We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service with a smile” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beijing Marriott Hotel City Wall

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Beijing Marriott Hotel City Wall to your Saves list
Beijing Marriott Hotel City Wall
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.7 Jian Guo Men South Avenue, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100005, China (Beijing Railway Station / Jianguomen)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi For Members
Ranked #50 of 5,545 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Thornhill, Canada
Level Contributor
81 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Service with a smile”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Easy check in tried hard with their English, and bent over backwards to please.
Room was beautiful very clean and well taken care of any problems dealt with very quickly . View was awful but can't get everything. Clean area around hotel just not great restaurants. City old wall is interesting with little park around it. Good location for inside city sites.
Food at breakfast is just ok had better in Hangzough JW . Pool very clean and so was change room and steam rooms as well as gym with good equipment.

Room Tip: Marriott card holder up grade room only
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
West of England
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Spent 6 nights here recently and had a fabulous trip. The hotel is really lovely, typically marriott so quite popular with business people. The beds and linens are top quality and almost guarantee a great sleep. We were in an executive room so perhaps a little larger than standard, but it was really lovely. A view across to the old city wall.

Easy walking distance to subway and train station so although not right next to the main attractions they are simple to get to. The subway system is simple, clear and very cheap. All signage in english, including station names.

Breakfast and evening food in the exec lounge was generally delicious (wasn't a fan of the pasta night!). Staff in the lounge were wonderful, friendly and made a point to remember our names. Just lovely.

Room Tip: Although taxis aren't expensive traffic is terrible so short journeys take an age. Be brave and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank taff72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle Mountain, Utah
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

I absolutely loved my experience in this hotel. I took a group of 40 MBA students, and I was worried that it felt far from all the tourist-y places (Summer Palace, Silk and Jade Markets, Ghost Street, Ho Hai Bar Street, etc.). However, since it is an extremely short walk to the subway station, and they keep a steady stream of cabs coming, we did not feel the distance. It actually was the perfect distance from all the hot tourist spots, and of course you get the Marriott service and comfort. The rooms are spacious and beautifully decorated. The bathrooms were huge, boasting a tub and separate shower, stone floors and fixtures, etc. The room was kept very clean, and room service was fast.

The breakfast in the morning was excellent! I loved the variety of Asian and Western cuisine. There was always so much to choose from! Even though the same food was offered daily, the variety was such that I never felt bored.

The concierge desk would be my only suggestion for area of improvement. Usually you look to this desk for tips on local places to do karaoke, restaurants, etc. The concierge was not helpful in recommending local places to eat or hot nightlife spots. I would suggest some training in this area, or come prepared with your own research, but other than that I have nothing bad to say about the hotel. My experience was wonderful and I will be back again this summer for another trip.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kristalkareh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
129 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

I highly recommend this Marriott. Not as modern and well,run as my most favorite in China, the Marriott in Shanghai at Chang Fen Park (sp) but still a very good property. Great concierge level with very attentive service by nice attendants. Jason was extremely helpful!

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
Thank JD5636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Mariott Hotels are five star and although they are a bit on the pricey side, having a good night’s sleep when you are doing long day tours, having staff who speak English and are able to help made Beijing an amazing experience for me.

After a long day of walking along the Great Wall or through the Forbidden City and Summer Place, getting into bed at the Beijing Marriott Hotel City Wall was brilliant and so comfortable. The staff were very helpful, there is a spacious gym and they make a good pina colada, but ultimately their beds are amazing!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tarryn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

The only place we found friendly staff and people who spoke a bit of English. The rooms were nice and the hotel lobby was spectcular. Dinning was expensive but lots of places around the Hotel to go eat.

Room Tip: Away from the street is the best we had a nice of the Railway station and all the people around ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam649
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

stayed 4 nights as part of an incentive group, in this property in september 2013. First time to Beijing and of course, beaming wiith anticipation and elation to finally able to witness some of the most famous wonders of the world with my own eyes! Did not have a good start though, flight delayed about 6 hours and therefore part of the itinerary were taken out becos of insufficient time.

Staying overnight in KLIA was not pleasant, after going through 6 hours delay and 6 hours journey/. And upon arrival whisk off to lunch and immediately after that, visit the Forbidden City and Tianamen Square. Can you imagine the elation when we arrive the hotel and the sight of the room was so welcoming! The rain shower was great due to the water pressure!

But the bed had too many pillows of different sizes though. There were six pillows, plus a bolster! I had to sleep in a small corner of the bed as the rest was occupied by pillows.

Breakfast was plain.. Not what i expected from a Marriot standard. Coffee was bland! Breads selection was poor and only one person manning the eggs station. Because of the long queue, I kinda gave up having my eggs in the morning.

Gym was great as its open 24 hours.

Need to be more attentive when cleaning the room. Some items not replenish.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chreong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
New World Beijing Hotel
#11 of 5,545 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 stars 623 reviews
Guomao
JW Marriott Hotel Beijing
JW Marriott Hotel Beijing
#42 of 5,545 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 stars 992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Hilton Beijing Wangfujing
Hilton Beijing Wangfujing
#26 of 5,545 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 stars 1,926 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Red Wall Garden Hotel
Red Wall Garden Hotel
#9 of 5,545 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 stars 964 reviews
Guomao
Fairmont Beijing
Fairmont Beijing
#14 of 5,545 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 stars 987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beijing Marriott Hotel City Wall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beijing Marriott Hotel City Wall

Address: No.7 Jian Guo Men South Avenue, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100005, China
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing > Beijing Railway Station / Jianguomen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Beijing
#40 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#41 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#42 Business Hotel in Beijing
#184 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Beijing Marriott Hotel City Wall 4*
Number of rooms: 357
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This stunning landmark Beijing hotel is adjacent to the remaining ancient Ming Dynasty City Wall, a five-minute drive to Forbidden City, Tiananmen Square and Silk Market, and a 5-minute walk to Jianguomen Subway Station. Beijing Marriott Hotel City Wall is home to 357 elegantly decorated rooms and suites featuring Marriott's trademark "Revive" bedding and connectivity to plug and play iPods and other personal devices. The meeting space comprises of 2,300 square meters, including a pillar-less ballroom that is interchangeable to suit your needs. Wireless high-speed Internet is accessible in all public areas and meeting rooms. Aside from the preferable accommodation and meeting facilities, we offer a distinctive selection of restaurants and bars. Our various facilities and services include a state-of-the-art fitness center, a half-Olympic-size indoor heated swimming pool, 24-hour room service, Gold Key Concierge service and a stay to remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Marriott, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Beijing Marriott Hotel City Wall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing