.
Hotel under construction, dusty areas.
got stuck with a windowless standard room, after a shower it gets stuffy in there.
very noisy hotel, I couldn't sleep well as i was able to hear so many people talking in the corridors.
Staff's english isnt good. hard to communicate with them.

im not impressed. I could have spent the same money in a different hotel and got everything mentioned above.

Room Tip: dont use this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    0
    3
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
5
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

We stayed at this hotel in Feb 2013 when it was the Traditional View Hotel and I guess they changed the name because of all the bad press they've been getting! The thing is, I agree with all the negative comments, I just don't see them as negative, more just what you'd expect from traditional Hutong living!

We arrived at the hotel via taxi which just managed to squeeze up Juer Hutong to drop us off. Being right in the heart of one of Beijing's old neighbourhoods means that this hotel has lots of character but isn't very accessible to modern vehicles! At the very worst, if your taxi driver isn't as adventurous as ours you'll have to walk a few minutes from the main road.

When we arrived at the hotel we found that the desk staff spoke just enough English to get by.

They put us in a temporary room for the first night which smelled but was generally clean and tidy.

The next day they put us in a better room which had a different smell as to what time of day it was (ie cooking or sewer) however it was always well stocked with water, shower supplies and towels as well as being cleaned daily.

The room contained a TV which had all Chinese channels as well as bedside tables and a small wardrobe.

Entry into the room was via key card and good Wi-Fi was accessed fairly easily after consulting the front desk (by phone or in person).

The main problems we found in the hotel were noisy Chinese revellers in other rooms (perhaps in Beijing for the New Year?) and fire works going off all day and all night right outside (definitely because it was New Year) however after a while we got used to this.

While staying here you want to seek out the Hutong cat which residues in the courtyard (just wash your hands after stroking him!) and use the WiFi to find Café 85c and Wu Mart nearby - one being a great stop for a Chinese take on baked goods/pastries and the other being a haven for noodles, snacks and cheap cook-in-room meals.

Of course Juer Hutong is a great place to stroll along just for the experience but be aware that it is usually crammed full of people and that the shops and sit down restaurants are quite highly priced. Nearby outlets (ie on the street at the top of the Hutong) are cheaper.

One last thing to say would be to try Bomb Chicken on the Hutong (tasty and cheap) and remember to ask about breakfast in the hotel...we didn't find out until the last day that we were meant to get it!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We stayed 6 nights in this hotel from 01/01/2014 until 07/01/2014.

After reading other customers review, it feels as if we have been unlucky. BEWARE the hotel is currently being renovated. The room was quite small and was located just above the area where workers were drilling so the noise was constant and loud.

Our room was clean but we sometimes felt the daily room service was reduced to the minimum. Bed was hard as a rock. There was a bit of damp in the room and towels were torn. We were moved to another room on the last day due to the renovation and this was much nicer but bathroom smelled of sewage.

For the staff, it is a little bit of a mix feeling, some are really helpful and but the majority won't deal with anything that goes beyond hotel matters...And some staff has a limited english so it is not always easy to communicate.

The best part of this hotel is definitely the location in the middle of the hutongs with a great night life, loads of nice restaurants (Mr Shi, Black Sesame, Nuage, Cafe Sambal, Saveurs de Coree to quote the one that are recommended) and 2 subway stations nearby (Andigmen and Benxijiao).

The breaksfast was quite good and we highly recommend having it as we couldn't find any place opened for breakfast in the area in the morning.

It might be circumstantial but in the end, our stay was unpleasant and we wouldn't recommend this hotel, even less at this time of the year where a lot of renovation is taking place. For a couple of nights, it might be ok. Fussy people, avoid...

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to MU Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MU Hotel

Address: No.33 Juer Alley, Jiaodao Kou,South AvenueDongcheng District, Beijing 100009, China (Formerly Beijing Traditional View Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing > Houhai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3,242 of 5,111 hotels in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — MU Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beijing Traditional View hotel is located in the very centering place of Beijing, with good culture and travelling spots. To the east are the Lama Temple and the famous food street—Gui Jie. To the west are the south LuoGu Xiang and Hou Hai Bar Street. To the south are the Forbidden city/the National Palace Museum and Tiananmen Square. To the north is the Gu Lou heritage conservation area. It is also only 30 minutes away from Beijing International airport and 15 minutes from Beijing capital train station with easy access to several bus lines and close to subway station.Hotel is characteristic for the Beijing Hutong courtyard style, hotel is decorated in a unique way for the Chinese classic culture. Its architecture is stylized as Ming and Qing dynasties’ and very comfortable for living. and can let you feel both classic royalty and the modern luxury.Hotel has 100 rooms, from Bussiness room, Deluxe room, Traditional View room, Deluxe Suite etc to fit everyone’s budget and comfort. Each room is equipped with free high speed internet access, free cable TV, private bathroom, Most of room have a good view. Hotel has a sky bar, offers guests the drinks and intoxicating views, you can have all the good view of Hutong courtyard, Forbidden City, Tian’an Men Square, Jingshan Park, Drum tower, Beijing CBD,at the same time on the top of the hotel.BTV.Hotel is a tourism and entertainment attraction for both Chinese and foreign tourists, an ideal place to stay to better understand and appreciate the classical Chinese culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere, Fastbooking and Otel so you can book your MU Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MU Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.