We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil Gem in the City” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Michael's House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Michael's House to your Saves list
Michael's House
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   South Yard No.1 Zhiqiang North Garden, Haidian District, Beijing 100088, China (Houhai)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Airport Transfer
Ranked #15 of 5,462 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Denver
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Tranquil Gem in the City”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

After an extremely long day of traveling from Denver to Beijing, arriving to Michael's House was a pure delight. We immediately felt that we could sit back and relax. The hotel is very cozy, peaceful and clean. The atmosphere is inviting and warm. A great choice for travelers desiring a more intimate B&B type of experience. Also, we would truly like to thank Jenny, who was working the front desk at midnight upon our arrival. She was super sweet, helpful and patient.

Room Tip: We stayed in a standard double room~ small, but enough room for myself & my husband. Very clean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    104
    25
    1
    3
See reviews for
88
161
47
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

This small hotel is what everyone said in previous reviews, which is why I chose it.
It is clean, comfortable, with all appropriate amenities, cozy, the staff is very pleasant English speaking and helpful, and good access to the subway system.
Breakfast was sufficient, but minimal as you would expect in a hotel with so few guests in the off-season.
The things I did not like:
1. For what it is, it was a bit overpriced.
2. The surrounding area is a poor neighborhood. Safe to walk through, even at night, but poor and unpleasant. Yes, after going through it, you arrive in an acceptable area with some selection of restaurants and bars. But you have to go through it first. Actually, as I was directing the taxi driver using Google-maps to the hotel, I was concerned that we got lost. The pleasant interior of the hotel is in striking contrast to its surrounding. (Either use Google-maps, or have the taxi driver call the hotel for directions.)
3. The hotel recommended to book a taxi for us for our trip to the great wall. It was overpriced but I was OK with that as they promised that this is a driver they know from an agency the work with. The car looked nice from the outside, but driver seat was broken and leaning backwards towards the passenger in the rear seat. And seat belts in the rear did not work. I can get a better taxi any time on any street in Beijing. No need to overpay for that. And when we came off the great wall, we had to look for the driver for 20 minutes. As he thought, that after 3 hours, which is known to be the time that people usually spend on the great wall, is when he has to have some food. So this referral damages the reputation of the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael W, General Manager at Michael's House, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your review on tripadvisor.

Your positive comments on our staff service and facilities are appreciated and that is what we keep proud of , nevertheless we are more grateful for your telling us the deficiencies on our car renting outsourced service that alert us it is damaging our reputation. We will discuss this matter with our vendor and make re-selection if necessary.

We apologize for the inconvenience it has caused you.
As you know hailing a taxicab on the street is not always an easy matter ‘cause there are million of visitors need this service daily in Beijing. That’s why we outsourced this service to our vender for its guaranteed availability and safety although this exclusive door to door calling service cost is a bit of higher than on the street.
I also noted our neighborhood is not the area you prefer.
The decision to place the hotel in Hutong was not only done to enable guests to be in a relatively close proximity to a lot of attractions but also retains a very traditional and cultural atmosphere。
The hotel is also located in a place that has over 600 years of history when dates back to Yuan dynasty. The local station Jishuitan was also named after the landform it sits on, which, as it happens, was the largest water port in whole Beijing and was used hundred of years ago.

Today, people here are still living a traditional Chinese lifestyle with home cooked food sold on the streets. It is for these reasons that our guests chose this boutique courtyard-styled hotel and wish to meet more authentic Chinese culture and trueborn Beijing lifestyle. Hutong surrounding our hotel is an unique area, allowing for the such experience. It is regretful that this was not the charming location you had hoped for.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to feedback. I hope you will have a good time when travels bring you back to beautiful Beijing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

Michael's house really is a 'home away from home' atmosphere. We arrived on New Years Eve and were invited to share dinner and dumplings with the staff and other guests while toasting the new year. There is an equal mix of foreigners and local travellers staying here which was great - you all cross paths in the central courtyard and people were so friendly. The rooms were spotless and the beds were so comfortable; I had a fantastic nights sleep every night. Breakfast was also very good - fresh coffee, eggs, bacon, fruit, yogurt, cereal, toast. The location is in a real neighbourhood, a short walk to a subway station and the northern end of the HuaHai lakes. We started one day with a taxi ( 4-5 USD) to Tianamen square and then spent the day walking north through the Forbidden City, hutongs and HuaHai all the way home. Highly recommend if you are looking for a helpful, comfortable guesthouse atmosphere.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

This made for an amazing end to my travels in China. Staff were friendly and helpful and the bed was like a cloud. Was lovelyto have breakfast in the open living area and was handy to be able to wall in only a few minutes to the shopping mall and subway station. Some lovely buildings in the area and a scenic lake. Looking forward to getting back one day. Thank you

Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lux
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

The best asset of this hotel is the personal. All the girls in the hotel were so kind to help and especially Jenny. Give me information for subway, places to go, taxi, massage etc.
The hotel space is particular with a central covered patio where you het the breakfast.
The hotel is 400m from a circular subway station, which is very practical and not expensive at all.
also the night a market and a lot of street restaurants all around. Before departure in the evening i asked kindly for a shower and they proposed me a solution.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Very nice hotel, more a guest house actually. Rooms are situatie around a courtyard, which today is furnished with plants and sofas. The staff is very nice and helpfull. The hotel is located less then 15 minutes from a subway station. The huton, old attractive streets, a tourist attraction now a days, are 3 stations away.
So, for a very reasonable price, I can sincerely recommend you this warm hotel!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Michael’s House is a clean, comfortable and stylish hotel. The rooms surround a central courtyard which is decorated in a traditional Chinese style. The staff were very helpful. They even stayed awake until 4 am to allow us to check in after a long flight.

The hotel is located approximately 10 minutes walk from a metro station on line 2. Line 2 is the circle line. Accordingly, it connects with many other lines. This makes travelling to most of the touristy destinations very easy.

Breakfast is included in the room price. It is a buffet style breakfast, including bacon and eggs as well as continental options.

We enjoyed our stay at Michael’s House and would recommend it to anyone travelling to Beijing who is not part of tour.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Michael's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Michael's House

Address: South Yard No.1 Zhiqiang North Garden, Haidian District, Beijing 100088, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing > Houhai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Beijing
#19 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#35 Business Hotel in Beijing
#186 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Michael's House 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
enjoying a convenient location,the hotel offers you traditional ambiance and modern facilities with guestrooms to suit all budgets.decorated with a variety of main colours, all rooms have individual styles.enjoy the afternoon tea with your friends under the glass roof and feel as if you are going back in time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Michael's House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Michael`s House Hotel Beijing
Michaels Hotel Beijing
Beijing Michaels Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Michael's House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.