We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beijing Marriott Hotel City Wall

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Beijing Marriott Hotel City Wall to your Saves list
Beijing Marriott Hotel City Wall
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.7 Jian Guo Men South Avenue, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100005, China (Beijing Railway Station / Jianguomen)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #44 of 5,462 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, Usa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Marriott City Wall is in a great location. Next to the bus and train stations and an easy/inexpensive taxi ride to major attractions. City Wall park is right outside and you can walk to the Watch Tower. The hotel has nice, very clean rooms with comfortable beds. The staff is superior and speak excellent English. They are very helpful in directing you around the city and advise against unsafe locations. Restaurants are inviting and the food varied and good. I have stayed there 3 times, both on tour and alone and always felt safe and comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    620
    479
    120
    26
    12
See reviews for
182
238
62
245
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

4 of us girls stayed here for 4 nights and had the best time!!! We were able to go for walks, and were close to the old city wall. The service was excellent, the rooms were appointed beautifully with luxurious beds, pillows and bathrooms, and the buffet breakfasts were superb! The only slight disadvantage was that there seemed always to be some very big tour groups staying which slowed breakfast down somewhat. Would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

I have stayed at this location several times, albeit only on the executive floors. This hotel is my safe haven amidst the madness of Beijing. Staff is excellent, speak good English, and are helpful and kind. The rooms are very lavish, and much nicer than any Courtyard Marriott in the US. The entire hotel is absolutely spottless. The executive lounge is also lavish and has great snacks. Location is only a few minutes walk from the Jianguomen subway station or a half hour stroll to the central business district. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

This Marriott location has several things going for it! The staff was extremely helpful, the room was very clean, and the overall feel to the hotel was warm and inviting. The location seems to get a ton of tourists, which was oddly comforting knowing so many people where as far away from home as you were! There are several restaurants in the hotel offering both local and Western selections. My favorite was the Italian restaurant, and it did not disappoint. I've traveled to Shanghai and Beijing several times a year for business and feel this restaurant may be my favorite from a Westerners perspective. The flavors reminded me of home, which can be extremely helpful if you are feeling less than satisfied by the local selection or if you've been in Asia on a long trip and just want familiar flavors.

While my hotel room was a little smaller than I am used to in Asia, my boss is a gold member with Marriott, and he mentioned that they upgraded him at check in to a very nice room with a seating area and large desk for workspace.

During our work stay we were also able to take advantage of the conference room in the executive lounge which had plenty of comfortable chairs, wifi, and use of an overhead projector, which was fantastic.

For fun, the hotel is well located near major attractions such as Museums, Tianamen Square, Forbidden City, Beihai (White Pagoda), etc. The hotel is also close to transporation such as the subway and the train station (just a few blocks away). If you don't have time for a major location you can even walk around the corner and enjoy the City Wall.

As a side note and not related to hotel stay, we booked a day of site seeing with Grey Line. Our tour guide informed us that we should not buy from the "vendors/peddlers" who address you near Tianamen Square or the Forbidden City. He said that they will try to pass off fake $$ when they give you their change. In our tour group, one of the guys did not head the warning and negotiated a small dragon for what he thought was a great cost 20RMB. Later he realized that the 80RMB he received in change was counterfit and did not have any faces on it. I wouldn't have believed it if I hadn't seen it. There are plenty of great reputable places to buy souveniers, this experience could have been avoided by either not dealing with these vendors or paying in correct change only.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton Park, New York
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Having travelled the world, I find that the bustle of China with the traffic, smog and rough culture more toward the developing world than a modern culture. It is really nice to slip back into a calming Marriott after a full day of seeing Beijing.

The rooms are large and nicely accented. The air conditioning system cleans the air…. a fresh relief from being in the street. I found the staff to be very friendly and accommodating with every request.

This hotel does all the right things. It is not a 5 star hotel, but it does the fundamentals well and is worth the stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We spent 6 nights at the Marriott Beijing City Wall while traveling independently. We are a family of four with twin 10 year olds. We booked two adjoining rooms which were clean, comfortable and spacious. The hotel is located near Tiananmen Square and the Forbidden City (10 mins by taxi and quicker by subway) and is within easy walking distance of the central train station and subway.

The hotel, concierge and travel desk staff were courteous and very helpful. Booking train tickets to Xian through the travel desk was a snap. The kids loved the pool after a long day of taking in the sites.

Fantastic property, we would stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Haag
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

I stayed 3 nights at the hotel just recently. Never been to Beijing before - and it is an impressive city with much to see. I got upgraded for 400 yuan per day to executive floor and got a nice corner suite at the 11 floor with living room, bedroom, 2 toilets and a nice bathroom and a good view. Clean room kept in dark wood - a bit 'outdated' interior style but clean and functional. Included in the executive floor was access to the executive room at the 16 floor where you got complimentary breakfast buffet - round the clock coffee and tea - and in the evening drinks, cocktails, wine and nice finger food. This was a very good investment since the prices in Beijing at the hotel restaurants and other places are rather high on wine/extras. You also got complimentary wi-fi in the upgrade as well as one suit pressed free of charge. The hotel staff was very kind, professional and nice and I also arranged my trip to the Great Wall through the hotel. Not cheap - but good ! I can recommend this hotel and especially the upgrade.

Room Tip: If you can afford it - go for the upgrade to executive floor. They always have a bargain for this up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Beijing Marriott Hotel City Wall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beijing Marriott Hotel City Wall

Address: No.7 Jian Guo Men South Avenue, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100005, China
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing > Beijing Railway Station / Jianguomen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Beijing
#37 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#38 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#42 Business Hotel in Beijing
#288 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Beijing Marriott Hotel City Wall 4*
Number of rooms: 649
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This stunning landmark hotel, adjacent to the remaining ancient Ming Dynasty City Wall and a five-minute driving to Forbidden City, Tiananmen Square, and Silk Market, 2-minute walking distance to Jianguomen Subway Station. It is home to 649 elegantly decorated rooms and suites, featuring Marriott's trademark "Revive" New Bedding, connectivity to plug and play iPods and other personal devices. The meeting space comprises of 4,000 square meters which is one of the largest amongst the hotels in Beijing. Wireless high speed Internet is accessible in all public areas and meeting rooms, a pillar-less ballroom that is interchangeable to suit your needs. Aside from the preferable accommodation and meeting facilities, Beijing Marriott Hotel City Wall offers a distinctive selection of restaurants and bars. The hotel's various facilities and services include state of the art fitness center, a half Olympic size indoor heated swimming pool, 24 hour Room Service, Gold Key Concierge service and a stay to remember ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Marriott and Ctrip TA so you can book your Beijing Marriott Hotel City Wall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Beijing

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beijing Marriott Hotel City Wall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.