We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great clean hotel in good location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kaichuang Golden Street Business Hotel

Save Saved
You added Kaichuang Golden Street Business Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kaichuang Golden Street Business Hotel
No.32 Baishu Hutong,Tongcheng District, Beijing 100006, China (Tian'anmen / Wangfujing)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,567 of 5,111 hotels in Beijing
Varanasi, India
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great clean hotel in good location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We were on a tour while staying there so not sure how much our room was, but looking at the reception should have been around £100 mark.
Large clean rooms with modern bathrooms, good wifi signal in the room, great location for local shopping mall, restaurants and large market near by.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    18
    15
    7
    1
See reviews for
2
5
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Greymouth, New Zealand
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Reasonable hotel, well located, but very poor service.
English language skills of reception staff is very limited.
Had a problem with our towels.
They accused us of "making the towels dirty" - My wife got a bit of makeup on one towel.
They also initially refused to change our towels the day of our last night in Beijing.
They tried to get Yuan 170 from us to pay for a new set of towels.
I couldn't recommend this hotel to non english speaking visitors

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Good location for subway and therefore access to main tourist sites of Beijing. Bakeries, for breakfast, within walking distance. Rooms fine, but nothing fancy. Overall, a suitable place for visiting Beijing.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Again, location! The hotel is not too bad. I had a good room but not clean at all. There is no service - first of all: they don't speak English or any other language, so... Location is its great gift. it is really near the Dengshikou Metro station on Baishu Hutong. Full of restaurants nearby; just two or three blocks from Donghuamen night market and with the historical St. Joseph's Catholic Church literally on the corner... again, location.
Ps: avoid the hotel's breakfast. You will find something better at Weiduomei Cake Shop on Dengshikou Street. Go to this place. You won't regret.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newfoundland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I recently stayed here while on an Intrepid tour and was really dreading it because of the bad reviews but I have to say it is an entirely adequate hotel. No, the staff doesn't speak English but not that many people do in Beijing based on my experience. The room was spacious and clean. It is nothing fancy but is certainly not a bad choice and is in a great location. It is a little dingy but if you get a decent rate go for it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

The reception desk is manned by decently rude people, at any time of day. They were not helpful, didn't explain the reasoning behind their actions, and generally made the experience worse. When we asked them if they could call a restaurant to make a booking, as our ability to speak Mandarin is not great, they rung up the restaurant, then pushed the phone at us, saying "You speak." The reason we asked you to call was because you can speak Mandarin better than us? Why ask us to speak?

The rooms themselves were quite small, and the bathroom was a bit neglected, showing signs of wear and age, and grime among the grout. There is a media display computer attached to the TV, that lights up blue and makes a really loud whirring noise all night, if you don't figure out how to turn it off. The free Internet was somewhat unstable, cutting out unexpectedly. The rooms are too hot, and the air conditioning doesn't work well to make it cooler, so often I would sleep with the window open, on -7˚C winter nights.

The Hotel itself is quite difficult to get to, and most locals didn't seem to realise there was a Hotel on this street. The street is a very cramped street, not a main street at all, but it is fairly close to shopping centres (5-10 minute walk.)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

I swore that I'd create a trip advisor account and review this hotel during my stay in it. I've left it three months in the hope I could be more charitable but it hasn't happened. I've been travelling the world for the best part of 30 years, I've stayed in no star to five star in all manner of developing and developed countries and I have to say, that this is actually the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. The location is great, but for everything else, you'd be much better off staying anywhere else.

The staff can barely speak English but the moment there's a problem they speak no english at all. The first room they put me in had leaking sewerage in the bathroom and not only smelt terrible but was so damp it was beyond unpleasant.. and they refused to move me for two nights. Finally on the last night they did and the room was ok.

I never got the internet to work through the tv, and there was no wifi in the rooms. The breakfast area was never lit (supposed for eco reasons.. yeah right) and I asked them to book a trip to see the kung fu show and the guide they used not only wasn't accredited and so couldn't actually buy the ticket but had to ring someone she knew to turn up to buy it for her whilst keeping me standing out the front for over half an hour but after finally getting me a ticket, then they weren't waiting to take me back to the hotel when the show ended, so I was stuck somewhere that I didn't know with no idea how to get back to the hotel.. and I waited for about half an hour for them to turn up and the theatre turned the lights off so I was standing outside on a darkened street. I did finally get back to the hotel and complained and no one spoke enough english to be able to understand what I was saying, and the woman who was their tour booker and booked the trip for me somehow didn't come back into work for all the remaining days I was there.

All up, this hotel is one that should be avoided. There's much better out there.

Room Tip: find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kaichuang Golden Street Business Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaichuang Golden Street Business Hotel

Address: No.32 Baishu Hutong,Tongcheng District, Beijing 100006, China
Location: China > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,567 of 5,111 hotels in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip DaoDao, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Kaichuang Golden Street Business Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kaichuang Golden Street Business Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.