We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So delicious” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dali Courtyard

Dali Courtyard
67 Xiaojingchang Hutong, Dongcheng, Beijing, China (Houhai)
010-84041430
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 9,757 Restaurants in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian, Yunnan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Dining on a budget, Business meetings, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Houhai
Paris, France
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“So delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Unbelievably delicious Yunnan regional food. Fixed menu of the tastiest food, just keeps on coming. Make sure you are hungry. We went twice it was so wonderful and the variety of seating makes for a new experience each time. Once in a private room the in a open verandah overlooking the courtyard. On a warm Beijing evening with the fairy light, candles this can't be beaten for a unique experience. Have the Yunnan beer, perfect. I want to go back now.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank RoccococoSw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Rochester NY
Level Contributor
169 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Creative menu in a traditional location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

This was my favorite restaurant during a recent stay in Beijing because of their location in a hutong. The food was worth the trip, but be forewarned that several of the dishes that are shown as spicy are, in fact, nuclear! Be sure to order a Dali beer. Also, cab service for the ride back to your hotel is available just a few blocks away.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Visit-upstate-NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great setting and lovely food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

The Trippys before warned me that this place was going to be hard to find but the pin point on the map was actually correct! Doesn't happen that often, unfortunately.
The resaurant had a great set menu with of lovely combination of different Yunnan food. Price: just below Y130 for one person. House wine: Y200. The setting in a beautiful hutong courtyard was probably the best, though.
Chinese people often eat quite early, so if you show up at 21.00, there's usually no problem getting a table.

Helpful?
Thank Tomas E
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

There is one menu only. Food is nice, though a little spicy. Atmosphere is nice. Lots of non natives. Unfortunate. Notice: easy to find if ypu use map. Rest OK.

Helpful?
Thank Nico S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice courtyard but bad service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

The food was good but I thought the restaurant suffered from fame. I was not even given any explanations on what kind of set menu options I had and I ended up being charged for a menu, which was pricier than what I was originally told of. The waiters basically throw the food at your table and just say the name of the food in Chinese even without looking at your face. It is an expensive restaurant for China standards and I was not too happy with the overall treatment. The only nice part was to be able to sit in a nice courtyard.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BurcuBasar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dali Courtyard also viewed

 

Been to Dali Courtyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing