We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing restaurant, if you can find it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dali Courtyard

Dali Courtyard
67 Xiaojingchang Hutong, Dongcheng, Beijing, China (Houhai)
010-84041430
Improve this listing
Ranked #42 of 8,701 Restaurants in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Yunnan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Dining on a budget, Doing business, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Houhai
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“An amazing restaurant, if you can find it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

In the Hutong district not far from the Drum Tower, this was a real find – in more ways than one. We had a guide – he couldn’t find it. He used his iPhone and asked locals three times to get directions. It is down a tiny Hutong lane and then hidden away round another corner. Also cars can’t get much closer than the Drum Tower – the main street is for buses only. So good luck finding this place!
Dali is a major city in the Yunnan province in the far SW corner of China nestled alongside Tibet and Burma. The southern provinces tend to have much hotter and spicier food and this was certainly the case here. We had a set menu meat, fish and vegetables. Everything was delicious, but it was close to my limit for spice and chillies and I did try to avoid eating any actual chillies. There was more than enough food for the three of us.
Aside from the food, it is a delightful place – based around a small courtyard with a water feature in one corner and a temple (or shrien?) in another corner. We sat inside where it was cooler. There were 5 tables inside and about 4 in the courtyard. I imagine in the evenings either is equally comfortable – we were there at lunchtime and the sun was shining into the courtyard.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    71
    29
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A guaranteed success”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

The courtyard is cozy and the food is great. This restaurant is a guaranteed success and recommendable for everyone visiting Beijing. Despite its location and traditionall atmosphere, it mostly caters to westernes, but it still feels like a true Chinese experience. Everyone I have brought there have been very fund of the place.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
59 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Amazing location, lovely food correct price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

The atmosphere is always lovely, the food great and the service quite up-standard.
The price is very correct considering that you always finish the dinner full
The wine choice is limited but good: it is a good way to enjoy Chinese food with falvours which a foreign can almost 80% like.
Better to book a table and to ask a place outside in the summer season

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xi'an
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A hidden gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Finding this restaurant is like finding the secret garden! The outside looks pretty drab, and then you walk through to the beautiful courtyard area! I would definitely reccomend booking if you would like to sit in the courtyard. We sat around the courtyard but indoors, which was fine.

The food is a set menu, which is great. There is also a reasonable wine list. The dishes are delicious, and the meal culminates with a beautiful fish dish.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Meanwhile just average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

I am going to that restaurant in last 3 years and atmosphere is declining. Meanwhile the restaurant is very full so it is hard to enjoy the nice atmosphere of the house. Last time I were there all the food were coming so fast that we didn't had time for to much talking. Now there are many others Yunann Restaurants as well so I would recommend to go to other restaurants

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dali Courtyard also viewed

 

Been to Dali Courtyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dali Courtyard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.