We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for locals and foreigners alike” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gehua New Century Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Gehua New Century Hotel to your Saves list
Gehua New Century Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.19 Gulouwai Main Street, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100120, China (Anzhen)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #106 of 5,423 Hotels in Beijing
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great place for locals and foreigners alike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great hotel which lives up to its high quality exterior.
One of the most comfortable hotel beds I have ever slept in, and an excellent choice of pillows. Very friendly hotel staff who cant do enough for you despite some having a language barrier.
Great bathroom and room size and excellent ammeneties.
Well worth a stay!

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    101
    20
    2
    1
See reviews for
2
3
2
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2014

Super room with study area and enormous bath/shower room. Great service from staff when we encountered a problem with the room safe. Magnificent lobby area. First floor has an impressive tea area. Good buffet breakfast

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2014

I stayed at this hotel between 24-26 Sept attending a Conference. This was my fourth visit to China and my third to Beijing. As before, I found that communication is a huge problem and spoilt what could have been a very pleasant stay. Waitresses couldn't understand simple terms like "water", or "butter" or "bread" so getting served is highly frustrating. (How does one indicate 'bread' in sign language ?)

Otherwise, the Gehua New Century is an excellent place to stay - extremely modern fittings in the room which was spacious and had separate, partitioned ante-rooms for dressing and working. Breakfast was extensive and the lunch buffet had a wide selection of mainly Chinese cuisine but as others have noted, many of the dishes were repeated every day. There was a restricted choice of Western dishes in the cafe and much of what was on the menu wasn't actually available. There's not much to see in the immediate vicinity and shopping areas such as Wangfujing are about a 40 minute taxi ride away so this is essentially a businessman's hotel.

I've concluded that it's only the large Western chains in Beijing which employ English speaking staff. Hotels such as the Gehua New Century could attract far more custom from overseas visitors if they addressed this problem but they're pretty full with domestic visitors and probably don't care too much. Pity.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2014

Located within few meters away from Exit D of the Beijing Subway Line 8 Anhuaqiao Station, the Gehua New Century Hotel with 4-star facilities and amenities is equipped with its own separate " 12 sq. ft office space" in selected rooms, complete with modern office table, executive chair, drawer cabinets and even office supplies(stapler, paper clips, eraser, etc). I was on a business trip for an international workshop and it was really a great help for my work-related duties.

I was booked in this room for $140/night (includes buffet breakfast and taxes) that also has a very spacious toilet and bath with bath tub and shower case; an adjacent walk-in closet with safe, iron and board; a king size bed with two (2) side lamp tables and overhead reading lights; filled-up snack minibar with an electric kettle and a mini ref filled with drinks; and a nice Beijing landscape view from the window. I stayed for 4 nights and the room was kept clean, with beddings, towels and supplies replenished everyday.

However, communication was a big problem as even receptionists had very little English command. The Housekeeping was worse, as when I asked for a "stapler" replacement and gave me a "slipper" instead. (funny!)

Breakfast and Lunch in the buffet area was the same in all my 4 days, with just 1 or 2 additional dishes, no variety at all... that I decided to eat outside on my last day since I already knew everything that were served. The other restaurants, though, served nice selections and great ambiance.

Also, there were no enough seats in the lobby area as the available seats were all reserved for those who would want to order in the buffet restaurant. You need to go to the second floor for the free sofa seats.

The meetings room we had was just standard, and was very hot inside, as the aircon was not functioning well, It was even tagged as the VIP room. We had to remove our blazers and coats inside because most of us are already sweating. The waiters assigned had to open the door so that the aircon outside can come in.

The concierge service was, however, really commendable. There is 1 or 2 staff that speak and understand English and would extend their way to talk to the taxi driver for your destination, even suggest easy routes where you can find better places to go away from tourist crowds.

Room Tip: Even number rooms have nicer window views, as it faces the main Gulou Outer Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islamabad, Pakistan
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

It was a nice hotel. With a comfortable room and a clean and spacious bathroom. The F&B facilities were not very good and even in the breakfast we couldn't find much to eat.Location is good as along as you have a chauffeur driven car.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

I was visiting China for the first time and was very skeptical of booking hotels. Communication is a big problem, even when you call from India to book a room. Thankfully Gehua turned out to be one of the better hotels where the staff understood some bits of English and one could enjoy a minimal conversation stay.

The hotel is well equipped and the restaurants serve some scrumptious meals, the room service is great if you dont like eating food you cant understand the names of. Some american food has made its way on their room service menu cards, so thats good news for people who have reservations about chinese food.

The hotel staff was very helpful with getting taxis as well, most taxi driver do not speak english and its helpful if the hotel staff can direct them to your destination.

Overall China happens to be one of my very memorable trips, how do you travel when you dont speak the language. Its funny how memories of all the goof ups still make me laugh some times.

Room Tip: Rooms on the lower floors are slightly better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Gehua New Century hotel has super-clean rooms absent the dust prevalent in older Beijing hotels.The bathrooms are excellent,both bath and shower. The Japanese restaurant is affordable (unlike may other Japanese eateries) and of good quality. As for the breakfast buffet,a bit more attention needs to be paid to those who are vegetarian. Those who are carnivorous will however have a sumptous feast. An amazingly affordable hotel with 5-star comforts in one of the world's great cities

Room Tip: Smile and show that you are a friend of China
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Gehua New Century Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gehua New Century Hotel

Address: No.19 Gulouwai Main Street, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100120, China
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing > Anzhen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#76 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#258 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Gehua New Century Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 353
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Gehua New Century Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gehua New Century Beijing

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gehua New Century Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.