We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place, good location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Michael's House

Save Saved
You added Michael's House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Michael's House
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   South Yard No.1 Zhiqiang North Garden, Haidian District, Beijing 100088, China (Houhai)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% For Advanced Purchase
Ranked #10 of 4,968 hotels in Beijing
Red Deer, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good place, good location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed here in May 2013 for a week. The place is located in an ally right beside the hostel. It is a little difficult to find. Our taxi driver didn't know it was in the ally and we had to walk around before locating it. Once we found the place, it was very easy to get to the subway and get around the city.

The staff there were awesome. All of them spoke good English and provided good directions. The place was clean and every thing worked. The AC was cold and lots TV channels on TV. The morning breakfast was great. We ate every morning before we left for our daily activities. There are many good Chinese restaurants nearby the hotel and the staff made several good recommendations.

We would stay there again for sure now we know where the hotel is located. The price is good compared to other guesthouses in Beijing.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    256
    89
    23
    1
    3
See reviews for
79
136
40
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We had difficulties finding this place - actually our taxi driver did but, once we arrived, it was truly an oasis amongst the hustle and bustle, traffic and noise of the Haidian District and the many food stalls just down the road. The room was a bit cramped but clean. We opted for a room with king sized bed that left virtually no room to maneuver. The managers/staff went above and beyond their duties to help with any question or booking and were so courteous! Jenny is a gem. Michael's House is definitely the place to stay. It was a leisurely 1.5-hour walk from Qianhai Sea, thus, it really is not far from the centre of Beijing.....

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed in Michael's House for 8 days, and spent time in a Deluxe Room as well as the Emperor's Suite.

The hotel is in a vibrant part of town, with many street stalls and restaurants to be found. It is an easy 10 minute walk to Jishuitan subway station, which is on the circle route that takes you to most of the major tourist sites. It is a courtyard hotel, but a modern reproduction rather than an old original. The rooms are nicely furnished and the beds quite comfortable compared to the normal rock-hard Chinese bed. A highlight was the very personal service of the staff and Amy at the front desk was delightful. As I found out from talking to colleagues, the car and driver we hired for half a day through the hotel was quite cheap compared to other hotels. The breakfast is just ok, nothing special, but enough if you don't eat big breakfasts. It would be nice to see more fresh fruit and maybe a Chinese dish. The Emperor's Suite was very lavish and the only complaint I had was the shower, which was very hard to adjust to the right temperature and did not give a nice spray.

Overall, we really enjoyed ourselves and the hotel is a good option if you don't like the uniformity and impersonal nature of large hotels.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

I stayed at Michael's House for two nights - the hotel and my room were both very nice, clean and comfortable. Amy and Jenny were super helpful; from finding a place to eat to general information about getting around and even helping me book tickets for an acrobatics show. The Jishuitan metro station is near the hotel - I averaged about 15 minutes between the time I left the hotel and the time I got on the train at Jishuitan (including the time to buy the pass and place my bag on the x-ray machine). The subway is very convenient (and inexpensive! it is only 2 yuan per trip anywhere in Beijing). At night, the streets around the hotel liven up with street vendors who start grilling and the locals flock there for a meal. I felt pretty safe walking around the area, I would usually return to my room around 10 at night. The cab ride from the airport to Michael's (and vice versa) is approximately 100 yuan. If you are staying here, request the hotel address in Chinese via e-mail so you can show it to your cab driver (very important!!). Once at the hotel, they have these address cards that you can show to your driver at any time in case you get lost. I would recommend Michael's house.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

From the moment I walked in after long hours in the air, I felt my body relax. Jenny, one the office managers, had e-mailed us directions in Chinese to get there from the airport. The taxi driver had no problem finding this little hidden gem of a boutique hotel. When we pulled up, the staff was out there to greet us and help with luggage. Inside, it was everything I was looking for, comfortable, intimate, friendly and beautiful. Spacious rooms, comfortable bed and bathroom, air-conditioning, a cozy courtyard where you can talk to other guests, read or go online. The breakfasts were delicious, a spread of strong coffee, delicious fruit, eggs, bacon, yogurt, oatmeal - everyday, a little something new, with some local food thrown in for fun.
We stayed four days on our first round, taking the nearby subway to all the sites with no problem. The staff also organized hassle-free, small tours. At night, we walked around and ate at some the small restaurants, also getting a taste for the hum of the neighborhood. We traveled north for five days and returned to Michael's before our return to the U.S. I felt like I was coming home. In many years of travel, this was one of the best hotel experiences I've had, thanks to the great staff, a wonderful group of caring, smart women.

Room Tip: For a little extra, choose the spacious Emperor's room in a quiet corner of hotel and sleep unde...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA, CA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Would generally rate hotel as 3 star and service as 5+ star. Many thanks especially to Amy, Little, and their colleagues. Our stay was very enjoyable. Rooms and beds were comfortable. Showers were a bit quirky. Breakfast was simple and pleasant. Only limitation was location respective to restaurants, shops, etc. we would like to be closer to in evening (given heat distance to metro and taxis were challenging). We very much enjoyed staying in an environment with character and excellent service.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Griffith, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights. The staff most helpful, rooms very clean and comfortable and the breakfast was good. The hotel is not far from the subway and there are restaurants, markets and shops near by. I would recommend this hotel for its atmosphere and friendly staff

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Michael's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Michael's House

Also Known As:
Michael`s House Hotel
Michael`s House Hotel Beijing
Michaels Hotel Beijing
Beijing Michaels Hotel
Address: South Yard No.1 Zhiqiang North Garden, Haidian District, Beijing 100088, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing > Houhai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#14 Family Hotel in Beijing
#40 Business Hotel in Beijing
#198 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Michael's House 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
enjoying a convenient location,the hotel offers you traditional ambiance and modern facilities with guestrooms to suit all budgets.decorated with a variety of main colours, all rooms have individual styles.enjoy the afternoon tea with your friends under the glass roof and feel as if you are going back in time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Venere, HostelWorld, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip DaoDao and Otel so you can book your Michael's House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Michael's House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.