We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Location But Very Friendly and Helpful Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Michael's House

Save Saved
You added Michael's House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Michael's House
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   South Yard No.1 Zhiqiang North Garden, Haidian District, Beijing 100088, China (Houhai)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% For Advanced Purchase
Ranked #12 of 5,123 hotels in Beijing
Oakland, Florida, United States
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Poor Location But Very Friendly and Helpful Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

The Staff is the best thing about this place. They are so helpful and willing to assist the guest anyway possible. Very friendly and sweet. The rooms are very clean and nicely decorated.
Unfortunately, the location for travel visitors is poor. We stayed in other Hutongs near the Forbidden City and another close to Parks and Temples that allowed us the opportunity to walk around historical and beautiful areas at night and early morning that were so much better. Could see this as a nice business hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael W, Owner at Michael's House, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Nestor L,

Thank you for choosing Michael’s House during your recent trip to Beijing and for sharing your experience with us. I appreciate your positive feedback about our staff, rooms and decorations.
Our hotel is located north west of the city center. Beijing has been the capital city for 600 years, and 6 total circle road lines that represent its imperial dignity surround the city center. We are situated exactly near the 2nd circle road. The Forbidden City and the Olympic Sports Park are both just a 15 minute drive from our location; the Summer Palace is a 25 minute drive from us.
In addition, the nearest subway station, Jishuitan, which is a ten-minute walk from the hotel, will take you to almost any destination in Beijing. The Hutong surrounding our hotel is a unique area, allowing for the experience of a local and authentic Beijing lifestyle. It is regretful that this was not the charming location you had hoped for.
However, I hope that you can thoroughly enjoy and have a fantastic time on your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    267
    93
    24
    1
    3
See reviews for
83
143
41
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We spent five nights in Michael's House in a standard room. We booked months in advance so room rate was EUR 60 per night (20 % discount), which is competitive. The room was very small but the bed and the shower are quiet spacious and clean. It's very convenient that breakfast is served directly in front of the rooms. Breakfast buffet ist very small but ok (choice of fresh fruit). The staff is very helpful an speaks very good English compared to other places in Beijing. The area is nice, supermarket and cheap restaurants around the corner. The only drawback of Michael's House is the location. It is difficult to find by cab (even for the driver they sent to pick us up at the airport) and it's a 15 minutes walk to the next subway line so it will take you at least 35 minutes to Tianamen. We then moved on to other places in Beijing so it was a nice introduction to Beijings hutongs but if I had only a few days in Beijing I would choose a more central place at subway line 1 or 5.

Room Tip: If you don't want to spend all time in bed choose a larger room than the standard room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

This hotel is a real antidote to large impersonal hotels. It's small, comfortable, safe, clean and the English speaking staff are very helpful indeed. It's about 75 metres off from the main street so finding it can be tricky but its worth it. And it's only a 10/15 minutes walk to a subway station, which is great for getting round Beijing( better than taxis as the traffic is horrendous). If you want to experience being in part of traditional Beijing yet also want to enjoy a good quality hotel where the staff really try hard to help, then this hotel fits the bill.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

I had only three days trip with my girlfriend in Beijing.we stayed michael's house because the reviews and recommend on tripadvisor. it is a very cozy yard.but the taxi driver spent a lot of time to find .Our room is a little small but very clean.the stuff are helpful ,especial sophia .they can speak good english and they were very helpful to help us.such book the tour, show the way and recommend some good local food for us. we will come back if we decide come to Beijing again and we will recommend it to our friend.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We have stayed in Michael's during our 2-days trip to Beijing. It is very small and quiet place in Beijing's hutong. It's located on the small street, so you will need to walk for 20-30 meters from the main road.
They have just few cozy rooms, which are very clean, well maintained and have a nice touch of old China. You feel yourself like at home.
Hotel staff was very helpful in the organizing our trips and ensuring that we feel comfortable. Despite our very late arrival (after 9 PM), they made the final check with us on the agenda and helped to accommodate last minute changes. They also brought some water for our next day trip and showed us where we can have late dinner.
There are few local restaurants and shops, which sell good selection of fresh fruits, nearby.
If you decide to book your tours through hotel, please ensure that you have enough cash to pay to the tour guides, as hotel do not free cash and tour guides do not accept credit cards.
Only one downside of this place is very small selection of food during the breakfast. It can be understandable as they do not have so many guests, but i believe that adding some fruits to the coffee, cookies, bacon, sausages and scrambled eggs will make it much more better.
In overall, i would recommend to stay here if you looking for nice, quiet place to sleep during your trip, but do not plan to spend much time during the day in the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Overwhelmingly friendly staff made us feel welcome the moment we wandered in. Though we arrived early by any standard, they happily arranged the rooms for us. Travelling with the whole family, we had both a double room and a suite, which both proved to be nice and functional. Realizing that the rooms were located around the courtyard that was also meant for hotel quests for hang around relaxing, I had my doubts about the sleep quality. Fortunately, and due to the limited amount of rooms - and number of quests - there was not any kind of noise problem during our stay. The great thing about the location and adjacent environment is that it is genuine Beijing, real people living here with street markets and restaurants popping up every night. This doesn't happen when living in modern/western style parts of the city. If you like walking, the location is perfect. You can get to the beautiful HouHai and Qian Hai lakes in a matter of minutes.

One of the downsides of the location is that unless you are very lucky, you'll have to walk 500 meters to a busier street in order to get a taxi. Calling a taxi is not a real option in Beijing and these days taxis can be annoyingly choosy - especially with tourists. Jishuitan metro station is not that far and it is always interesting walking through the hutongs. The breakfast is quite primitive and same every morning, so I would not put much weight on that as a criteria.

We would definitely consider Michael's House again. We also stayed in a posh downtown 4 star hotel during the same visit and everyone of us voted for Michael's House as a winner.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We had a tremendous week in Beijing and this was enhanced greatly by the service and quality accommodation at Michael's house guesthouse. The rooms were comfortable and quiet, the breakfast very good, the overall ambience very relaxing and welcoming, but more than anything, the staff were wonderful. They were helpful, polite, friendly and very good at their job with advising and organising trips. They made our stay a delight. Location also superb in our opinion. 10 min walk from metro station (which works great) and also felt very safe walking back at night (in fact, felt safe in all Beijing). Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Restaurant and pool #n/a
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Michael's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Michael's House

Address: South Yard No.1 Zhiqiang North Garden, Haidian District, Beijing 100088, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing > Houhai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Beijing
#17 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#22 Business Hotel in Beijing
#224 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Michael's House 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
enjoying a convenient location,the hotel offers you traditional ambiance and modern facilities with guestrooms to suit all budgets.decorated with a variety of main colours, all rooms have individual styles.enjoy the afternoon tea with your friends under the glass roof and feel as if you are going back in time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Ctrip DaoDao, HostelWorld and Venere so you can book your Michael's House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Michael`s House Hotel Beijing
Michaels Hotel Beijing
Beijing Michaels Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Michael's House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.