We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service with a smile” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beijing Marriott Hotel City Wall

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Beijing Marriott Hotel City Wall to your Saves list
Beijing Marriott Hotel City Wall
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.7 Jian Guo Men South Avenue, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100005, China (Beijing Railway Station / Jianguomen)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #46 of 5,465 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Thornhill, Canada
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Service with a smile”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Easy check in tried hard with their English, and bent over backwards to please.
Room was beautiful very clean and well taken care of any problems dealt with very quickly . View was awful but can't get everything. Clean area around hotel just not great restaurants. City old wall is interesting with little park around it. Good location for inside city sites.
Food at breakfast is just ok had better in Hangzough JW . Pool very clean and so was change room and steam rooms as well as gym with good equipment.

Room Tip: Marriott card holder up grade room only
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    625
    482
    120
    26
    12
See reviews for
182
239
63
247
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West of England
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Spent 6 nights here recently and had a fabulous trip. The hotel is really lovely, typically marriott so quite popular with business people. The beds and linens are top quality and almost guarantee a great sleep. We were in an executive room so perhaps a little larger than standard, but it was really lovely. A view across to the old city wall.

Easy walking distance to subway and train station so although not right next to the main attractions they are simple to get to. The subway system is simple, clear and very cheap. All signage in english, including station names.

Breakfast and evening food in the exec lounge was generally delicious (wasn't a fan of the pasta night!). Staff in the lounge were wonderful, friendly and made a point to remember our names. Just lovely.

Room Tip: Although taxis aren't expensive traffic is terrible so short journeys take an age. Be brave and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle Mountain, Utah
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

I absolutely loved my experience in this hotel. I took a group of 40 MBA students, and I was worried that it felt far from all the tourist-y places (Summer Palace, Silk and Jade Markets, Ghost Street, Ho Hai Bar Street, etc.). However, since it is an extremely short walk to the subway station, and they keep a steady stream of cabs coming, we did not feel the distance. It actually was the perfect distance from all the hot tourist spots, and of course you get the Marriott service and comfort. The rooms are spacious and beautifully decorated. The bathrooms were huge, boasting a tub and separate shower, stone floors and fixtures, etc. The room was kept very clean, and room service was fast.

The breakfast in the morning was excellent! I loved the variety of Asian and Western cuisine. There was always so much to choose from! Even though the same food was offered daily, the variety was such that I never felt bored.

The concierge desk would be my only suggestion for area of improvement. Usually you look to this desk for tips on local places to do karaoke, restaurants, etc. The concierge was not helpful in recommending local places to eat or hot nightlife spots. I would suggest some training in this area, or come prepared with your own research, but other than that I have nothing bad to say about the hotel. My experience was wonderful and I will be back again this summer for another trip.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

I highly recommend this Marriott. Not as modern and well,run as my most favorite in China, the Marriott in Shanghai at Chang Fen Park (sp) but still a very good property. Great concierge level with very attentive service by nice attendants. Jason was extremely helpful!

Stayed August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Mariott Hotels are five star and although they are a bit on the pricey side, having a good night’s sleep when you are doing long day tours, having staff who speak English and are able to help made Beijing an amazing experience for me.

After a long day of walking along the Great Wall or through the Forbidden City and Summer Place, getting into bed at the Beijing Marriott Hotel City Wall was brilliant and so comfortable. The staff were very helpful, there is a spacious gym and they make a good pina colada, but ultimately their beds are amazing!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

The only place we found friendly staff and people who spoke a bit of English. The rooms were nice and the hotel lobby was spectcular. Dinning was expensive but lots of places around the Hotel to go eat.

Room Tip: Away from the street is the best we had a nice of the Railway station and all the people around ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

stayed 4 nights as part of an incentive group, in this property in september 2013. First time to Beijing and of course, beaming wiith anticipation and elation to finally able to witness some of the most famous wonders of the world with my own eyes! Did not have a good start though, flight delayed about 6 hours and therefore part of the itinerary were taken out becos of insufficient time.

Staying overnight in KLIA was not pleasant, after going through 6 hours delay and 6 hours journey/. And upon arrival whisk off to lunch and immediately after that, visit the Forbidden City and Tianamen Square. Can you imagine the elation when we arrive the hotel and the sight of the room was so welcoming! The rain shower was great due to the water pressure!

But the bed had too many pillows of different sizes though. There were six pillows, plus a bolster! I had to sleep in a small corner of the bed as the rest was occupied by pillows.

Breakfast was plain.. Not what i expected from a Marriot standard. Coffee was bland! Breads selection was poor and only one person manning the eggs station. Because of the long queue, I kinda gave up having my eggs in the morning.

Gym was great as its open 24 hours.

Need to be more attentive when cleaning the room. Some items not replenish.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Beijing Marriott Hotel City Wall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beijing Marriott Hotel City Wall

Address: No.7 Jian Guo Men South Avenue, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100005, China
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing > Beijing Railway Station / Jianguomen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Beijing
#39 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#40 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#41 Business Hotel in Beijing
#292 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Beijing Marriott Hotel City Wall 4*
Number of rooms: 649
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This stunning landmark hotel, adjacent to the remaining ancient Ming Dynasty City Wall and a five-minute driving to Forbidden City, Tiananmen Square, and Silk Market, 2-minute walking distance to Jianguomen Subway Station. It is home to 649 elegantly decorated rooms and suites, featuring Marriott's trademark "Revive" New Bedding, connectivity to plug and play iPods and other personal devices. The meeting space comprises of 4,000 square meters which is one of the largest amongst the hotels in Beijing. Wireless high speed Internet is accessible in all public areas and meeting rooms, a pillar-less ballroom that is interchangeable to suit your needs. Aside from the preferable accommodation and meeting facilities, Beijing Marriott Hotel City Wall offers a distinctive selection of restaurants and bars. The hotel's various facilities and services include state of the art fitness center, a half Olympic size indoor heated swimming pool, 24 hour Room Service, Gold Key Concierge service and a stay to remember ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda and Marriott so you can book your Beijing Marriott Hotel City Wall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Beijing

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beijing Marriott Hotel City Wall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.