We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Largest Marriott outside of the US” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beijing Marriott Hotel City Wall

Save Saved
You added Beijing Marriott Hotel City Wall to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Beijing Marriott Hotel City Wall
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.7 Jian Guo Men South Avenue, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100005, China (Beijing Railway Station / Jianguomen)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #39 of 5,111 hotels in Beijing
United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Largest Marriott outside of the US”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

The hotel was situated neae the subway and had easy access into the city centre. The hotel is grand and provides everything you would expect for a 5 star hotel. The room was large with a king size bed, desk and executive chair, TV and a large bathroom with a bath and separate shower, The breakfast was very good with a large choice of English, European and Chinese dishes buffet style. Most of the staff were able to speak English and were very friendly. The hotel does have a swimming pool but I didn't use it to comment.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,081 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    529
    426
    98
    21
    7
See reviews for
149
190
58
195
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

The Marriott Hotel Beijing City Wall is a lovely hotel. Very westernized. Some staff had a hard time understanding English, but with a little patience, everything was understood. The beds were very comfortable and the restaurants were very good. It is a little bit of home when you are overseas.
I was amazed by the amount of people that work there though - you actually get tired of saying hello and good morning to everyone!

Room Tip: When going to the airport, ask for a road taxi - not a hotel taxi. Hotel taxis are more expensive!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for four nights in May 2013. We were elite members and therefore upgraded to executive floor. The room was big with Two King size beds.. So, it was a good choice for family travelling with children.
The services, food, drinks in Executive lounge were awesome. Their staffs were friendly, helpful and attentive.
The gym was big with new equipments. Great for workout.
The location was great as it was near the Beijing Train Station. But, if you want to do lots of shopping, it might be better to stay near Wang Fu Jing. We had no problem going around with Beijing underground service.
We loved this hotel and would definitely stay here again if we come back to Beijing.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shanghai
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Marriott is our favorite luxury hotel chain, no matter where we are in the world, we can always count on impeccable service and value. This facility is close to all major attractions and it's very quiet considering the heavy Beijing traffic.
We enjoyed the VIP lounge evening hors d'oeuvres, cocktails and wine as well as great breakfast buffet.
Property is gorgeous and tastefully decorated, bedrooms in the C Executive Tower are spacious and beds are very comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samara
Top Contributor
275 reviews 275 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
690 helpful votes 690 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

It's Marriott! What to say more! Good location, friendly English speaking personnel. TV with programms in English. Fantastic breakfast with a great number of dishes both of Chineese and Europeen cusine. 5 star service was a good reward for us after 10 days in China!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

We had a fantastic stay at the Marriott city wall during our Beijing visit in May. I can't say enough good things. Some highlights:

-offered an upgrade to executive tower at checkin which included breakfast and evening cocktails, etc. was about $50 USD extra and was very worth it. Large breakfasts, appetizers were enough to use as a meal, and evening cocktails.
-service was fantastic, from check in to concierge to restaurant and lounge service.
-room was large, bed was comfortable, and always very clean.
-wifi was excellent.
-while it is a bit pricey, Beijing is an expensive city and it was very comforting after a whirlwind day in a culture we weren't accustomed to to return to a clean, familiar place with friendly people.
-very accessible to subway, which we took everywhere.
-really, no complaints.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We spent four nights here before joining a cruise from Tianjin. Upon check-in we were offered an upgrade to junior suite with use of the hotel's Club facilities. We were very pleased that we took this as, whilst the Club offered what it called pre-dinner snacks and after-dinner desserts, these were actually ample enough as dinner in their own right! The Club also provided complimentary wines, beers, soft drinks and cocktails; and service was charming and efficient - so the suite surcharge more than paid for itself, and in the most ambient of settings.
Our junior suite was tastefully decorated with quality fittings, a huge bed (so, so comfortable) and numerous amenities including free wi-fi in the room. (For normal rooms free wi-fi is only available in the lobby).
One morning we used the main restaurant for breakfast (normally we used the Club) and compared with the discreet Club setting we were faced with a huge barn of a place! The buffet food was good enough, with a wide selection and freshly prepared food, but it was a bit like eating in a railway station with the noise.
Location wise, the hotel is quite near the main railway station, not the best of positions, and it is some two miles from Tiananmen Square - so not the best of walks. However, going the other way, it is about 5 minutes to a park that runs along the side of the only remnant of Beijing's old city wall. We enjoyed walking here both during the afternoon and evening, watching local people practicing tai chi, ballroom dancing and so on - a lovely experience.

Room Tip: Upgrade to junior suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Beijing Marriott Hotel City Wall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beijing Marriott Hotel City Wall

Address: No.7 Jian Guo Men South Avenue, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100005, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing > Beijing Railway Station / Jianguomen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Beijing
#17 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#31 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#32 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#35 Business Hotel in Beijing
#333 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Beijing Marriott Hotel City Wall 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This stunning landmark hotel, adjacent to the remaining ancient Ming Dynasty City Wall and a five-minute driving to Forbidden City, Tiananmen Square, and Silk Market, 2-minute walking distance to Jianguomen Subway Station. It is home to 649 elegantly decorated rooms and suites, featuring Marriott's trademark "Revive" New Bedding, connectivity to plug and play iPods and other personal devices. The meeting space comprises of 4,000 square meters which is one of the largest amongst the hotels in Beijing. Wireless high speed Internet is accessible in all public areas and meeting rooms, a pillar-less ballroom that is interchangeable to suit your needs. Aside from the preferable accommodation and meeting facilities, Beijing Marriott Hotel City Wall offers a distinctive selection of restaurants and bars. The hotel's various facilities and services include Spa, state of the art fitness center, a half Olympic size indoor heated swimming pool, 24 hour Room Service, Gold Key Concierge service and a stay to remember ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Marriott, Expedia, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip DaoDao and Venere so you can book your Beijing Marriott Hotel City Wall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Beijing

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beijing Marriott Hotel City Wall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.