We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great rooms, even better concierge!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Beijing

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Fairmont Beijing to your Saves list
Fairmont Beijing
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.8 Yong'an Dongli, Jianguo Menwai Main Street, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100022, China (Guomao)   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Stay Two Pay One Package
Ranked #14 of 5,442 Hotels in Beijing
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great rooms, even better concierge!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We have just spent 3 nights here, we booked a gold junior suite but got upgraded to a full suite. The room was amazing! Huge lounge, bedroom & bathroom, we were on a high floor but to be honest there are no real views even when high up. The breakfast was ok but nothing to write home about. The gold lounge is better for breakfast & worth making use of free drinks in the evening.
The hotel is close to subway stop but taxis are cheap if you preferred to use them.
However the best thing about this hotel is Apple Fu, the concierge, she was brilliant & so helpful!!
We went on a trip to the Great Wall which was organised through the concierge, full day trip & it was really good and only cost about £90.
The bar is disappointing here & didn't stay open late but there is a 7/11 across the road.
Final tip is make sure you have your hotel details in mandarin as taxi drivers don't understand otherwise!!

Room Tip: Worth going for gold! Doesn't matter which floor you are on, little views even when high up
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe H, General Manager at Fairmont Beijing, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear gina K,
Warm Greetings from Beijing and thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I am glad to read that you enjoyed your suite upgrade and Gold Lounge benefits. We highly recommend our guests to go Gold for added comfort and amenities. Apple Fu, our Chef Concierge is a great asset to the hotel and continuously goes out of her way for our guests, turning moments into memories as you experienced. We trust that your next visit will be as delightful as your first. Thank you again for taking the time to share your feedback and we look forward to your next visit,

Warm Regards,
Michael Ganster, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

767 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    586
    141
    31
    5
    4
See reviews for
118
244
39
236
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed at the Fairmont for a business trip over a week end when pollution reached 500.

Obviously we didn't leave the hotel, but thanks to the amazing spa, a very spacious and nicely appointed bedroom, fantastic steak restaurant and bar we still had a great day and it didn't feel at all the we stay inside all day.

Breakfast was also good, not amazing but good.

Service in the lobby was attentive, but not at the level of the Four Season.

While the staff at the steak restaurant was extremely nice and prepared.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe H, General Manager at Fairmont Beijing, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Xavier_Andrea,
I am delighted to recieve your review and elated that you enjoyed the luxury of Fairmont Beijing during your business trip. The Fairmont Beijing is considered a destination within a destination and your experience outlines this expression. It's fantastic that you had the opportunity to dine in our steakhouse, The Cut and unwind in our Willow Stream Spa. We truly hope you come back and visit us in the near future and I certainly hope for sunshine and blue skies on your next visit.

With Warm Regards,
Michael Ganster, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel would have to be up there with the best
Wonderful rooms, outstanding service & spotless
Great place to return to after an exhausting day sightseeing
The buffet breakfast is one of the best I have experienced
Mouthwatering omelet yes with a Chinese flavour

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe H, Director, Rooms Division at Fairmont Beijing, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Peter M,
We are delighted to recieve your review and elated that you had a pleasant experience in Beijing in the Winter. We appreciate your kind note in respects to our rooms, service and F&B outlets. We recently restructured our breakfast options and it's great to have positive feedback from this. If ever business or pleasure brings you back to Beijing, we would enjoy the opportunity to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Udon Thani, Thailand
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Staff are very helpful and friendly. The room was spacious and super clean. Heating and A/C work well.

Location was really good, right in the middle of the city. Almost next to Yong'anli subway (3-5 minute walk), a 7-11 nearby. In a walking distance from Silk market, LG towers, and Najia Xiaoguan restaurant.

Fairmont also provide some bicycles for the guests. I was afraid I would get a BMW bike and might have lost it. Turned out it was another decent brand, not as luxury but decent, so worries about parking the bike with others on the street. Beijing is very bike-friendly city, bike lanes/parking. Give it a try! especially in winter

Room Tip: definitely non-smoking rooms for China
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe H, Director, Rooms Division at Fairmont Beijing, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Shatchakarn C,
Thank you for sharing your exceptional review. We are very pleased that the overall experience exceeded expectations in all areas. I am also happy to read that you had the opportunity to use our BMW bikes during your visit as it is a must. Personally on my days off, I truly enjoy biking through the Hutongs and getting into the whole culture. It puts you right in the heart of all the action and you see things that most visitors may not necessarily see. Again, thank you for taking the time to share such positive feedabck and we look forward to your next visit to Beijing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This must be my 15th visit to this fabulous hotel that I call home every time I visit Beijing. The hotel is outstanding for several reasons. The staff, as many others have noted, is extremely well-trained, polite and fully conversant in English (and hence invaluable) while you try to navigate various challenges during your visit. And the rooms are large, bright and have all the amenities you could possible need during your visit.

I recommend in particular staying at a Gold floor room, with access to one of the best club lounges in the world. Leeann, the gold team manager, and her team are simply fantastic (the executive lounge has recently been voted the number 1 business lounge in China).

Then there is Faisal, the head of food and beverages, who can conjure up some of the world´s best sushi from one of the hotel´s many restaurants when you need one.

And Joe Ho, the front office manager, is not only the friendliest hotel manager you may wish to encounter, but also extremely efficient, knowledgeable and helpful.

The gym and swimming pool on the 21st floor are very well maintained and the restaurants serve superb food.

There are numerous very good hotels in Beijing, but you will not find another like the Fairmont that matches a very high level of service for a fraction of the tariffs at other hotels. I am not particularly fond of writing reviews (this is only my second in 5-6 years on TripAdvisor), but I feel compelled to sing the praises of this truly exceptional hotel. You will NOT be disappointed. Dr. Dan Banik

Room Tip: Gold floor rooms are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe H, Director, Front Office Operations at Fairmont Beijing, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Dr. Banik,
Thank you very much for your most kind words. I cannot express how much the hotel appreciates having you stay with us and it always a pleasure to welcome you back. Having read that you are not particularly fond of writing reviews but took time from your busy schedule to write one for our hotel is truly an honor. The whole team from line staff to senior management considers you more than a hotel guest and more as our family. The extent we go to ensure your complete satisfaction comes from the heart and reading your review makes it all worth it. On behalf of the hotel, we thank you again for being a part of the Fairmont family and we look forward to many more stays ahead in your home away from home in Beijing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2015

There are times when one travels that not everything will go according to the itinerary, especially when is comes to luggage. That is what happened on our recent trip. The great thing about the staff at the Fairmont was the immediate actions that took place to accommodate and reduce the worry and concerns of tracking down the luggage. They (specifically Ms. Apple Fu) took it upon themselves to contact the airline on my behalf and keep me constantly updated on the status of my luggage. In the meantime, the staff ensured that my stay was a stress free and possible under the circumstance. Additionally, we booked a tour through the hotel, and that was a home run as well. Ms. Fu made three recommendations and then booked the private tour with an English speaking guide who was just as phenomenal (if you book the tour, ask for Carolyn). All in all, highly recommend a stay at the Fairmont. The staff understands the need for attention to service and accommodations. If there was an issued, it was addressed immediately.

Room Tip: Room thermostats are centrally programmed, so adjusting the temp presents and issue. If you want is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe H, Director, Front Office Operations at Fairmont Beijing, responded to this review, January 26, 2015
Dear Randal R,
Thank you so much for your 5 star review and kind words for our team. Apple Fu is a true superstar and amazing asset, not only to the hotel but to the Fairmont Brand. We understand the baggage situation is not one wishes to ever experience during their travels so we tend to put ourselves in the guest shoes. I am also glad to have the opportunity to have met you on your day of check out and express my sincere appreciation for staying with us. If ever business or pleasure brings you back to Beijing, we certainly hope you do stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2015

Thank you Fairmont for making our honeymoon stay with you so memorable. From a wonderful greeting on our arrival (complete with treats in our room and beautiful flowers), to lavish meals each day, to helpful recommendations and utmost friendly professionalism throughout. We were spoiled and so lucky to have had this experience. A definite recommend (plus amazing Cut restaurant inside the hotel). Thank you !!!

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe H, Director, Front Office Operations at Fairmont Beijing, responded to this review, January 26, 2015
Dear Marie C,
We are delighted to recieve your review and elated that your honeymoon in Beijing was beyond memorable. We try our best to exceed expectation and "spoil" our guests as much as we can. During your special trip, we thank you for letting us be a part of it. Thank you again for sharing your positive feedback and we wish you two the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairmont Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Beijing

Address: No.8 Yong'an Dongli, Jianguo Menwai Main Street, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100022, China
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing > Guomao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Beijing
#7 Family Hotel in Beijing
#7 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#10 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#11 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#297 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Beijing 5*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional accommodations and service in an ideal Central Business District (CBD) location await you at Fairmont Beijing, China - voted #1 hotel in China on TripAdvisor in 2012. Stunning architecture and interior design reflects traditional and contemporary Chinese styles. Savor the ultimate dining experiences in our award-winning restaurants, keep fit on the road in our state-of-the-art gym and pool, then relax and indulge in our Willow Stream Spa.Please visit the TripAdvisor homes our hotel restaurants, The Cut and Lunar 8! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotel.de, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Fairmont Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Beijing Hotel Beijing

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont Beijing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.