We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Calm in the city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Michael's House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Michael's House to your Saves list
Michael's House
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   South Yard No.1 Zhiqiang North Garden, Haidian District, Beijing 100088, China (Houhai)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Airport Transfer
Ranked #15 of 5,463 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Calm in the city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

My second stay at Michaels House in the last 2 months, it's location may not be quite as close to central Beijing as the Hutong Courtyard hotels but it has such a peaceful and relaxing atmosphere it's worth paying for a few short Taxi journeys to get to the must see tourist attracions in central Beijing. Staff are great, rooms are generous sizes & spotless. Breakfast is good, perhaps the only area they fall down in is the lack of a reastaurant but that said within 5 minutes you can walk to local eateries both Chinese and Western. I plan to stay again next time I'm passing through Beijing.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    104
    25
    1
    3
See reviews for
88
161
47
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Stayed 5 days at Michael's and it was great.
The room was big enough for us, good amenities and nice breakfast all of that for a bargain.
Mostly it was the staff who did it for us. We didn't spoke a word of chinese so having english speaking staff was a must, they helped us so much with everything even how to avoid scams.
This place is great, it has a nice atmosphere and they made our stay pleasant and easy.
I know I'll go back there next time in Beijing.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

The staff at Micheal's house went above and beyond! They let leave our bags for 2 nights while we traveled via train to Xian, let us use the staff shower before we left and checked us in early with free upgrade when we returned from Xian (ready for a real bed and shower).

Amy is amazing. She and I exchanged about 12 emails and helped me book when Hotels.com showed they were sold out, she booked overnight trains for 4 people both ways, and then bought our Arocbatic Show tickets.

They put out the wonderful breakfast early for us the day we left for the wall and answered all our questions with a smile. Micheals House really felt like home, so clean, comfotable and cozy home like atmosphere. We hated leaving!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

My sister and I stayed for three nights in a standard room, that was bright and clean, with supremely comfortable beds. We were greeted warmly by two of the young, intelligent girls who act as hostesses. They all have good English skills, are eager to assist in any way necessary, and do so with care. We were "high maintenance" guests, and they responded to our many needs (use of their computer, extra water, phone calls, help with taxis, meals, advice, and other sundry requests) with good grace and intelligence. We were happy with our stay and thrilled with the excellent service! We highly recommend Michael's Place! (The owner's wife was there, a lovely helpful woman who went out of her way to accommodate us, even driving us to a local restaurant and facilitating service from a non-English speaking waitress. We appreciated this and other courtesies willingly extended to us.)

Room Tip: The standard room we were in was ideal for us, as it was close to the courtyard, front desk and brea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Michael's house wasn't only clean, beautiful, and comfortable, but had the most friendly and helpful staff I have ever experienced during my stay at a hotel.

Upon our arrival we were welcomed warmly. The staff at Michael’s gave us a city map, as well as recommendations based on what we were in the mood for, whether it was food, entertainment, or relaxation. One lazy evening they arranged for food to be delivered to the hotel for us, and to my amazement they went the extra length to prepare the takeout food for us in the foyer as a three-course meal on their own dining ware for our enjoyment. Another night one of the staff overheard me saying I wanted to find a late nightspot for a drink, and took the time to walk me to a place I'd have never found before after her shift. I really felt at home here, and would highly recommend it to anyone, but especially those who a new to the area and not well versed in Chinese.

Location, atmosphere, and professionalism are all top notch at this hotel. The only regret I have for my trip to Beijing is that I could not Stay longer at this hotel. Thanks Michael’s House!

Room Tip: The standard double bed room is perfect for the lone traveler. However, if traveling with loved ones...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

I stayed at Michael's for three nights with my 8 year old daughter. While the room was a little small, that is the only negative thing I have to say. The staff were wonderful and beyond my wildest expectations - warm and generous with my daughter. She really felt she was with friends. The lobby, which was an old refurbished courtyard with many of the rooms off it, was comfortable and inviting. We wrote in our journals there. The location, off an alley, was a little bit of adventure. Great street food down the alley and loads of character. If you prefer everything to be standard and consistent, don't stay here. But if you want to go to a place that shows you a Beijing neighborhood, and if something a bit different is preferred, then this is a wonderful choice. Highly recommended for families.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

This little place just was not for us When we arrived we were put in the smallest room you could imagine with the breakfast bar and lounge right on the front door so we had to keep the door shut and curtains closed. Eventually we were put into quite a comfortable room at a huge upgrade price making it the most expensive place we stayed in China and they were 5 star The one and only plus was the wonderfull young staff. The lovely Li Xuefei (Sophi) was a wonderfull help and great company aided by Amy and the other girls. They were the highlight of our stay there and I would not say to anyone not to stay there as some people dont mind being in such a confined area and the fantastic staff made it liveable

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Michael's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Michael's House

Address: South Yard No.1 Zhiqiang North Garden, Haidian District, Beijing 100088, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing > Houhai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Beijing
#19 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#36 Business Hotel in Beijing
#192 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Michael's House 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
enjoying a convenient location,the hotel offers you traditional ambiance and modern facilities with guestrooms to suit all budgets.decorated with a variety of main colours, all rooms have individual styles.enjoy the afternoon tea with your friends under the glass roof and feel as if you are going back in time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA and HostelWorld so you can book your Michael's House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Michael`s House Hotel Beijing
Michaels Hotel Beijing
Beijing Michaels Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Michael's House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.