We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved These Apartments” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sandalwood Beijing Marriott Executive Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Sandalwood Beijing Marriott Executive Apartments to your Saves list
The Sandalwood Beijing Marriott Executive Apartments
4.5 of 5 Apartment Hotel   |   No.23 Jianguo Road, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100123, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #116 of 5,424 Hotels in Beijing
4.5 of 5 stars 51 Reviews
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
“Loved These Apartments”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

We stayed in a wonderful 3 bedroom apartment on the top floor. It was very spacious with a balcony that wrapped around the whole apartment with access from each of the rooms. These apartments have everything. Fully equipped kitchen, washing machine & dryer, gorgeous bathrooms.

Our master bedroom virtually came with it's own wing: Huge walk in wardrobe, Full bathroom with bathtub, a separate Study and the large bedroom. The other 2 bedrooms were at the other end of the apartment and came with TV's, a desk area in each room and a bathroom.

The rest of the apartment is taken up by the handy laundry opposite the entrance door, a walkway down to the kitchen, a large dining area and huge living room with an entertainment system.

If it's your first time to Beijing this might not be the best location as you are a 30 minute taxi ride into the inner Beijing area. If you want to catch the subway it's a 5 minute walk to Gaobeidian station on the Batong Line. Word of warning about the Batong line - because it services an outer residential area it can get busy at peak times with people traveling to & from their work places.

The surrounding area does not have the wealth of local restaurants, stores & atmosphere that the more popular areas of Beijing do. There is a local supermarket & shopping Centre ( Lotus Centre) a 20 minute walk from the hotel where you can buy supplies.

Our room came with breakfast. Internet was not included. The breakfast had a large range of food well presented. For dining at night you are best to go elsewhere than the hotel. The Shin Kong Shopping centre is not too far and there are a number of good & well known restaurants on the 6th floor - Ding Ding Xiang (hot pot), Din Tai Fung (Dumplings & Shanghai style), Bellagio ( Taiwanese).

As a family we all enjoyed our stay here. The staff are all helpful & friendly and the facilities and apartments are beautiful.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    20
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
2
4
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Iowa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

This is one of the best hotels i have ever stayed in! The hotel accommodations all the way to the outstanding staff i would recomend this to everyone!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2011

Another great hotel from Marriott! This is my second time to stay in a Marriott "apartment" (the first one was in Florida) and I have to say, that all of Marriott's apartments always deliver. Their kitchen was impeccably outstanding, modern and efficient. Although their washing machine was quite hard to use, but other than that, it was great. They have flat screen televisions in the sala and in the master's bedroom, and the bathroom was amazing. There's also an MRT station near by. Their service was great, and Ken, their manager and their staff was so accommodating, they helped us in every possible way that they could to booking plane tickets, and handling annoying tour guides.

Also, their buffet breakfast was so delicious. Sandalwood was such a great place to stay! I recommend this for families and for those who want a home away from home.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batavia, IL
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2010

I was here in November 2010 to visit my son, who lived nearby at the time. An absolutely beautiful place, with excellent service. Yes, it's not right downtown, but there's a subway stop a 5-minute walk away and cabs (very inexpensive) are easily available. The rooms are amazing (my son said, "I could live here!" when he saw the place). It's high-end apartment space at great prices. I've posted a video tour of the place (a basic one-bedroom unit) here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lSFO6YyZCg4
With the washer and dryer in the unit, I was able to pack light. You can get detergent in the hotel gift shop. There's a golf driving range to the east, a school to the west and the Sandalwood museum to the south.
We were on the run most days, so I didn't get a chance to use the pool or fitness center, but they look great (the hotel is very new). Excellent breakfast buffet, too.
As a Westerner, it's pretty easy to become overwhelmed by Beijing; this place makes a perfect place to go home to. (No, I don't work for Marriott, nor know anyone who does.)

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2010

Spent 10 nights in this apartment complex with my hubby, MIL, and BIL.

We had a 3-bedroom apartment. The apartment itself was great, staff was pleasant. It was clean. The apartment had a full kitchen with dishwasher, rice cooker, oven, fridge, toaster, and water boiler.

Two of the 3 bedrooms had connecting bathrooms, the third bedroom had a bathroom (no tub) directly across the hallway. The bathroom door of the master bedroom was made of see-through glass. The master bedroom had a large walk-in closet.

We ordered room service on the night of arrival, 3 bowls of wonton noodle soup and a bowl of pho. Let's just say that we wished we had brought instant noodle instead. The breakfast buffets, on the other hand, were great. Good selection of Chinese and western food, with coffee and juices.

The only complaint we have is the location. There was no convenience store near the hotel. A supermarket (Lotus Center) was about 10-15 min away, there were a few restaurants halfway to the supermarket, they didn't look busy and we never tried them.

The subway station was a solid 5-min walk away (part of it was really a bike lane), not a long walk, but not fun when it was raining or after a long day of sightseeing.

The closest subway station was Gaobeidian, which was not on Line 1. It was on Batong Line, to transfer from Batong line to Line 1, you had to get off the train, walk a few minutes, to connect to Line 1. For the most part, we have to make at least 2 transfers to get to our destinations.

Taxis were inexpensive, but most of them were not willing to go through the traffic congestion of central Beijing. There were several occasions when taxi drivers asked if it were okay to drop us off at a subway station so we could take the subway instead. There were also a few occasions when we tried to take a taxi back to the hotel, was told there was too much traffic, and to take the subway instead.

Overall, we were very happy with the hotel itself, it certainly provided a relaxing base for us to return to at the end of the day. The location was mediocre though.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HK
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2010

Quality apartment with 5-star hotel standard. Elegantly decorated rooms with good view (golf /.museum).
The apartment is of ~5mins walking distance from the train station. But the surroundings are a bit secluded and difficult to find shopping / commercial locations.
To be improved: lack of free wifi

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2010

As other reviews have mentioned, this complex is quite new and it's all still in great condition. I had a 1 bedroom apartment which was very spacious and had everything I could need. The staff are friendly and the inclusive breakfast is good, but not amazing.
The main problem I found was that the location is not that great, it's quite a walk to a supermarket and there are a limited number of restaurants nearby. The metro is about a 5 minute walk though so that can get you somewhere more exciting fairly easily.
A niggle I have is the internet, which if you don't pay monthly is not included. It is pretty expensive at 100RMB/day with discounts for longer periods. The speed is very poor and the quality is even worse, almost impossible to use Skype - maybe that's the point.
The food from the restaurant / room service was pretty good and excellent value with a reasonable amount of choice. Most main courses were 50RMB and were both western and Chinese cuisine.
If this complex was a bit more conveniently located, I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it. As it stands, it's a very nice and friendly place to stay if the location isn't an issue for you.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sandalwood Beijing Marriott Executive Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sandalwood Beijing Marriott Executive Apartments

Address: No.23 Jianguo Road, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100123, China
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#85 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#346 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sandalwood Beijing Marriott Executive Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 167
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Sandalwood Beijing Marriott Executive Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sandalwood Beijing Marriott Executive Apartments Hotel Beijing

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sandalwood Beijing Marriott Executive Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.