We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for kids! Friendly and helpful staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Templeside Deluxe Hutong House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Templeside Deluxe Hutong House Hotel to your Saves list
Templeside Deluxe Hutong House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.2 Baita Alley, Zhaodengyu Road, Xicheng District, Beijing 100034, China (Xidan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #181 of 5,424 Hotels in Beijing
4.5 of 5 stars 81 Reviews
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Great for kids! Friendly and helpful staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

We stayed at Templeside Deluxe Hutong House on our family trip to Beijing, with my 2 year old son. It's a great place for kids! He had many toys to play with, fish and water turtle to feed, and he loved it. The staff liked him a lot and played with him. He really enjoyed his time there, as did we.
The deluxe room was very clean, comfortable and nice.
The staff was very helpful in tips on how to get to all the tourist attractions, as well as booking our next hotel and plane tickets. We didn't take any hotel tour, we prefered to take the subway and local buses to all the attractions, which was very comfortable.
The only fault to this hotel is the location: it's a 20 minute walk to the nearest subway station, Fuchengmen, which wastes some valuable time in Beijing. Other than that, I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    25
    7
    4
    0
See reviews for
17
29
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

We splashed out on our Templeside room, but it was worth it! It was really welcoming, and Bobby was friendly and helpful. The information in the rooms is really good, like listing the places you might want to go with the bus stops to go to get the them).

We got takeaway two nights and it was brilliant, some of the best food we got in China. But they couldn't help us with knowing how much to order, and so we got far too much food. But they stored it for us overnight in the fridge, so we had lunch the next day too. Beer was always available, cold and very cheap.

Whilst we were there it rained an awful lot. The inner atrium area was badly affected, but the team were constantly trying to ensure that it didn't really affect us too much and sweeping the water away - and the rooms themselves were always bone dry and really clean.

We went on the Jinshanlong Great Wall tour that was available at the hotel. It was a great tour, and the explanations that were provided at the hotel were personalised and very accurate. They were also happy to recommend us places to go when it was raining so badly we couldn't go to the summer palace.

I am sure you could stay in much cheaper places which would be clean and nice, but for a treat this was far better than staying in one of the non descript hotels - lots of character and really made us feel like we were in China.

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okinawa, Japan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2011

This hotel was a great find. We were pleased with the decor and simplicity upon entering. It was a very relaxing place to come back to after a full day of touring all of the many attractions of Beijing. The air condition was cold and the bathtub was deep which was a plus if you're visiting during summer months. The hotel staff, Bobby and the girls (Gracie & Shelley) were great and waited on you hand and foot. They will set up tours and shows for every day of your visit. Our boys enjoyed playing ping pong in the courtyard, while everyone else shared stories of their days adventures over a cup of tea or a bottle of Chinese beer. The location was also good. It was only a 15 minute walk to the subway station, (which is the recommended means of travel in Beijing), due to the quickness, cleanliness, and cost. Taxis are very cheap as well, if you don't mind a little crazy driving and don't get car sick. As for food, if you're adventurous you could easily grab food (such as Chinese dumplings) from the many food vendors on the sidewalk, or choose one of many restaurants where you will get your fill for a very reasonable price. My family of four could eat for less than $20 dollars. If you like coffee and pastries, there were a couple of nice spots about 10-15 minute walk on your way to the subway to get your day started, and they stayed open late until midnight. And if shopping is your thing, there were some small shops nearby with very reasonable prices on shoes, clothes and souvenirs. If department stores are more your style, they have those as well. And if you are really adventurous, at night the nearby allies come alive with the locals eating, drinking, and shopping the way they know how. It was all a great experience for our entire family. If I ever go back to Beijing, I would stay here again. The Templeside Deluxe Hutong House Hotel is a MUST!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for combination business and family holiday. With ages 17-87, we had a variety of needs and expectations. We wanted a real taste of China and that's what we got in contrast to bland international hotels. Located near local restaurants and markets, we felt like we were in real Beijing. Bobby, Sing and the team were great - from airport pickup, arranging tour to Great Wall and local knowledge. The dumpling and 'family meal' night was homespun hospitality and a chance to get to know the very international travellers that also had found this gem. We had the two level family room for Dad, Mom and daughter. Whilst Grandpa enjoyed his twin room with lavishly decorated en suite.
On the slight down side, it is a fair walk from the nearest subway station. Some taxis outside of major tourist sites refused to take us to the hotel. There is no restaurant but you can order take-away to be delivered.
Overall, staying at Templeside greatly enhanced our trip to Beijing and is held in fond memory.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2011

This accomodation is in the middle of an old Chinese hutong, in an old courtyard. The location is very authentic. but don't be afraid, the guest house is very clean, and has everything you need. We stayed in the Deluxe hutong House, and it has been a great experience. Two metrolines (1 and 2) are very close, there are foodstores, restaurants, bank for money change, teeshops in the neighbourhood.
The hotel stuff is great, they can speak english, they were always very helpfull, no matter what we asked. They searched for all the opening hours, they wrote down in Chinese everything we asked for, so we could show it for example in the teashop.
The room is big enough, the bed is comfortble. There is aircon and wifi in the room. The house has a big terrace. It is very good to sit there in the evening with tea or beer.
I recommend this place to everyone,I am happy to have chosen this accomodation.

Room Tip: every room has a good quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2011

we stayed a week at this guesthouse and it was fabulous. it wasn't any 5 star premises and it wasn't located in a 'bling bling' area, but it had charms and history, staff was attentive yet casual, friendly and helpful. they all spoke english, that was a plus!
the building and our room had characters located in one of the ancient hotong, lane ways' in Beijing. very central in everything, all the major tourist spot, palace, tinnanmum square, shopping beijing zoo were all a bus ride away! yes! we uesd the local bus, what a fun and sooooo cheap! the guest house had a book giving us the directions, very helpful info.they organised the greatwall tour for us just with one day notice, airport transfer all done for us too. we will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2011

This Hutong is a great place to stay in Beijing. The rooms are set around a traditional charming courtyard and although it is not right in the centre next to the main attractions it is easy to get to and from, the subway station is nearby and the subways run all over beijing. The staff were very helpful, the girls spoke great English and were very helpful and efficient in organising things for us to do. Bobby is also very friendly and makes sure that you have an enjoyable stay. The rooms and bathrooms are very well kept and the courtyard seating area is a great space to relax in. The food was really good too.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Templeside Deluxe Hutong House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Templeside Deluxe Hutong House Hotel

Address: No.2 Baita Alley, Zhaodengyu Road, Xicheng District, Beijing 100034, China
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing > Xidan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
#171 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Templeside Deluxe Hutong House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A brand new deluxe hutong traditional house, run by the trustable team from Beijing Templeside House, which is the No.1 winner in 2007 in all China, voted by all hostelworld customers! Beijing Templeside Deluxe is a 'Si He Yuan'(a compound with houses around a square courtyard)hotel in a comfortable pure Chinese style with Qing dynasty characteristics.There are seven guest rooms and a beautiful covered courtyard as a multi-function hall.All rooms have air conditioning, Internet service, phone, TV, and even a ice fridge. The house is decorated with handmade colored paintings, antiques, traditional style wooden furniture, and various kinds of handicrafts.Our honored guests can enjoy the beauty of Chinese culture and arts here.Every Tuesday afternoon, we will have free dumpling making show for guests. Every Thursday afternoon, we have a free tour to explore our local hutong neighborhood. Living here can help you get a better understanding of Beijing's local life. You could never get the same feeling and traveling experience from any other places. Wandering in the long and puzzling hutong, smiling to lovely local neighbors, seeing the blue sky in the no-roof courtyard, hearing the whistle from swiftly flying-by doves, watering the garden, walking the dog, the Templeside house gives you 'a glimpse of what life in the city is really like'. The hotel located in the center of Beijing. It is about 30 mins walking to the Forbidden city, Bei Hai park, Tian An Men and most important sightseeing places. Over 20 buses and subway around the hotel make all traveling very easy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Despegar.com, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Templeside Deluxe Hutong House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Templeside Deluxe Hutong Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Templeside Deluxe Hutong House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.