We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, wonderful staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beijing Marriott Hotel City Wall

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Beijing Marriott Hotel City Wall to your Saves list
Beijing Marriott Hotel City Wall
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.7 Jian Guo Men South Avenue, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100005, China (Beijing Railway Station / Jianguomen)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi For Members
Ranked #50 of 5,545 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Lawrence, Ks
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely, wonderful staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 3 days while we toured Beijing. The hotel is beautiful, wonderful lobby, and the restaurants were very good. They served a bounteous breakfast buffet--it was very good. We would recommend, and would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Buffy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Very nice hotel. Rooms are comfy. Separate shower and tub. Pool with steamroom. Hearty breakfast. Long walk to downtown/ shopping area. Good deal from china spree tour. Lobby faces city wall so hard to locate. Wll recommend/ come back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank spangvila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medellin, Colombia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

I have had the opportunity to stay at this hotel for 3 different times. It is a good hotel in terms of service and location. I think it is a little big though. It has like 4 different towers and you can get confused getting in there. Also, only one front desk for so many rooms and it could be difficult to find it since there are a lot of entrances to the hotel and if you enter from the behind you will have to take a long walk before getting into the reception desk, but the service is quite good.

If you want to have breakfast at the hotel, please be ready to spend a good amount of money for a simply buffet (with a very god service). I strongly suggest to go to a Sbux or a local cafe. Or maybe ask for the package where the Breakfast is included. I still can't believe that the breakfast could cost more than 30 usd!

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank DannQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor,Michigan USA
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

I have used this hotel several times in 2012 and have had great service. Good downtown
location, convenient to tourist and downtown business locations.

House staff are attentive and good with English.

Several restaurants - Asian and Western. Italian restaurant was very quiet - very few
customers.

One minor problem - taxi drivers have trouble finding the entrance. Be sure to have the
location named in Chinese... and even so, expect that the tax drivers will take an extra time
around the block to find the entrance.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bpritts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Joy, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

This hotel has a great breakfast on the 1st floor and we also enjoyed the gym daily. The only negative is trying to get a cab around dinner hour. It is out of the loop and alot of taxi drivers do not want to waste their time going to this hotel. We took the bus. Great massage place across the street. The hotel restaurants are also very good if you want to stay in a night.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bmoran258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Level Contributor
76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Stayed here as a large group (3 rooms: 1 with my father in law, 1 with my sister in law, her husband and their 2 children and the 3rd room with my family (2 adults and 2 children). Booked online and reserved 3 standard rooms. When we arrived on the 26th December the hotel was very busy and we were upgraded to 3 suites- bonus!!! The suites were excellent and fitted 2 roll out beds in the living the room. The second bathroom in each was handy with the children. All aspects of the hotel were excellent from the concierge service to the room service and food. Food could be considered expensive but breakfast was good value and room service was well presented and very tasty. The children ate breakfast free as they were under a certain height and this made better value. The decoration of the hotel was very clean and well maintained. I would for sure stay here again on a trip to Beijing with my family due to the service experienced on this trip, the location and the excellent value. We could not have asked for a more comfortable stay. It felt like a home away from home!!!

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade to a suite on the Executive level. Room 8092 had an OK view of the City Walls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anafonitria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
134 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights... the room was very spacious, the bed was unbelievably comfortable and oversized......The service was alright... this was my first time in Beijing and I had some day trips planned for the next day... I hadn't received any information from my travel agency and asked Front Office if they could ring the agency for me to see whether everything was fine; FO told me they couldn't help me with the phone call......

Concierge was good, however I did feel that the guy had a scolding tone and attitude every time I asked something....might've just been culture difference...

The hotel has a very good location and there's a metro station 3-5 minutes away

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelwithdino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
New World Beijing Hotel
#11 of 5,545 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 stars 625 reviews
Guomao
JW Marriott Hotel Beijing
JW Marriott Hotel Beijing
#41 of 5,545 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 stars 993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Hilton Beijing Wangfujing
Hilton Beijing Wangfujing
#26 of 5,545 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 stars 1,926 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Red Wall Garden Hotel
Red Wall Garden Hotel
#9 of 5,545 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 stars 964 reviews
Guomao
Fairmont Beijing
Fairmont Beijing
#14 of 5,545 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 stars 987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beijing Marriott Hotel City Wall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beijing Marriott Hotel City Wall

Address: No.7 Jian Guo Men South Avenue, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100005, China
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing > Beijing Railway Station / Jianguomen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Beijing
#40 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#41 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#42 Business Hotel in Beijing
#187 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Beijing Marriott Hotel City Wall 4*
Number of rooms: 357
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This stunning landmark Beijing hotel is adjacent to the remaining ancient Ming Dynasty City Wall, a five-minute drive to Forbidden City, Tiananmen Square and Silk Market, and a 5-minute walk to Jianguomen Subway Station. Beijing Marriott Hotel City Wall is home to 357 elegantly decorated rooms and suites featuring Marriott's trademark "Revive" bedding and connectivity to plug and play iPods and other personal devices. The meeting space comprises of 2,300 square meters, including a pillar-less ballroom that is interchangeable to suit your needs. Wireless high-speed Internet is accessible in all public areas and meeting rooms. Aside from the preferable accommodation and meeting facilities, we offer a distinctive selection of restaurants and bars. Our various facilities and services include a state-of-the-art fitness center, a half-Olympic-size indoor heated swimming pool, 24-hour room service, Gold Key Concierge service and a stay to remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Beijing Marriott Hotel City Wall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing