We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All we could have hoped for” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Beijing Minzuyuan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Beijing Minzuyuan to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Beijing Minzuyuan
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Building1, No.1 Minzuyuan Road, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100101, China (Asian Games Village)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #284 of 5,424 Hotels in Beijing
4.0 of 5 stars 326 Reviews
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“All we could have hoped for”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

This is a terrific hotel in a great location and fantastic value. The rooms are well-appointed, though aging a quickly, probably due to the environment and humidity. It's right at the junction of two subway lines, which is a fantastic convenience, while also being within easy walking distance of the Olympic Park. There's a decent selection of restaurants nearby, a shopping center, an upscale tea house, and a wonderful Cultural Park. The breakfast has something for everyone, with a beautiful patio overlooking the Cultural Park -- often the most serene and relaxing moment of the day! However, it was quite difficult to locate the hotel -- it is located down the driveway of the China Town Shopping Center, and there is no sign on Minzuyuan Road, so our taxi driver was very confused (compounding the difficulty of not speaking Chinese). The other problem is that many of the staff barely speak English, though this is probably the case at most hotels. This was one of the quietest hotels I've been in, though that depends a lot on the other guests, but I was amazed at how quiet the rooms are. There were almost no children.

Room Tip: Look for the ornate gateway to the shopping center at the given address and go down that driveway (t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    174
    80
    16
    7
See reviews for
41
24
24
81
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

I have just returned from a 7 night stay here whilst attending a conference at the CNCC between 17th-21st Sept. The hotel offered special rates associated with the conference (breakfast included) so I cannot comment on the value for money as this was no doubt a special deal. You did have the option of paying more for a 'room with a view' which I did not opt for. The room facing the inner court do suffer from an 'echo effect' as the middle of the hotel is a hollow shaft (see photos on this site). Upon arrival there was some confusion due to new staff and poor english. They tried to make me leave a 1000 RMB deposit for possible laundry charges, whereas a colleague checking in next to me wasn't asked for any such deposit. As this would have used up what I had just converted at the airport they then tried to drop it to 700RMB. I wasn't impressed so flatly refused to leave any deposit as I had already paid for the room with my credit card months beforehand. Apart from this the stay was satisfactory. The breakfast buffet was adequate (both western and Asian choices) with a nice outside area to eat it. The room was clean with a great shower cubicle. Free water and coffee in the room (although no fridge). I should warn buisness travellers that you shouldn't expect a fast connection to download files at speed once there as the server does become overloaded at times but you can e-mail, etc. (High-speed china is not High-speed Europe). Easy access to the metro line and for getting around Beijing.

Room Tip: Maybe pay for a room facing the city if you have the budget
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

hideous!
i arrived late at night. the doors were locked and we spent 30-40 secs trying to get them to open the doors. At reception, not once did they look me in the eye during the check in proceedure. No-one offered to help with luggage.
our room was a non smoking room with an ashtray, and a sign telling us not to smoke in bed. It stank. the carpet was dirty, the bath tiles broken and the bedsheets torn. the breakfast was inedible - apart from the jam, and the coffee....
english is not well spoken. i did not try writing so my accent may (possibly) be to blame.

Oh, and not to mention the view.... take a look......

i left exactly 9 hours after arrival, and moved to a lovely hotel not so far away...
my reaction: dont even waste your time..................

Room Tip: Dont chose this hotel........
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

I stayed at the Holiday Inn Express Minzuyuan for three days. As others have said, they have their pluses and minues, though my view is that there are enough minuses to suggest they could readily make the experience more pleasant, and if not, other options might be better. Looking over the other reviews, as noted, they do have a few English channels (CNN, a movie, and ESPN), and their breakfast is about the same each day, and is one of the less extensive breakfast buffets that I have typically experienced in Beijing, but, again, adequate and what they have is generally good. On the other hand, things like the yogurt seemed to run out (or just come out slowly, and the toast took forever). Little things, but they add up.

The room was quite nice. Clean, comfortable, relatively large, though the TV was a bit fuzzy. The window had a nice view, though that also let in the sounds of various activities outside, which seemed to go until about 1:30 am weekday nights.

Now some of the things on which they seem to miss the boat:

1. The key cards did not work that well, and were quirky. After getting one that worked, it was sensitive to how long you left it in the slot.
2. The elevator are incredibly slow.
3. And now likely my biggest complaint: They charge for printing out boarding passes, and it is incredibly time consuming to use their computers to do so. I gave up from doing it on their computer, so went upstairs and did it on the internet (on the positive, their wired internet is fast... though the wireless was bad). For a Hol. Inn Express to charge for printing boarding passes was a bit shocking.
4. Not as many dining options very near by as other hotels (but there is a McDonalds if that is your cup of tea).

Overall, it was a fine stay, but I have done better (and worse) in Beijing. On the other hand, if you are staying here, it will be comfortable. Oh... in contrast to others, I foud that communicating with the staff (e.g., at the desk) was not a problem.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

I stayed for two 5-night blocks separated by a few days (R&R elsewhere). My first room was perfectly okay, though with a view of a grim concrete light well, and no in-room safe. Reasonable internet speed (free in-room), free bottled water and in-room tea/coffee, couple of English TV channels (including CNN & HBO), decent buffet breakfast, and handily located for the Olympic park (30-minute walk, or short metro or taxi ride). Central Beijing easily reached by metro, with a station just round the corner. My second room (at the same rate) was much bigger, had an in-room safe, and a better - though not good! view over town.

Tucked away down an unprepossessing alley, this place was obviously built for the 2008 Olympics, and though not now an obvious choice as a base to explore Beijing it's perfectly functional for a few nights stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

We stayed at Holiday Inn Minzuyuan for almost five days. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Upon arrival at the hotel they provided us a small room which was small for a family of three (2 adults & 1 kid). I simply went to the front desk and requested if we could be transfered to a bigger room. No questions asked, we were immediately transfered to a much bigger room at no additional cost. With comfortable, big & clean beds. Staff know little english but thats common in Beijing but are very polite.

Hotel has self laundry service with very minimal rate. Rooms has wifi, lcd TV, bottled water provided daily. Exellent buffet breakast only problem is in our five day stay the food was the same. With a balcony with a small lake, excellent spot for having breakfast or relaxing at night after a long day of tour.

Near train station approx 10 mins walk away, just around the corner is a grocery to buy your daily needs, mcdonalds and local restaurant also near so you wont't get hungry. Approx 2 kms away is the Olympic Stadium you can walk from your hotel to the stadium.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Beijing Minzuyuan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Beijing Minzuyuan

Address: Building1, No.1 Minzuyuan Road, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100101, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing > Asian Games Village
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#162 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Beijing Minzuyuan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 418
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Beijing Zhongguancun is located in the heart of bustling Zhongguancun, Often referred to as China's Silicon Valley.The hotel neighbors a number of multi-national enterprises,scientific institution, art galleries and renowned universities.The Beijing subway is 5 minutes walk from the hotel, only ten-minutes drive from Shangdi Hi-tech;while Beijing International Airport is 40 minutes drive by car.Just a short distance away stands the majestic sights of Yuanmingyuan Ruins Park and the Summer Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Beijing Minzuyuan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Beijing Minzuyuan Hotel Beijing
Beijing Holiday Inn Express

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Beijing Minzuyuan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.