We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tilda Swinton has stayed here and I bet she loved it as well!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Michael's House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Michael's House to your Saves list
Michael's House
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   South Yard No.1 Zhiqiang North Garden, Haidian District, Beijing 100088, China (Houhai)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% For Advanced Purchase
Ranked #13 of 5,457 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Tilda Swinton has stayed here and I bet she loved it as well!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

When we first pulled up at Michael's House after 15hrs travelling you are a bit dubious as from outside it's not that great! But then you get in and it's lovely.

Warm, friendly, cosy, great staff - Sophie and Amy. This was my first trip to China and it the nicest thing turning up to such welcoming people!

The rooms are really well done. They make the most of the space and look lovely. Plus spotless with good showers. We had TV problems but that was nothing to do with the hotel. Usually we were able to get English channels easily.

As with all courtyard hotels the rooms come straight off them. It's more of a ski chalet feel where if you want you can be social. The place felt really secure. I was in a room on my own and didn't at anytime feel concerned. There is someone on the desk 24hrs.

I stayed here on and off over 10 days and travelled around China using it as my base coming back every few days for a couple of nights. The staff let us leave our luggage there which was great. They also sorted taxis, translated flight information, wrote instructions for take out soup as one of our party was ill! They really are great.

Once you've stayed in other courtyards / hotels in china, you realise just how warm, how comfy the beds are and how relaxing the place is. It was freak -12 conditions in Beijing when we went and would have never known (believe me you did at other places!)

And randomly, Tilda Swinton stayed there!

Room Tip: If you're having a double get the room by the office as it's set back from the Courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    99
    25
    1
    3
See reviews for
87
157
43
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We spent our firstz 4 days of our China-trip in Beijing and we are thankfull that we did chose Michael's House to spend the nights.
We enjoyed the contact with the friendly & very helpfull staff. We had a real good time at Michael's House =:O).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed at michaels over the new year period. This place is great. The thing that really makes michaels stand out is the service. The staff here are great, nothing is a problem. On new years eve they had organised a party with food and drinks before we headed out. We really did enjoy our time here....but....the television would not work in our room. We asked to move rooms. The television in the new room also didn't work. Very annoying. But all in all this is a great place to stay! The subway is a 5-10 minute walk. There are plenty of places to eat close by, and some the food from the street stalls at night is really good. Thanks to all the staff for making our stay in Beijing a very memorable experience!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

My family of four stayed here for five nights up to Christmas morning. Michael's House is a house that was converted into a hotel, in a hutong area of Beijing. What really makes Michael's great is their staff. Amy and Sofie were incredibly helpful. We also had the good fortune of meeting Michael's wife Joanna. The staff even organized a Christmas party on Christmas Eve, and gave each of my family a gift. I cannot say enough good things about the team here. There are several restaurants within a 5-10 min walk from the hotel that have menus in English. Additionally, there is a shopping mall and a Wu Mart about 10-15 minutes walking distance from the hotel. The breakfasts are great, and the wifi is good, and the atmosphere of the enclosed courtyard area is super. We would definitely stay again.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
China
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

We stayed at Michael's house for 5 nights with our 2 children in December. A little difficult to find for taxis but great little place. Although it was very cold outside (about -10 at night), the room was very warm, clean and cosy. The staff is extremely helpful. Central yard is pleasant if you want to read and be out of your room, would be even better if people weren't not allowed to smoke in there.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

We were holidaying for five days before Christmas with two young kids, so looking for something friendly, hassle- free and simple. Michael's House fits the bill perfectly. Extremely friendly and helpful staff were able to arrange pretty much anything we needed. Minor gripes - location is not great. Takes a while to get a taxi. That said, the metro is only a fifteen minute walk away - but at the end of a Long day with youngsters, this can seem a lot. Also breakfast was decidedly average. Small concerns for which the overall ambiance and quaintness of the place more than compensates.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

I recently stayed at Micheals house for 8 nights with my wife, 9 year old son, and 11 year old daughter. Here is what we thought:
Staff: First and foremost everything you read on Trip Advisor about the service/staff is right on the money – they absolutely go above and beyond for you. Not only were they all very warm and friendly, but they set up my Great Wall trip with a private driver way cheaper than I could have, they went out and bought my train tickets to Shanghai for me, they recommended great restaurants, told me how to negotiate the Subway, even gave my kids chopstick lessons and played games with them. ( My kids were so sad when we had to leave!!) Amy and Sophie are absolute superstars and they made our trip fun and memorable.
Location: We have done a fair amount of traveling and use trip advisor quite often to check places out before going. Even though Michaels House was not quite the location we were looking for we booked our stay here based on the reviews and the traveler’s choice award, and we are so happy that we did! Michael’s House was Exactly what we wanted- this is not a touristy area full of western restaurants and chain hotels – you are staying in a working class Beijing neighborhood complete with street vendors, local businesses and all the charm it has to offer. If you want to get a real experience of life in Beijing, this is your place.
Other: Price was a value; breakfast was fresh and tasty with a good amount of variety. Rooms were clean, neat, everything worked. Very satisfied, we will be back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Michael's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Michael's House

Address: South Yard No.1 Zhiqiang North Garden, Haidian District, Beijing 100088, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing > Houhai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Beijing
#18 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#32 Business Hotel in Beijing
#194 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Michael's House 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
enjoying a convenient location,the hotel offers you traditional ambiance and modern facilities with guestrooms to suit all budgets.decorated with a variety of main colours, all rooms have individual styles.enjoy the afternoon tea with your friends under the glass roof and feel as if you are going back in time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Michael's House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Michael`s House Hotel Beijing
Michaels Hotel Beijing
Beijing Michaels Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Michael's House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.