We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fun, good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Haidilao Hot Pot(Mudanyuan)

Haidilao Hot Pot(Mudanyuan)
No.2 Huayuan East Road, Haidian District, Beijing, China (Asian Games Village)
010-62033112
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 9,462 Restaurants in Beijing
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Chinese Hotpot
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: Asian Games Village
Ennis, Ireland
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great fun, good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

This was our first time trying hot pot and this restaurant made it a great experience. The staff where very helpful even though they did not speak English, and showed us exactly what to do. The meat was good quality and overall it was very tasty. Not a special dinner venue but certainly worth a try if you are around for a while or just for a new eating experience, I don't think you will be disappointed.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    70
    9
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere!! Great meal!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Dined here with friends and we had a great time. The atmosphere in this restaurant is vibrant, busy and friendly. The service is superb. We waited for about an hour and half, but we did not feel it because we were given lots of snacks and games to play. Our games were so much fun that time flew. I think people come here for everything – the snacks, games, manicure, and the delicious food. The food is fresh and delicious. I will come back when I visit Beijing again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“High Quality Meats, Small Rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

MAKE A RESERVATION A WEEK IN ADVANCE!
This place will become packed for the dinner rush and without a reservation, you could end up waiting for a long while.

We booked a week early for a VIP birthday dinner for me, the total after 3 servings of Mongonlian Lamb, 2 Beef, Countless Fish and Shrimp, Vegetables, Mushrooms, beef and mutton and 3 differnt hot pot soups for 13 people came to 892 Yuan. They also gave us a noodle making show which was entertaining and the room had a HAPPY BIRTHDAY sign. The service was friendly and very fast. They waiters were full of smiles and quick to respond to us.

The food itself was worth the value, normally beef shanks can be dry and the soups too oily. Not at this place! Granted this isn't your 40 USD a slice hot pot, this is your 40 YUAN hot pot place.
Expensive for Chinese people, okay for the causal tourist.

Con- Rooms are small, and wih 13 people we were still bumping into eachother, but wellfed guests do not mind!

It is also close to line 10 and right across from the bus station for MuDanYuan North. (MuDanYuan Bei)

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good for first time hot potters”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

This was the first time we tried hot pot and we will probably do it again. The staff was very helpful, knew a bit English and assisted us when we (obviously) didn't know how to properly do everything.
Tip: don't order too much. Order more by hand instead. 4 dishes plus vegetables in enough for two persons. One dish is approx Y30 to Y50.
Trip Advisor might have the wrong location. This is a chain of restaurants, so there are several in Beijing. We went to the one on 88 Wang Fu Jing Da Jie in Dong Cheng. It's on the eighth floor in a mall.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Good meal.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We had a large group (25 people) and it took forever to get our table. Apart from that, the meal was great. Good food, lots of food and cheap. Came up to U$300 for the entire party, meal and beers included. It wasn't a traditional Beijing style hotpot, but our group (all Canadians) loved it. Good selection of dipping sauces. Staff does not speak any English but we somehow managed! Closeby (walking distance) to Sanlitun bar area.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Haidilao Hot Pot(Mudanyuan) also viewed

Beijing, Beijing Region
Beijing, Beijing Region
 

Been to Haidilao Hot Pot(Mudanyuan)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Haidilao Hot Pot(Mudanyuan), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.