We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing location, lovely food correct price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dali Courtyard

Dali Courtyard
67 Xiaojingchang Hutong, Dongcheng, Beijing, China (Houhai)
010-84041430
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 9,757 Restaurants in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian, Yunnan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Houhai
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
59 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Amazing location, lovely food correct price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

The atmosphere is always lovely, the food great and the service quite up-standard.
The price is very correct considering that you always finish the dinner full
The wine choice is limited but good: it is a good way to enjoy Chinese food with falvours which a foreign can almost 80% like.
Better to book a table and to ask a place outside in the summer season

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Eur0peangl0betr0tter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Xi'an
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A hidden gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Finding this restaurant is like finding the secret garden! The outside looks pretty drab, and then you walk through to the beautiful courtyard area! I would definitely reccomend booking if you would like to sit in the courtyard. We sat around the courtyard but indoors, which was fine.

The food is a set menu, which is great. There is also a reasonable wine list. The dishes are delicious, and the meal culminates with a beautiful fish dish.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Anitac632
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Meanwhile just average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

I am going to that restaurant in last 3 years and atmosphere is declining. Meanwhile the restaurant is very full so it is hard to enjoy the nice atmosphere of the house. Last time I were there all the food were coming so fast that we didn't had time for to much talking. Now there are many others Yunann Restaurants as well so I would recommend to go to other restaurants

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sebastian Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“So delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Unbelievably delicious Yunnan regional food. Fixed menu of the tastiest food, just keeps on coming. Make sure you are hungry. We went twice it was so wonderful and the variety of seating makes for a new experience each time. Once in a private room the in a open verandah overlooking the courtyard. On a warm Beijing evening with the fairy light, candles this can't be beaten for a unique experience. Have the Yunnan beer, perfect. I want to go back now.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank RoccococoSw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester NY
Level Contributor
169 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Creative menu in a traditional location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

This was my favorite restaurant during a recent stay in Beijing because of their location in a hutong. The food was worth the trip, but be forewarned that several of the dishes that are shown as spicy are, in fact, nuclear! Be sure to order a Dali beer. Also, cab service for the ride back to your hotel is available just a few blocks away.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Visit-upstate-NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dali Courtyard also viewed

 

Been to Dali Courtyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing