We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dali Courtyard

Dali Courtyard
67 Xiaojingchang Hutong, Dongcheng (Closed Over Chinese New Year), Beijing, China (Houhai)
010-84041430
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 9,404 Restaurants in Beijing
Cuisines: Asian, Yunnan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Houhai
Xi'an
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A hidden gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Finding this restaurant is like finding the secret garden! The outside looks pretty drab, and then you walk through to the beautiful courtyard area! I would definitely reccomend booking if you would like to sit in the courtyard. We sat around the courtyard but indoors, which was fine.

The food is a set menu, which is great. There is also a reasonable wine list. The dishes are delicious, and the meal culminates with a beautiful fish dish.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    57
    16
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Meanwhile just average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

I am going to that restaurant in last 3 years and atmosphere is declining. Meanwhile the restaurant is very full so it is hard to enjoy the nice atmosphere of the house. Last time I were there all the food were coming so fast that we didn't had time for to much talking. Now there are many others Yunann Restaurants as well so I would recommend to go to other restaurants

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“So delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Unbelievably delicious Yunnan regional food. Fixed menu of the tastiest food, just keeps on coming. Make sure you are hungry. We went twice it was so wonderful and the variety of seating makes for a new experience each time. Once in a private room the in a open verandah overlooking the courtyard. On a warm Beijing evening with the fairy light, candles this can't be beaten for a unique experience. Have the Yunnan beer, perfect. I want to go back now.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester NY
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Creative menu in a traditional location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

This was my favorite restaurant during a recent stay in Beijing because of their location in a hutong. The food was worth the trip, but be forewarned that several of the dishes that are shown as spicy are, in fact, nuclear! Be sure to order a Dali beer. Also, cab service for the ride back to your hotel is available just a few blocks away.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great setting and lovely food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

The Trippys before warned me that this place was going to be hard to find but the pin point on the map was actually correct! Doesn't happen that often, unfortunately.
The resaurant had a great set menu with of lovely combination of different Yunnan food. Price: just below Y130 for one person. House wine: Y200. The setting in a beautiful hutong courtyard was probably the best, though.
Chinese people often eat quite early, so if you show up at 21.00, there's usually no problem getting a table.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Dali Courtyard also viewed

 
Beijing, Beijing Region
Beijing, Beijing Region
 

Been to Dali Courtyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dali Courtyard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.