We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from Home in Beijing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Michael's House

Save Saved
You added Michael's House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Michael's House
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   South Yard No.1 Zhiqiang North Garden, Haidian District, Beijing 100088, China (Houhai)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% For Advanced Purchase
Ranked #11 of 5,310 hotels in Beijing
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Home away from Home in Beijing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

The service at Michael's House is second to none. The staff, especially Anna, went out of their way to ensure I had the best accommodation experience in the heart of local Beijing. Breakfast is served each morning with a multitude of options & the rooms are well-appointed & clean. We struggled to find a taxi cab who knew the location of Michael's House so it's a good idea to have the address written in Chinese so cab drivers can easily refer to it. I'd recommend this property for families, solo travelers, couples and friends.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    269
    93
    24
    1
    3
See reviews for
83
143
41
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast Queensland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

My daughter and I stayed at Michaels in June this year after reading the reviews on tripadvisor. We were not disappointed. This was an authentic hotel which met all our expectations and more. Michaels is a small "boutique" establishment with exceptionally well appointed rooms that all open onto a covered courtyard. The rooms are well equipped and very comfortable. We had a deluxe room for 2 nights, then moved to the Emperor Suite for another 3 nights and thoroughly enjoyed the experience of both. The staff were welcoming and friendly and could not do enough for us, from organising day trips to a very lovely gesture of a birthday cake (this trip was to celebrate my 60th). We would recommend Michaels House to anyone visiting Beijing wishing to embrace the culture. Many thanks to Sophie, Jenny, Amy and Little, you were wonderful and made our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

Michaels House is very small but very nice hotel. The owners wife is very nice and so is the staff. They are always there to help in anyway they can. Breakfast is served daily and is very good. It is also very inexpensive to send your clothes to dry clean. I really liked this hotel overall.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey-Channel Islands
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Michaels house is a very comfortable boutique hotel with western standards located in a really local Chinese area. A perfect way to experience local life and still have western comforts. The best of both worlds. We were travelling with our adult teenagers and had a twin room and a double. Both rooms were really comfortable, with very comfortable beds, good quality white linen and western bathrooms.
There is no restaurant but Breakfast is included and served from 7.30am to 9am.
It's not in the centre of Beijing, therefore you do need to use the subway or taxi to see the sights or go to the night market and central restaurants. The subway is very close, very easy and only 2Yuan -20p. The taxis are easy to hail on the Main Street or the staff will call one for you. They are very reasonable during the day but much more expensive at night. ( still good value compared to other countries) 22 yuan during day about 70 to 120 yuan at night.

I would recommend Michaels house for those who like their creature comforts but don't like to stay in high rise central hotels and like to experience more of the local area.

Room Tip: All rooms are very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We had two nights in Beijing on our way to another city. We had read reviews of Michael's House being well located and having excellent service, and we were not disappointed. The room was comfortable, breakfast was simple but very good (boiled eggs, fruit, cereal), and the staff set us up for a city tour, and for our airport transfers. Wifi was reliable and reasonably fast.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queanbeyan, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We had the best stay of our trip around China here! A bit hard to find but we rang the hotel and passed the phone onto the taxi guy who was guided in by the lovely "Little" (one of the staff). Greeted at the door like long lost friends, the staff Jenny, Amy, Sophia and Little were fabulous. All speak English and are so helpful and thoughtful, providing whatever assistance we needed, direction, places to eat, umbrellas in event of rain, cups of tea and coffee etc. Michael's house is a courtyard style hotel (hutong) down a small alley, hence nice and quiet at nights sleep. Courtyard area ideal place to unwind in the evening and swap travel tales with other guests. Metro station is a 5 minute walk away and 2Y ( about 50 cents) will get you anywhere you want to go, easy!

Room Tip: Rooms are small but have everything you need with the bonus of the communal courtyard area to sit ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ephrata, Washington, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We stayed at Michael's in May and it was by far the best place we have ever stayed. The place is immaculate, quiet, and they speak excellent english which was a huge help. Our bed was really comfortable. We enjoyed getting beers out of the cooler and playing cribbage in the courtyard. The staff were very friendly. I do not think i will return to China, but if I did I would certainly stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Michael's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Michael's House

Address: South Yard No.1 Zhiqiang North Garden, Haidian District, Beijing 100088, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing > Houhai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Beijing
#19 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#25 Business Hotel in Beijing
#216 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Michael's House 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
enjoying a convenient location,the hotel offers you traditional ambiance and modern facilities with guestrooms to suit all budgets.decorated with a variety of main colours, all rooms have individual styles.enjoy the afternoon tea with your friends under the glass roof and feel as if you are going back in time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Tingo, Ctrip DaoDao, HostelWorld, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotel.de and Venere so you can book your Michael's House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Michael`s House Hotel Beijing
Michaels Hotel Beijing
Beijing Michaels Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Michael's House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.