We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Beijing

Save Saved
You added Fairmont Beijing to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fairmont Beijing
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.8 Yong'an Dongli, Jianguo Menwai Main Street, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100022, China (Guomao)   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
35% Off Room Rate
Ranked #4 of 5,309 hotels in Beijing
Chandigarh, India
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights and the hotel was very classy. The rooms are spacious and the bathrooms especially are also impressive. Breakfast needs more improvement the spread is weak. I was very impressed while checking out the staff dealing was something I had never seen in hotels.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

673 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    522
    124
    21
    2
    4
See reviews for
104
218
33
203
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NY
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I must say that I had a very different experience that many of the other TA contributors. This is not a 5-star hotel - it is not built like one nor is it operated like one. The location is not ideal - not close to anything important or on a main road. The lobby is small and relatively dark - only 8 chairs to sit down on. The elevators are slow. The overall layout is unusual. It's just not built like a fine hotel. Operationally, things don't always work well here. The service is OK - but nothing special. When I checked in, the toilet in my room did not work - and it took them 20 minutes to figure out that they needed to move me into another room. The room was clean - but not the same level of cleanliness that I experience at a Four Seasons or Ritz Carlton. Food in the club on the 20th floor was mediocre. Yes, I was in a Junior Suite on the Gold Level - but that just didn't make at any nicer. Think twice before you book - there are a lot of nicer hotels in Beijing.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I LOVE the rooms here! Beautiful bathroom and very nice amenities. It was our honeymoon and we have received roses and chocolates in the room! That was a very nice touch. I loved the TV in the bathroom and the amazing toilet with buttons attached (haha). The shower and bathroom were also very nice.

The rooms are very well maintained and cleaned. The service here was also excellent. The concierge was amazing. He had helped us with many things and told us some history of Beijing.

The front desk manager Xavier was extremely helpful and remembers us every time we walk by the lobby.

The pool was very nice but I think there was too much clorine there because my skin hurts after I swam. This is the only complain I have.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay there. I highly recommend this hotel. The location is also very good, close to subway and the Silk Market. It was a really fun trip.

Room Tip: Both our room and our inlaw's room were fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

The experience was excellent, the food outstanding & the service sensational. I called the Housekeeping for a special amenity at 6.30am in the morning, they offered to go and buy my requirement at a local shop in the meantime they called the Spa to check , withing 10 minutes they delivered just what I needed to my room

Room Tip: Worth going for the Fairmont Gold level with nice extras
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasper National Park, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

What a fantastic place. The rooms are very elegantly designed with comfort and style in mind. The staff are ready to jump to help you out with anything you need. The location is fantastic with the Silk Street Market a hop and a jump away. We easily walked to Tiananmen Square and had a fantastic day just exploring. The gym at the hotel is great as are the restaurants and lounge.

The hotel manager, Mr. Ganster, holds a reception once a week to meet with guests which I thought was a fantastic thing. It was a pleasure to meet him and get to know him. Just like the reception, I find it's the little extras that make or break the experience of traveling and with the Fairmont Beijing it's all about those extras.

I have absolutely nothing negative to say about this property/experience. Truly world class.

Thanks for the wonderful stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Living 1/2 time in Beijing now and the Fairmont is my home away from home. Comfortable big rooms, good room service and food. Quieter and smaller than many of the comparable hotels which I like. The staff is always warm and friendly. Any little maintenance issues are rapidly dealt with. Not a grand impressive lobby but a more than adequate lobby bar. Nice pool and spa that are quiet and almost private.

It may seem a little out of the way as it is not connected to any of the big malls but I also like that a lot. There is still quite an authentic Beijing neighbourhood a stones throw from the hotel It is a 5 minute walk to Yonganli subway and the number 1 line which runs up and down Chang'An.

Taxi drivers are learning where it is and even if they have to chase down a cab in the street it takes no more and perhaps less time than the lone lineups at the other hotels.

Room Tip: Gold Junior Suites are worth it and great
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe H, Director, Front Office Operations at Fairmont Beijing, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear marekw,

Thank you for providing your feedback on TripAdvisor and awarding us with the highest ranting! We're so happy that Fairmont is your home away from home! The location of the hotel gives you an opportunity to get to know the real Beijing. The authentic Beijing neighbourhood that you had a chance to visit is full of delicious local eats. We're so glad that you had an opportunity to explore the surroundings! Hope to see you soon, welcome home!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

Excellent hotel. Very confortable and luxury. The rooms are very well equiped with warm floor even in the bathroom. Decoration is amazing! Very good location close to the subway station Yong'an li. The only issue is for a 5 star hotel in Beijing they should provide free internet access in the rooms.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairmont Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Beijing

Address: No.8 Yong'an Dongli, Jianguo Menwai Main Street, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100022, China
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing > Guomao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#2 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#2 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#3 Business Hotel in Beijing
#4 Family Hotel in Beijing
#323 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Beijing 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional accommodations and service in an ideal Central Business District (CBD) location await you at Fairmont Beijing, China – voted #1 hotel in China on TripAdvisor in 2012. Stunning architecture and interior design reflects traditional and contemporary Chinese styles. Savor the ultimate dining experiences in our award-winning restaurants, keep fit on the road in our state-of-the-art gym and pool, then relax and indulge in our Willow Stream Spa.Please visit the TripAdvisor homes our hotel restaurants, The Cut and Lunar 8! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Venere, Tingo, Expedia, Ctrip DaoDao, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Beijing Hotel Beijing

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont Beijing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.