We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Thai restaurant- but don't use the map on tripadvisor!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Purple Haze

Purple Haze
Chaoyang, Beijing 100027, China (Beijing Workers' Sports Complex)
010-64130899
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #283 of 9,461 Restaurants in Beijing
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Thai restaurant- but don't use the map on tripadvisor!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

This was a great thai restaurant, all the food we had was tasty and made a nice change from Chinese. A word of warning though - do not follow the map on trip advisor, it is nowhere near the right location. This is actually located on Xingfuyicun 4th Alley (near Hooters) - check out google maps for the real location.

Well recommended though and they managed to cater for gluten free for me (I had a thai curry and some fish). They have a good selection of beers and wine by the glass too.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    16
    7
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“One of the best Thai restaurants in Beijing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Great food at great prices. Loved the green curry and pineapple rice dish. Great for group gatherings but it gets crowded quickly so plan ahead.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Reasonable Thai”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

Workmanlike Thai food not inspiring or with any finesse but prices are good and the atmosphere is good, prefer Spice Factory

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great Thai food, below average service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

Arranged a visit to this restaurant as friends we were staying with had recommended. Food was delicious, we had chicken satay and prawns to start, followed by Thai curries and Pad Thai. Service felt slow, specifically bar staff, (restaurant was about half full with several staff on shift and 3 staff behind the bar at times), cocktails took over 20 minutes to arrive and we had to ask for water 3 times, food on the other hand was served quickly. Stayed for over 40 minutes after our main meal, no staff approahed us to clear our plates or offer dessert. Looking around the restaurant, all tables seemed to be in the same position. Clearly no need to try to push for the sales of dessserts/coffees here.
Free wi-fi, and a nice environment, but over-rated. As per previous reviews commend them for food but definitely not for service.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Yummy Asian food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012 via mobile

Simply delicious. Great food, great service, no English so you might have to practice some sign language to get your food. But you would get delicious food. Everything was incredibly great. We went in a large group and every plate was great.

If they say spicy believe it!

My plate was a BBQ beef served with a delicious sauce. And got the spring rolls as an entry. They had cold beer, which in spring is very hard to get (they always serve it warm)

Recommended!!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Purple Haze also viewed

Beijing, Beijing Region
 

Been to Purple Haze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Purple Haze, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.