We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Michael's Hotel - really friendly place in Beijing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Michael's House

Save Saved
You added Michael's House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Michael's House
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   South Yard No.1 Zhiqiang North Garden, Haidian District, Beijing 100088, China (Houhai)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% For Advanced Purchase
Ranked #12 of 5,124 hotels in Beijing
Amersham
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Michael's Hotel - really friendly place in Beijing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

We spent 5 days at Michaels Hotel and really enjoyed it. It's a friendly place in a fairly traditional area of Beijing so you will see something closer to "the real thing" than you would see in a city centre mega-hotel.
Our first impression was that it was rather dark: traditional rooms don't have much in the way of external windows but that must make them cool in the summer. We soon got used to it and the central courtyard is a pleasant place to sit and meet other guests.
The girls on reception were very helpful with information, booking trips, etc.
The in-room computer worked well, wi-fi was good in the central area. The tv was good quality though the satellite box took some working out!
The bed was really comfortable (we had the Emperor Room) and the bathroom, was clean and everything worked.
If you want lots of western-style restaurants nearby it might not be for you but we enjoyed the adventure of finding food locally including eating at street vendors stalls.
Our only disappointment was with our trip to The Wall where we felt that the guide was more concerned to get us to it and back to the hotel with the minimum of cost and inconvenience to her and the driver (and then asked for a tip at the end), however, whilst it was booked by Michael's, that was not their fault.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    268
    93
    24
    1
    3
See reviews for
83
143
41
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maui, Hawaii
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

We stayed here for one Month, with a five year old child, and loved it!

small inn, a little boutique, with great staff. very personal. comfortable beds-not easy to find in China. the best part-lovely, comfortable, covered courtyard! like an extension of your living room. it's Really hard to find nice, clean, cozy hangouts in beijing. at this inn, you've got it everyday!

breakfast-western, filling. my husband would eat a hardy breakfast and not be hungry for lunch.
area around the inn-many street food and budget friendly, authentic, non touristy restaurant
options.

we mainly used public transportation. taxis-not hard to get just down the street. for tours/drivers-i would use the ones highly recommended by tripdvisor. the inn contacted China International Travel Service for us to visit the great wall. it took 30minutes of arguing with the driver and guide to convince them we re not, absolutely not, interested in "cultural tours" to comissioned shops
:(

The staff was very helpful and knowlegable. DeDe became a good friend for our daughter and made us feel at home. Michael went out of his way to help us find and enroll our daughter in a Kindergarden. This was a very personal, pleasant and comfortable stay.

For comfort, atmosphere, and price- Michael's house is #1!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzhou, China
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

Back in 2000, Michael's House was my dream, when our family almost moved into a Hutong ourselves. However, Michael's House is much better than I envisioned. He created a weather proof covering for his courtyard, which manages to keep inclement weather and pollution (including noise) out.

My husband and I rendezvoused here and it was exactly what we were looking for...a little of "old China" and away from the gaudy, same-o/same-o hotel chains. Our expectations were fully met at Michaels.

Michaels is in a typical Beijing neighborhood just south of Beijing Normal University (which specializes in training teachers- very well known and well established university). Our taxi driver groused over the location (try and make a copy of the map from the website before you come, or have a cell phone handy to get directions)

Stepping through the lovely double Chinese doors, you enter an enchanting "other world" experience. The goldfish pond and fountain creates a tranquil environment from the bustle of Beijing. The sumptuous courtyard is lined with rooms of varying appointments...one cheap dormitory style room, one "emperor's suite" and the rest incredibly affordable in this over-priced city. All the rooms are decorated in Chinese style with comfortable beds and stylish decorations. The electric water pot is even in a Chinese design.

We particularly enjoyed our sweet helpers, one who seemed sad all the time, but Sally was a delightful and encouraging presence. She made us feel at home.

The breakfast did have eggs and bacon, but we would have appreciated a few more known fruits. The establishment was particularly accommodating when some guests came in late from the train and extended the breakfast hour for them.

All in All, this is a Five rating for the right people who want this kind of experience. If you aren't that interested in a local experience, you might rank it a 4, but we give it a 5 for the whole package.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

++ pretty little hotel. clean, attractive rooms. wired and wireless internet. good breakfast for the price. interesting local area outside the hotel. very friendly, helpful staff

-- 10-15 mins walk to the subway. 1 staff member seems unsuited to front desk work as not friendly or helpful.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seanwang2004au, Owner at Michael's House, responded to this review, March 27, 2012
Dear guest

Thank you for your recent stay and reviewing on the tripadvisor. We appreciated the positive comments in your review and also noted the deficiencies in services. We will enhance staff training and on duty supervision to improve the quality of our services.

Once again, thank you for the feedback and we do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Best Regards

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

As mentioned in other reviews, the house is located in what seems like an alleyway. The taxi driver passed the house at first but once you find it you won't pass it by again. It is located in a neighborhood where food is sold on the street and you get a glimpse of everyday life. Stepping into the house was very welcoming and warm, especially on a cold day. We were upgraded to a larger room and welcomed the extra room. We had a tour arranged to the Great Wall. It was a reasonable experience with 16 people in a van and not a lot of commentary. It was easy to walk to the subway and easy to use the subway system. Breakfast was good and adequate. One morning they gave us a call about breakfast. There were nice small personal touches to make our trip enjoyable.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

Michael's House is located in a "real" neighborhood - older, crowded - not at all the modern Beijing look and feel. We found access to subway very convenient. Youthful travelers all about - there's a hostel next door.The covered courtyard is charming and unique. People tend to gather there and talk. Nice selection of reading materials. Our room was small, especially the bathroom, but adequate. Bed was against the wall on the right side, but fairly comfortable. Staff is "uneven." Some are excellent (Deday?) and others not so friendly. Unfortunately, there is a computer on the small reception desk, and staff seemed pretty obsessed with it so you feel a bit like you are bothering them. Breakfast is just okay. Packaged sliced bread is left uncovered, and some mornings was hard. Peanut butter and jelly are available! Eggs, bacon, sausage are in a warmer that doesn't warm much. No yogurt which most other Asian hotels serve. There's one computer to share (usually available) and wi-fi in the room. There's an excellent Schezuan restaurant just a short walk away.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seanwang2004au, Owner at Michael's House, responded to this review, March 27, 2012
Dear guest

Thank you for your recent stay and reviewing on the tripadvisor. I was pleased to read that our receptionist Dede has done an excellent job and you enjoyed your stay with us. I also noted that there were problems in our services. We will enhance staff training and the management of the preparation procedure of the breakfast to improve our service qualities.

Thank you again for sharing your precious comments and we look forward to meeting you in the future.

Best Regards

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

This is my second visit to Michael's. Although it's further from the Beijing old town and sites than many of the cookie-cutter, corporate hotels, it is worth the extra effort of subway & taxi. The neighborhood gives visitors a sense of a the real China - the street food, the morning routines of the locals, and children coming home from school in the late afternoon. The rooms are charming and comfortable. Fresh linens, towels, slippers, and robes. It's the cozy courtyard area and stellar service of the staff that makes Michael's House deserving of the highest rating possible. They go out of their way to accomodate you, guide you, and answer the plethora of questions you throw their way. Our group arrived at 9:45am after arriving by over night train from Shanghai (and waiting in a taxi line from Beijing Station for over an hour). Even though we couldn't officially check in to our rooms yet and breakfast was officially over at 9:30am, the staff offered to extend breakfast for us and made us two pots of fresh coffee. This little action went a long way to making us feel welcome.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Michael's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Michael's House

Address: South Yard No.1 Zhiqiang North Garden, Haidian District, Beijing 100088, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing > Houhai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Beijing
#17 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#22 Business Hotel in Beijing
#224 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Michael's House 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
enjoying a convenient location,the hotel offers you traditional ambiance and modern facilities with guestrooms to suit all budgets.decorated with a variety of main colours, all rooms have individual styles.enjoy the afternoon tea with your friends under the glass roof and feel as if you are going back in time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld, Ctrip DaoDao and Venere so you can book your Michael's House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Michael`s House Hotel Beijing
Michaels Hotel Beijing
Beijing Michaels Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Michael's House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.