We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top of the list!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Beijing

Save Saved
You added Fairmont Beijing to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fairmont Beijing
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.8 Yong'an Dongli, Jianguo Menwai Main Street, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100022, China (Guomao)   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
20% Off Room Rate
Ranked #6 of 5,111 hotels in Beijing
Wicklow, Ireland
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Top of the list!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My husband has just had an exceptional experience at the Fairmont, Beijing. He had a cocktail in the Champagne Bar before eating in restaurant Cuts. The service in the bar was first class with an unbelievably helpful Bar Tender who helped him with local knowledge when asked, as well as serving the perfect cocktail.

He ordered food whilst sipping the drink and moved in to Cuts when the starter was ready. The whole dining experience was excellent. What he ordered was cooked to perfection, the presentation was first class and the extra intra-course chef mouth fresheners were exemplary.

The service was brilliant throughout, as was the advice when requested on different menu options and wine choices.

All in all, he has clearly labelled it one of the best dining experiences he has had in years. He travels a lot and experiences many different hotels and restaurants. He cannot recommend enjoying this experience yourself enough if you are in Beijing. It is a restaurant and they are staff that Fairmont can be very proud of.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

655 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    508
    121
    21
    2
    3
See reviews for
102
211
32
196
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

From the moment we arrived we were made to feel very welcome. We had booked a gold room, which is advised, they are great. We received an upgrade to a junior suite which just made our trip. The staff are very pleasant and have a wealth of information. They are so friendly and get to know you by name Everything is exceptional. Highly recommended and I would definitely stay here again. A fantastic finish to our holiday. Thank you a Fairmont Beijing. Beijing itself is extremely expensive but the silk markets are just up the road. If they give you a price then go 10% of what they say. If they say no walk away they will come after you and will accept offer.

Room Tip: With the gold room you get free wifi, breakfast, afternoon tea, drinks, and supper in the gold loung...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

When you enter a hotel lobby , you expect a warm smile, a hello, a "can I assist you ?" kind of reception...........but this hotel has none of this .We have stayed at Fairmonts and Swissotels before and the staff are usually quite friendly and eager to interact , but not at the Fairmont Beijing. Maybe ........there is a dearth of available English speaking staff.........maybe its the business hotel syndrome..........
The hotel itself is quite new and the rooms do fit the bill , everything is updated and modern.The breakfast is huge and quite varied.........though I wonder why the breakfast room lighting is shaded, dark .....sort of makes you want to get right back into bed !
The hotel location , though not exactly happening , is a 3 minute walk to the nearest subway station "Yong An Li" from where both Wangfujing or Tiannanmen Square are 3 stops ...roughly 10 minutes away.Also , plenty of cabs around.....so, getting around is certainly not a problem.
We did try the local restaurants in the area and found that the food was excellent and the locals were extremely friendly . We also did the "Great Wall" excursion at Mutianyu since we heard that the Badaling sector of the wall , though much nearer to the city, was always crowded and too commercial. Just being on the Great Wall made the whole experience fantastic.........Beijing is a nice place where the locals are fast coming to terms with the advent of Capitalism and it is not difficult to get into a friendly chit chat ( if one is lucky to chance upon an English speaking local.).

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed 3 nights at the Fairmont Beijing Hotel on June 17, 18 and 19 and returned to the U.S. on June 20. The lobby was beautiful with a glass dragon hanging from the ceiling, a bar in the back of the lobby, and a pretty park across from the entrance to the hotel. The room was large and very comfortable. It was not as good as the Fairmont Peace Hotel in Shanghai but it was still a very good hotel. There was a large screen TV on the wall facing the bed. The bed was comfortable and provided us with 3 nights of wonderful sleep. The bathroom was clean and large with a very nice shower and a separate toilet area. There was a safe in the closet and the closets were large and comfortable. There was a 7/11 just down the block from the front of the hotel and I was able to buy a nice bottle of scotch at a reasonable price. The hotel provided us with lots of ice cubes when we called down to request ice. I couldn't find an ice machine on the floor so it was necessary to call down. The first time I asked for ice was from the lady that cleaned the room and she took the ice bucket immediately and returned about 5 minutes later with a bucket full of ice.
Everything in the room worked well and was updated and modern. There were lots of wires to plug in a laptop although we didn't use it. The coffee machine was great and we had delicious espresso and regular coffee every morning. I asked the lady who cleaned the room for extra coffee containers for the coffee machine and she quickly filled up the coffee containers. It was great service. I usually arise very, very early in the morning and one morning I asked about computers at the lobby reception desk. The receptionist told me the business center was on the third floor and offered to open the business center for me. I declined the offer but it demonstrated how accommodating the service could be.
Breakfast was in the restaurant one floor below the lobby. You could walk down or take the elevator. The stairs had a beautiful glass chandelier in the stairwell and the steps were marble. Breakfast was buffet style with numerous options. You could select an omelet to your specifications and eggs any style (poached or fried), sausage, bacon, cereals, fruit, cold cuts, porridge, several different kinds of juices, breads, pastries, etc., etc. There were also Chinese food dishes should you wish to partake. Breakfast was always delicious and filling for the day's activities.
The elevators were very secure. You had to insert your room key card in the elevator to be able to select your floor. Our room was close to the elevator and very easy to reach.
The lobby also had comfortable chairs to sit and read or people watch. It was a busy place with lots of activity.
One block to the right of the entrance to the hotel was a bakery shop with delicious pastries, breads and tasty morsels. It looked simply marvelous. Two blocks to the right of the entrance of the hotel across the very wide and busy street was the Silk Street mall building. You can go under the wide, busy street underground through the subway entrance. When you get to the other side you walk to the nearest side street and go around the back of the building to find the entrance to Silk Street mall. It is a huge department-store type building with everything a tourist might want to buy in China. There is clothing (suits, shirts, etc.) and lots of tourist souvenirs. We were looking for kites and we found some beautiful silk kits. The lady wanted 800 RMD for one kite which was well over $100 dollars US. We wanted three kites for our grandsons. I was careful to put only 500 RMD in my wallet and I never carried or used credit cards in China. I told her I only had 500RMD and she suggested credit cards but I explained that I had none with me. I took out my wallet a showed her that I only had 500 RMD and she asked about a card in my wallet which was my medical insurance card which I showed her. She sold us three beautiful silk kites for 500 RMD while shaking her head the entire time. I still think we may have paid too much but it was the morning of the day we were leaving and we wanted those kites. The boys loved them.
This was a very good hotel and we enjoyed our relaxed stay here during our 4 days in Beijing.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that overlooks the entrance to the hotel because it is a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe H, Director, Front Office Operations at Fairmont Beijing, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear john07_11,
Thank you for your pleasant review. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and satisfied with our service. Your thorough feedback outlines some of the great features of the hotel, restaurant as well as neighboring attractions. We strive to go above and beyond for our guest and will do everything possible to ensure our guests leave happy. We thank you again and hope to see you soon on your next visit. Also hope the boys enjoy the kites you purchased at silk market, looks like you did very well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

As this was a first visit to china a fairmont hotel was a good choice
Everything you expect from this group was there.
The room was well serviced.
Money changing was slick.
No complaints!
We just love staying at fairmont hotels

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe H, Director, Front Office Operations at Fairmont Beijing, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Saxon66Johannesburg,
Thank you fory our excellent review. We are so happy to see that you are a loyal guest of the Fairmont Brand and look forward to welcoming you back soon. We hope to extend/exceed your expectations on your next visit. Please feel free to reach out to me directly prior to your arrival so I can ensure your stay is perfect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Located in business district a few mins walk from underground station. Good 4 star hotel. We paid extra £70 per night for gold club which gave us breakfast, afternoon tea and happy hour and a junior suite which was really spacious. The decor is a little dated and the bed not as comfortable as we were expecting but that's being critical.the spa treatments are fantastic. The pool is lovely, good for swimming lengths, if a bit on the cold side. The loungers are uncomfortable but you can pad them put with the complimentary towels. There is only one fitness class on, yoga, once a week, otherwise you have to pay for private lessons at £50 per hour. One of the jacuzzi chairs didn't work. Staff are friendly, welcoming and helpful, sometimes a bit too much when you just want to eat your breakfast in piece or have a conversation with your family! Concierge were v helpful when booking trips.
Definitely recommend the tasting menu with paired wines- delicious, one of the best meals I ve ever had. The highlight was a tomato consommé, full of flavour that was brought to the boil on our table in a chemistry set. About £100 for 2. Avoid Lunar8- only diners there on a Friday night, v dark decor and dim lighting in basement, not great food, very expensive.
Suite was lovely, food facilities, walk in wardrobe, separate shower and bathroom with television and computerised toilet.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe H, Director, Front Office Operations at Fairmont Beijing, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear L0uCardiff,
Thank you for your review and detailed feedback. We appreciate your time and compliments to both our service and rooms/facilities. We do apologize that the beds were not as comfortable as you expected. We do provide bed covers for our guests that can make the beds more firm if the guest feels they are too soft. I have sent your feedback to our Director of Spa regarding your experience with the pool temperature and loungers which is a great opportunity for us. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you come back to stay with us on your next visit to Beijing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My room is quite up to the standard of a 5-star business hotel. The stay is comfortable, quiet and clean. Facilities and amendities are good. The location may seem a little off from the busy CBD area so getting a taxi takes time but that's not different from any other hotel in the CBD area in Beijing. I am familiar with the neighborhood - the hotel is within 10 minute walking distance to some top-ranking boutique restaurants in Beijing (behind the LG building), 10 minute walking distance to subway station on Line-1, 10-15 minute walking distace to the World Trade Center buildings, the heart of CBD. This makes it very convenient to get to the top tourist destinations along Chang'An Street and business meetings in the CBD area. The drawback of the hotel is that it takes at least a taxi ride to bars or other night-life areas. You need to leave enough time to wait for a taxi, or use the taxi-calling apps on your cellphone to save the wait.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe H, Director, Front Office Operations at Fairmont Beijing, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear V-Y-7,
Thank you for review and for your 5 star rating. Reading your post, it seems that you are very familiar with the area and we are thankful that chose to stay with us out of all the hotels nearby. We are certainly happy to recieve such compliments for our room, facilities and location in the CBD area. Thank you again for your nice feedback and we look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fairmont Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Beijing

Address: No.8 Yong'an Dongli, Jianguo Menwai Main Street, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100022, China
Location: China > Beijing > Guomao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#3 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#3 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#4 Business Hotel in Beijing
#4 Family Hotel in Beijing
#319 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Beijing 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional accommodations and service in an ideal Central Business District (CBD) location await you at Fairmont Beijing, China – voted #1 hotel in China on TripAdvisor in 2012. Stunning architecture and interior design reflects traditional and contemporary Chinese styles. Savor the ultimate dining experiences in our award-winning restaurants, keep fit on the road in our state-of-the-art gym and pool, then relax and indulge in our Willow Stream Spa.Please visit the TripAdvisor homes our hotel restaurants, The Cut and Lunar 8! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Jetsetter, Despegar.com, Expedia, Ctrip DaoDao and Venere so you can book your Fairmont Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Beijing Hotel Beijing

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont Beijing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.