We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fell Short of Expectations” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Beijing

Save Saved
You added Fairmont Beijing to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fairmont Beijing
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.8 Yong'an Dongli, Jianguo Menwai Main Street, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100022, China (Guomao)   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
20% Off Room Rate
Ranked #6 of 5,111 hotels in Beijing
Shanghai, China
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Fell Short of Expectations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

My wife and I stayed 8 days in Fairmont and we love the hotel. The hotel is in the quiet side of Beijing and the beauty of it is the hotel is only a 5 minute walk to the subway and 15 minute walk to the silk market. We stayed in the Gold junior suite and the room was just fantastic. We had breakfast every morning in the Gold club and we loved it. Service was great and so was the selection offered during breakfast. We were glad that the hotel was not in the busy part of Beijing, you will really appreciate it after fighting the crowd in the tourist attractions, markets and not forgetting the subways. If you love your personal space I strongly advised you not to use the subway even when it is not the peak hour. Mind you the subway is the easier mode of transportation considering the horrendous traffic jam you have to put up with. Well....back to Fairmont, this is why I am writing the review. The gym facilities offered in the hotel is one of the best with the staff always at hand to ensure that the equipment is always cleaned after every use. They even ensure that there is always a bottle of water and sweat towel on every machine. Pool was also nice and clean with fresh towels readily available. We dined at the Lunar 8 restaurant to try the famous Peking duck and we were not disappointed. Food was just awesome and you could not fault the service. If you are also looking for great steak, you must give the restaurant The Cut a go. I strongly suggest that you make time to try the awesome juicy steak offered at the restaurant. Overall the service and quality of food offered at the Fairmont restaurants is second to none. Only hiccup was one of the staff at the concierge which was not too helpful but this was sorted out very quickly after a chat with the very helpful and friendly front desk director by the name of Joe. My wife and I are so glad to have picked the Fairmont hotel for our 8 day stay in Beijing and we will come back again for sure. If you are looking for a great hotel in Beijing you must seriously consider the Fairmont!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael G, General Manager at Fairmont Beijing, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Contributor,

It’s very nice to hearing all the good comments from you. We are so glad that our hotel has make your stay in Beijing a good one. The location of our hotel makes it an oasis in the city. The guests are able to enjoy the city activities along with the peace. At the same time, the whole Fairmont team strives to provide the utmost service and hospitality. We look forward to your next visit.

Best regards
Michael Ganster
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

655 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    508
    121
    21
    2
    3
See reviews for
102
211
32
196
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, North Carolina
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

For a stay in central Beijing this property surpassed my previous experiences at the JW and Ren Marriott properties. Apple, the concierge, provided some great suggestions for activities beyond the standard stuff. Rooms are what you expect from Fairmont. The subway is easily accessible (downtown Beijing traffic is tough at best) for the main tourist and business areas.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael G, General Manager at Fairmont Beijing, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear Richard,

Thank you so much for sharing your comments with us. Apple is part of the Golden Key team in Beijing. We are So pleased to hear that her suggestions made your stay phenomenal.
Indeed, our hotel's strategic location being 300 meters away from the Silk Market and not too far from Tiananmen Square are real convenience.
We hope your next stay will be with us again.

Best regards,
Michael Ganster
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We stayed 4 nights on Fairmont Gold for our first stay in China. The room was large and comfortable with big and luxurious bathroom, nice panoramic windows. The Fairmont Gold lounge is very beautiful and welcoming, staff are helful and friendly. It is a welcome oasis in a busy and unfortunately smogy city. The gotel is not near the Forbidden city but it is located near the main subway line which is very user-friendly. We used the subway to zip around town and found it easy to navigate and very cheap. There are many restaurants and conveniences stores near the hotel and concierges will guide to ease your choice.

We took a side trip to the Great wall which was one of the highlights of our trip. We went to the Mutianyu section, which was not overcrowded. It was fabulous.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael G, General Manager at Fairmont Beijing, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear reviewer,

Thank you so much for your kind words. We are very pleased to hear that you've enjoyed our award winning Gold lounge. At Fairmont we always strive to provide the utmost service and hospitality. We certainly look forward to be of service again in the near future.

Best regards
Michael Ganster
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

The bed was so comfortable, very high tread count feels like you are sleeping on a cloud! Luxuriously decorated rooms (we were at level 22, the Gold club rooms). The whole hotel just screams luxury and new, well maintained. Everything was very clean and orderly. The pool was a plus, big well equipped gym as well. Had dinner at the steak restaurant, The Cut. Steak was average, extensive wine list. Only went to the Gold Lounge for breakfast. Quite limited spread but exceptional service. Cannot commend the front desk enough, especially Adrian. He deserves a big raise! Always eager to help and with sincerity and smiles.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael G, General Manager at Fairmont Beijing, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear LKhor,

Thank you for the compliments. We are so glad that you were impressed
by the hospitality and the exceptional service from our team. Our hotel is
renowned for customized service and incomparable amenities that we offer. Every
staff is aiming to provide our guests the most memorable and authentic
experience. We are looking forward to having you back in the near future. Best Regards, Michael Ganster
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

I've been to several Fairmont properties and as such have a pretty good idea of what to expect upon arrival - courteous staff, well-appointed rooms and a central location. This one ticks all those boxes and much more. I stayed here for two nights before joining a school trip and was very impressed at the experience.

Located within 2 minutes of the Yong'anli metro station, getting around Beijing from the hotel is a breeze. The metro line goes north-south and hits several key attractions like Tiananmen Square, the Forbidden City, several food and shopping streets and the Silk Market, which is conveniently located in the metro station. Getting there from the airport is a relatively cheap trip by taxi - roughly 80-90RMB one-way.

I stayed in a standard room, which was anything but standard. The soaker tub in the bathroom was spacious and had a TV embedded in the wall for easy relaxation. The rainforest shower was wonderful after a long day's exploring as well. In the room itself, the king bed was extremely comfortable, and the furnishings were very modern. The free Tassimo machine was a nice touch in the mornings, and the views from the Fairmont are impressive indeed.

I tried the room service on the first morning of my stay. It was quick and polite, though the food was somewhat uninspired by Fairmont's high standards. The gym was on one of the top floors of the building and provided great views of the city. It had a good range of equipment and was pretty sparsely attended, making it a relaxing place to work out.

Overall I was very impressed with my Fairmont Beijing stay. The staff all went out of their way to make my experience memorable and they succeeded in this regard. I would highly recommend this hotel for those visiting the city.

Room Tip: Request, or pay for, a higher floor - the views and quiet are worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily L, Director of Rooms at Fairmont Beijing, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear FCAGENT,

Thank you for taking the time and the effort in reviewing us, it is so good hear that we have another satisfied guest. At Fairmont Beijing we live up on our mission of turning moments into memories for our guests. We hope we have made your trip to Beijing a memorable one. Location of the hotel has been one of the main selling point and I am glad that you feel the same. I hope the subway system in Beijing has made your travel convenient and fast. Once again, thank you very much for the compliment it warm our hearts to hear this, as we continue to deliver exceptional service to all of our guests. Best Regards, Emily Liu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We stayed in a Gold King Suite for four nights, which gave us access to the Fairmont Gold lounge.

Firstly the staff at this hotel are wonderful! Personal, attentive service at every touch pint, be it room service, the restaurant, in the lounge, at reception and concierge.

As for our room, it was wonderful, especially with two kids. So spacious, wonderful bathrooms, amenities, and we loved the extra room to store suitcases and unpack and iron clothes....something more hotels should have.

So all great really, except when it came to the Club Lounge offerings. We stay at a lot of great hotels and the GoldmClub was a complete let-down. Drinks and evening nibbles were served at 5pm, if you could find any! Silver serving trays had snacks waiting, with only 5 portions. Dumplings were cold. The finger sandwiches ( one choice of filling) - the bread was stale and turning up at the ends. There was a cheese platter, with no crackers. Just tiny breadsticks..

Based on The Langham and the Ritz Carlton, there is a big gap between the Fairmont and other hotels. It felt like their Club lounge was going out of business!

So we ended up having breakfast in the main restaurant, great.

My tip would be don't waste you time with the Club Lounge, save your money and book a regular room, pay less and have a better breakfast!

Room Tip: Don't bother about a club room. Not worth it compared to other Hotels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily L, Director of Rooms at Fairmont Beijing, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Libby S,

Thank you for your kind review and am so glad to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. I am delighted to hear that you found our rooms and facilities comforting. Fairmont Gold is all about providing personal exceptional service, being a hotel within a hotel. However I understand that unfortunately we fell slightly off your expectation when it came the club lunge offering and for this please accept my deepest apology. I have already communicated this matter along with our Director of Food & Beverage and we will work close together to improve the lounge offering. Please do look for me on your next trip. Best Regards, Emily Liu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I have been travelling with my wife and my 7-year doughter.
The hotel is very new and perfectly located. The rooms are modern and well equipped.
Also the pool and fitness area are nice. We had dinner in the steak restaurant, which was perfect.
The other restaurant in the basement has to be improved. The food quality and the service to not stand the five stars of the hotel yet.
The staff and the concierge was always very helpful and they also very nice to children.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe H, Director, Front Office Operations at Fairmont Beijing, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Dear schnegli,

Thank you for your kind words and I am glad to see you had the opportunity to experience our steak restaurant, The Cut. At your convenience, I kindly ask if you can send me more details regarding the service flaws you experienced. Your feedback is important to us to ensure all our outlets are exceeding guest standards. I do thank you for your compliments regarding our service and concierge. Your review and feedback is greatly appreciated and we hope to see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fairmont Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Beijing

Address: No.8 Yong'an Dongli, Jianguo Menwai Main Street, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100022, China
Location: China > Beijing > Guomao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#3 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#3 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#4 Family Hotel in Beijing
#4 Business Hotel in Beijing
#319 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Beijing 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional accommodations and service in an ideal Central Business District (CBD) location await you at Fairmont Beijing, China – voted #1 hotel in China on TripAdvisor in 2012. Stunning architecture and interior design reflects traditional and contemporary Chinese styles. Savor the ultimate dining experiences in our award-winning restaurants, keep fit on the road in our state-of-the-art gym and pool, then relax and indulge in our Willow Stream Spa.Please visit the TripAdvisor homes our hotel restaurants, The Cut and Lunar 8! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Jetsetter, Despegar.com, Expedia, Ctrip DaoDao and Venere so you can book your Fairmont Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Beijing Hotel Beijing

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont Beijing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.