We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kellys Courtyard

Save Saved
You added Kellys Courtyard to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kellys Courtyard
No.25 Xiaoyuan Hutong of Bingmasi Hutong, Xisi South Street, Xicheng District, Beijing 100034, China (Xidan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 5,311 hotels in Beijing
Qingdao, China
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Stayed here for a couple nights on an impromptu trip to Beijing. I would say that Kelly's Courtyard is different from any hotel I've ever stayed in. Certainly being able to afford the executive suite at the InterContinental has its perks. But both for the price and a place you would prefer to relax I don't think you can do much better than this. Best things: the staff was friendly and spoke superb English; the mini-bar was well stocked and reasonably priced; the hotel was centrally located; the upstairs terrace on a nice day and a strong wifi signal throughout the hotel. Definitely recommended.

Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    94
    37
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
24
50
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bruxelles
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We stayed in this little hotel 4 nights and that was great!!! Really in the center, reachable by metro or bus - just close to the Forbidden City, and very quite.
Bob, the owner, is just perfect! Helping with any organisation, giving good informations and tips.. The hotel has 8 rooms, quite simple but cosy with private bathroom -also quite basic but perfect for holidays. A nice place for breakfast, another place upstair to watch television or to eat a take away and a nice terrace, where you can have the aperitif...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is a little gem in an old district of Beijing that caters to people who like the personal care that John and Kelly provide. It's not fancy and the neighborhood is mighty interesting, but it's a decent bargain that will create fond memories of your visit to China. Our room was adequate, with two twin beds and an adjacent toilet, shower, sink. We usually departed by nine, after a continental breakfast, and stayed out all day before returning to the hotel for a nap before dinner.
The neighborhood is a remant of old Beijing, and is very safe. The restaurants are plentiful, but if you haven't been to China before prepare for a shock. What you would call Chinese food is not really available, and the restaurants would never pass a health inspection. My recommendation is to order a whole roast chicken or a roasted lamb shank, and then perhaps a raw vegetable sampler or a fruit plate. The menu is always a source of great amusement, however, and you may find something else that you like.
A couple tips:
1) Never take a rickshaw; the drivers can't be trusted and they will try to extort exorbitant fees from you.
2) When you go to Kelly's Courtyard the first time, it's best to arrive by taxi in the daylight unless you are a professional navigator.
3) Taxis are incredibly cheap, but hard to find. So, good luck with that.
4) Bring a pair of lightweight goggles in case of a dust storm.
5) If possible, go to Fangshan Park on Sunday. It's an incredible gathering of Beijing people entertaining themselves with song, magic, dancing, etc. Not to be missed.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Excellent! There is spacious sitting area with music and rooftop terrace with fresh air. Breakfast is simple but good enough. It serves apple & orange juice, milk, yogurt, toast, muffin/ cake, fresh fruit and coffee/ tea everyday. My room no. 5 is very comfortable though the restroom is a bit small and floor will be getting wet after shower. The environment is so silent and relaxing that I can have good sleep every night. I like the design and decoration of the hotel very much. It's a mixture of traditional history and modern art. The hotel manager, Bob is very helpful and friendly. You can also make friends and exchange travel ideas with your neigbours from other countries. The location is convenient as it's just 5 mins walk to the nearby train station. But upon arrival, it's better to take taxi from the airport as Beijing is just too big. If you want to experience an exceptional and enjoyable hotel stay in Beijing, I would highly recommend Kelly's Courtyard!

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter"
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

You walk down a major street (Xidan), turn into a laneway where food is being cooked on outdoor grills, people are getting haircuts and cares are being repaired in the street, turn into an quiet, narrow alley and then into a narrower dead-end alley. By now you're thinking a mugging is imminent. And then at the end of the alley, a door opens and you are welcomed into a lovely, charming oasis by the friendliest staff.

The rooms were ornate, but very comfortable with every necessity provided. I loved the bathrooms - small but completely adequate. Plenty of hot water every morning. Beds were hard, as other reviewers have said, especially in the double room, but an extra duvet under the sheet made for a great sleep.

The ornate carved wood doors and windows in the courtyard are beautiful and give an air of antiquity to the whole place, even though its only a few years old. There's not an abundance of comfortable furniture in the courtyard itself, but you can always lounge on the roof-top deck if weather allows. The courtyard was a lovely place to relax after a day of being bombarded by unending crowds and long treks through palaces and museums.

Kellys is well located, close to two subway stops, and providing easy access to many significant palaces and squares.

Traveling with several family members, we loved having our own rooms that all opened onto the central courtyard. I think we might have been a bit noisy for some of the other guests. Sorry about that.

I loved staying here and thought it was excellent value for the price.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

I absolutely loved my stay at Kelly's! Here are the top 3 highlights:

Staff: The best part of the experience. John was incredibly welcoming and warm, providing a great set of curated recommendations for my weekend in Beijing, which he customized to the time I had available as well as the opening and closing times of the places he recommended. Even when I came back late in the evening, he was there to welcome me back and see if I needed anything. Once when I shared an issue with my room, he fixed it by the time I returned later that day. As I was traveling alone, it was nice to feel like I had a friend to look out for me in the event I encountered any issues.

Location: Staying inside the historic hutong was an amazing experience. Wandering the winding lanes I was able to see people going about their day, hear the sounds of traditional music wafting through the air and feel like I was back in time! It is very dark and rather quiet at night but John ensured me that the hutong was safe, and I never saw reason to doubt that. The hutong is a short walk from the subway and I found it was easy to get just about anywhere in the city this way.

Property: The hotel is a restored courtyard home, so you get the benefit of the courtyard experience while enjoying very clean and modern amenities. It has a comfortable enclosed courtyard where you can sit and have breakfast in the mornings. It also has a nice lounge and roof area where you can look out over the surrounding hutong. The only downside is that the beds are quite hard. I was personally fine with this, but knew that my fiancee would have been somewhat uncomfortable.

I am going to insist that every friend I have stay at Kelly's when in Beijing! Staying in a hutong is really a unique (and unfortunately, disappearing) experience that everyone should have.

Room Tip: My room was right on the courtyard, and this was fine. It might be nice to have a somewhat more sec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Charming small hostel tucked away in a beautiful Hutong (Hutongs are the traditional Beijing neighborhoods).

I only spent two nights at this hostel but had an unforgettable experience. Located at a traditional courtyard you can experience the real feel of living in a Beijing hutong with none of the drawbacks. It's comfy, rooms are spacious and have there own western style bathroom. The decoration of the common areas is perfect (traditional chinese style) with lots of room to sit and many magazines and travel guides to borrow. The rooftop looks promising for the warmer months, but I visited in March and it still was a bit chilly outside. Another great feature is that this hostel has its own heating system (it does not depend on the government switch on and switch off dates). So for the chilly months like november or march (when there is no government heating and it is still cold outside) this is perfect!

But really the best part was the laid-back, relaxed and friendly ambience contributed by the perfect and helpful service! I did not meet Bob (he was on holidays). Instead the person in charge was John and he was perfect. He was always ready to help with a big smile, always giving great advice of what to do and see. It really is a pleasure to stay in a place like this, where everything is so good and the service is just great!

I would recommend this hostel to anyone with any doubt! Specially for couples!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kellys Courtyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kellys Courtyard

Address: No.25 Xiaoyuan Hutong of Bingmasi Hutong, Xisi South Street, Xicheng District, Beijing 100034, China
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing > Xidan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#26 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
#33 Family Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Kellys Courtyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kellys Courtyard Hotel Beijing
Courtyard Hotel Beijing

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kellys Courtyard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.