We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hosts, great ''local'' location.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kellys Courtyard

Save Saved
You added Kellys Courtyard to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kellys Courtyard
No.25 Xiaoyuan Hutong of Bingmasi Hutong, Xisi South Street, Xicheng District, Beijing 100034, China (Xidan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 5,414 Hotels in Beijing
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv, Israel
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing hosts, great ''local'' location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights. Very quiet, not the regular backpackers hostel you would expect...
Home like feeling, great for couples.
Wouldn't go there if you are looking for company or new friends...

Because of the great location (inside of a regular hutung), you will be able to eat breakfast in the local food stand with the workers, just 2 minutes walk and see how the people of city live.
The breakfast in the hostel is simple, so go out and try to enjoy the food outside.

John, the guy that works there is a great help, always with a smile and very welcoming. He can help a lot with planning and organizing time. But, if you want arranged tours(to the wall, i. E), I recommend to book it through one of the international youth hostels. You don't have to stay there for that...

We loved the place, and had a great time in Beijing.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    38
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
25
50
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

My mom came to visit me in China, and I wanted here to experience life in a hutong, so we booked a few days stay at Kelly's Courtyard. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the hotel. The hotel is located about 5 blocks south of the Xisi subway station. It is a very easy walk, and Xisi exit D has a working escalator, as well as an elevator if you arrive with luggage - see the attached map. The hotel was a little bit challenging to find at first. The Bingmasi hutong street has a burned out store at the end, which at the time of this review was being deconstructed. This area has a traditional hutong feel. Most of the other buildings have not been renovated, and it may seem a little rundown at first, but it is entirely safe.
Bob was kind and welcoming. He helped us get tickets to an acrobat show, chatted with us amiably about our day, and answered all of our questions. He made us feel like we never wanted to go anywhere else.
There was a basic continental breakfast included, with tea or coffee, toast, jam and butter. There was a comfortable upstairs deck as well.
The location cannot be beat. Line 4 connects with line 1, 2, and 10, and you are within walking distance of Beihai park. My mom and I enjoyed the stroll to the park, and then to the drum and bell tower. We found an incredible small tea house east of the tower neighborhood. It was really rewarding, meaningful, and unique. The other guests (about 6) were chatty and international.
If you are absolutely committed to having a Holiday Inn type experience, this place is not for you. The air conditioning is confusing, and you have to fiddle with the remote to get it to cool (it is the same as the AC in my room near campus, so I could figure it out, but you might just want to ask Bob to set it for you. Chinese appliances in general have too many settings, many of which seem superfluous, but I digress). I will stay here again the next time I have a visitor from out of town. It was a wonderful choice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

Love this hostel! It is by far the best hostel we've ever stayed in. It offers a combination of traditional Beijing with the western comforts we are accustomed too.

It is a beautiful building consisting of a covered courtyard surrounded by a handful of guestrooms.

We were on honeymoon and had, prior to arrival, been dubious of staying in a hostel. Our fears disintegrated the moment the doors open and we were led into the courtyard. It is lit by a conservatory roof, complete with tree growing up through it, there is a fish pond - inside! And an ornate spiral staircase leads to a roof terrace where you can unwind and listen to the city hum (but not intrusively) around you!

Our room was clear, spacious, characterful an comfortable and came with an ensure bathroom.

Bob, the host, is so helpful and friendly, we did weary thing he recommended and had the time of our lives in Beijing.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

If you plan to stay in Beijing I would not miss this accommodation. It's quite an amazing place. In a typical hutong (so called the area with all small houses connected by lanes) in the middle of the city. It's an experience by itself. I found it quite easy to find it, once you follow the instructions given by email. English is well spoken in the hotel, which is a rare thing. Breakfast is quite normal, nothing to call back home, but you come here more for the experience than anything else. Even if all the rooms face the courtyard, there is such a silence that you can sleep through the morning.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffern, New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Like the other reviewers, my colleague and I arrived late in the evening. We had a taxi driver who walked us to the door and did not leave until Bob answered. We got lucky. From the second we met, Bob made us feel right at home. He could not have been more helpful and is reason enough to stay at Kelly's. The rooms we simply and tastefully decorated and kept extremely clean. The only thing that was a little off-putting was the bathroom. The bathroom is a combination of sink, shower and toilet, in that order. There are no doors or curtains around the shower. The entire bathroom gets soaked when you take a shower. It is possible to deal with that, however, there is one situation that is very hard to deal with. Above the toilet is a sign which reads: "Do Not Put Toilet Paper in the Toilet. Please Place in Basket Beside Toilet". I am not sure what the plumbing and sewage situation is in Beijing, however, it would be worthwhile to invest in a proper system for the hotel. It would also be nice if the shower was somehow separated or enclosed. That aside, the hotel was charming and the courtyard was beautiful. It is in a wonderful area and walking distance to great shopping and all the sights. Bob will ensure that your stay is wonderful.

Room Tip: We had requested and stayed in Rooms 4 and 5. They are the best rooms in the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

I cannot say enough about how well guests are looked after at Kelly's Courtyard. Bob was like the cousin I never knew I had in Beijing. Need a tour to the great wall? No problem. Bob can get you the best all-day taxi rate to the nicest place with the fewest tourists and cable cars to the top. He even called the taxi driver and made him hand over his phone so he could ask if everything was okay! He advised me on where to buy silk for my mom (Silkstreet) and where I could purchase sunscreen for my peeling legs. The rooms were nice, surrounding a lovely air conditioned courtyard with a skylight. Though the beds were harder than my norm, he supplied many extra pillows and blankets, and I slept very well. Quiet rooms with hot water in showers. Bathroom was separated from the sleeping area by a glass wall and a privacy shower curtain. An endless supply of bottled water was available at a cheap rate, just sign your room number. Two metro stations were near the hostel, both within a 5 minute walk: Xisi and Lingjing Hutong. An ATM is located nearby inside 24-convience mart (toward Lingjing station.). Also, KFC is close by (toward Xisi station). I would stay in the Hutong again. The service Bob provided exceeded most 5-star hotels. We took a cab to the airport for about $30. However, we took a bus from the airport, as the taxis wanted to overcharge using highly inflated flat rates. There is an air tram from the airport that we also used to get into Beijing during our second visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Kellys was a real find for us. The hostel is located off the main road down an alley - this was a little unusual but Bob the manager met us along the way as we had indicated what time our train arrived in Beijing. The hostel is a real gem, each room opens onto the shared central courtyard and is decorated beautifully. The accommodation is very clean, comfortable and quiet. Bob the manager is most helpful and eager to assist with any request and happy to share much information on Beijing attractions and solutions for getting around. The beds are chinese firm but rather comfortable. Each room has a private bathroom/shower. We had both a double bed room and a twin bed room.
It was lovely to come back in the afternoon, after a day of being on the go, to the peace and quiet of the hostel. The central courtyard has a glass ceiling and is airconditioned which was fabulous. There is also a rooftop terrace which is perfect for relaxing on while enjoying a cool drink and watching the sun set. The breakfast provided is enough to start the day. there is a supermarket nearby, along with subway stations, and local resturants of varying sizes. KFC is also not far away for those with a need.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kellys Courtyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kellys Courtyard

Address: No.25 Xiaoyuan Hutong of Bingmasi Hutong, Xisi South Street, Xicheng District, Beijing 100034, China
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing > Xidan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi )
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#36 Family Hotel in Beijing
#45 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Kellys Courtyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kellys Courtyard Hotel Beijing
Courtyard Hotel Beijing

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kellys Courtyard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;