We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expecting more but at least its Marriot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beijing Marriott Hotel City Wall

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Beijing Marriott Hotel City Wall to your Saves list
Beijing Marriott Hotel City Wall
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.7 Jian Guo Men South Avenue, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100005, China (Beijing Railway Station / Jianguomen)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #38 of 5,418 Hotels in Beijing
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Expecting more but at least its Marriot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

stayed 4 nights as part of an incentive group, in this property in september 2013. First time to Beijing and of course, beaming wiith anticipation and elation to finally able to witness some of the most famous wonders of the world with my own eyes! Did not have a good start though, flight delayed about 6 hours and therefore part of the itinerary were taken out becos of insufficient time.

Staying overnight in KLIA was not pleasant, after going through 6 hours delay and 6 hours journey/. And upon arrival whisk off to lunch and immediately after that, visit the Forbidden City and Tianamen Square. Can you imagine the elation when we arrive the hotel and the sight of the room was so welcoming! The rain shower was great due to the water pressure!

But the bed had too many pillows of different sizes though. There were six pillows, plus a bolster! I had to sleep in a small corner of the bed as the rest was occupied by pillows.

Breakfast was plain.. Not what i expected from a Marriot standard. Coffee was bland! Breads selection was poor and only one person manning the eggs station. Because of the long queue, I kinda gave up having my eggs in the morning.

Gym was great as its open 24 hours.

Need to be more attentive when cleaning the room. Some items not replenish.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    577
    448
    106
    22
    7
See reviews for
168
212
58
215
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Erie, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

During my 2 week business trip to China, I used this Marriott hotel as a hub as I need to frequently travel to different cities.
This hotel is only a few hundred yard away from the Beijing Railway Station (the old one), so it's only 4 min walk to the Subway line 1's Beijing Railway Station stop. It's next to two landmarks in Beijing, one is the Ming Dynasty City Wall Park, another one is the The Beijing Ancient Observatory. Walk toward the Beijing Ancient Observatory is the Jianguomen station of Subway Line 2 (5 min walk), this line will provide you easy access to the Silk Street, Guomao, Wangfujing, Tian'anmen Square, and Forbiden city.
Hotel is very nice, the lobby is impressive. Staff are very helpful and friendly. Gym is big and nice, Pool is perfect for lap swiming.
Room is very big, nice, and very clean; although not many have good views. the Double bed is the queen size bed, so if you have a family of 3, you can easily share the Double room.
I stayed on the Club level, there are only 9 rooms on that level so you'll have to request. The Club Lunge is very nice and provide free breakfast for guests have access. It also have the horderves services in the evenings ... so if you had a long day and didn't feel to go out for dinner, that's a perfect location for it.
Over all I liked this hotel. Excellent location with very friendly staff and nice rooms. Only issue is the Wifi service wasn't stable.

Room Tip: If you have a family and want to save some $$, ask for the corner room with two beds. If you are a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The Marriott is our hotel chain of choice because they are generally consistent - great rooms and great executive lounges. However, there were two things about this Marriott that we were not at all pleased with.
1. Skip The Lounge - both the service and the quality of the food were terrible. We gave management feedback, so hopefully there will be an improvement.
2. Get your own taxi on the street unless you want to wait a long time for their staff to get one. They were mostly hanging out and not really trying to get a taxi. I suspected this the first few times it happened, and finally took a look out on the street to verify because we'd been waiting more than 20 minutes for a taxi. After that, we just got them ourselves in one minute as they drive by all the time. Lazy staff I guess, so I hope that changes as well, but be on the lookout for it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

While in Beijing, I stayed at 3 hotels and wished that I could've stayed here for the duration. Compared with the other hotels, the staff were able to converse in English quite well. They were always friendly and accommodating. The room was truly a "no smoking" room unlike the other hotels where I ended up staying (their rooms smelled even though they were supposed to be non-smoking rooms). The beds were awesome and super comfortable. The other hotels where I stayed in Beijing (one of which was a "4-star" had European style beds and were not comfortable). The food was exceptional and that is worth noting. I hated to leave this hotel and should I end up in Beijing another time, I would stay here again in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: The executive floor was amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This was a beautiful hotel with one of the most fabulous breakfast buffets.The rooms were very clean, beds comfortable. Bathroom was strange with electric blinds that open and close and to get to tub you walked through the shower. Good location. Beautiful indoor pool.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is my third stay at the Marriott City Wall and each time the hotel has exceeded expectations. The staff in the Executive lounge are attentive, courteous and remember my name, and go out of their way to be helpful. Sarah and Sandra provided exemplary service.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Had a perfect stay at this hotel. Started with an upgrade which is always a nice treat. Every person we encountered was completely helpful and went the extra mile to make our stay comfortable. The rooms are nicely appointed with comfortable beds.

I completely agree with the other reviewed who recommend booking on the execuitve floor. The service, food and value are unbeatable. The exec floor AM buffet is top notch with everything from cereal and fruit to hot dishes to cooked to order eggs. Paired with table service for all of the beverages it is a great deal. In the evening these is a rotating, themed selection. We had Indian, Italian, and Chinese nights while there. Again table service for beverages, Beers, wines, cocktails all included. Nice views and great place to wind down....

The location is good, 10 minutes by taxi to the Temple of Heaven, 40 minutes on foot to Tiananmen Square/Forbidden City, 5 minute walk to the subway should you dare to brave it

The concierge and travel desk are really great, very helpful and resourceful!

Would stay again!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beijing Marriott Hotel City Wall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beijing Marriott Hotel City Wall

Address: No.7 Jian Guo Men South Avenue, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100005, China
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing > Beijing Railway Station / Jianguomen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Beijing
#16 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#31 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#33 Business Hotel in Beijing
#33 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#306 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Beijing Marriott Hotel City Wall 4*
Number of rooms: 649
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This stunning landmark hotel, adjacent to the remaining ancient Ming Dynasty City Wall and a five-minute driving to Forbidden City, Tiananmen Square, and Silk Market, 2-minute walking distance to Jianguomen Subway Station. It is home to 649 elegantly decorated rooms and suites, featuring Marriott's trademark "Revive" New Bedding, connectivity to plug and play iPods and other personal devices. The meeting space comprises of 4,000 square meters which is one of the largest amongst the hotels in Beijing. Wireless high speed Internet is accessible in all public areas and meeting rooms, a pillar-less ballroom that is interchangeable to suit your needs. Aside from the preferable accommodation and meeting facilities, Beijing Marriott Hotel City Wall offers a distinctive selection of restaurants and bars. The hotel's various facilities and services include Spa, state of the art fitness center, a half Olympic size indoor heated swimming pool, 24 hour Room Service, Gold Key Concierge service and a stay to remember ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Despegar.com, Ctrip DaoDao, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Beijing Marriott Hotel City Wall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Beijing

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beijing Marriott Hotel City Wall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.