We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, wonderful staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beijing Marriott Hotel City Wall

Save Saved
You added Beijing Marriott Hotel City Wall to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Beijing Marriott Hotel City Wall
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.7 Jian Guo Men South Avenue, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100005, China (Beijing Railway Station/Jianguomen)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Hot Breakfast Deal
Ranked #38 of 4,968 hotels in Beijing
Lawrence, Ks
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lovely, wonderful staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 3 days while we toured Beijing. The hotel is beautiful, wonderful lobby, and the restaurants were very good. They served a bounteous breakfast buffet--it was very good. We would recommend, and would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,021 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    503
    400
    93
    18
    7
See reviews for
140
178
53
176
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Very nice hotel. Rooms are comfy. Separate shower and tub. Pool with steamroom. Hearty breakfast. Long walk to downtown/ shopping area. Good deal from china spree tour. Lobby faces city wall so hard to locate. Wll recommend/ come back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medellin, Colombia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

I have had the opportunity to stay at this hotel for 3 different times. It is a good hotel in terms of service and location. I think it is a little big though. It has like 4 different towers and you can get confused getting in there. Also, only one front desk for so many rooms and it could be difficult to find it since there are a lot of entrances to the hotel and if you enter from the behind you will have to take a long walk before getting into the reception desk, but the service is quite good.

If you want to have breakfast at the hotel, please be ready to spend a good amount of money for a simply buffet (with a very god service). I strongly suggest to go to a Sbux or a local cafe. Or maybe ask for the package where the Breakfast is included. I still can't believe that the breakfast could cost more than 30 usd!

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor,Michigan USA
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

I have used this hotel several times in 2012 and have had great service. Good downtown
location, convenient to tourist and downtown business locations.

House staff are attentive and good with English.

Several restaurants - Asian and Western. Italian restaurant was very quiet - very few
customers.

One minor problem - taxi drivers have trouble finding the entrance. Be sure to have the
location named in Chinese... and even so, expect that the tax drivers will take an extra time
around the block to find the entrance.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Joy, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

This hotel has a great breakfast on the 1st floor and we also enjoyed the gym daily. The only negative is trying to get a cab around dinner hour. It is out of the loop and alot of taxi drivers do not want to waste their time going to this hotel. We took the bus. Great massage place across the street. The hotel restaurants are also very good if you want to stay in a night.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Stayed here as a large group (3 rooms: 1 with my father in law, 1 with my sister in law, her husband and their 2 children and the 3rd room with my family (2 adults and 2 children). Booked online and reserved 3 standard rooms. When we arrived on the 26th December the hotel was very busy and we were upgraded to 3 suites- bonus!!! The suites were excellent and fitted 2 roll out beds in the living the room. The second bathroom in each was handy with the children. All aspects of the hotel were excellent from the concierge service to the room service and food. Food could be considered expensive but breakfast was good value and room service was well presented and very tasty. The children ate breakfast free as they were under a certain height and this made better value. The decoration of the hotel was very clean and well maintained. I would for sure stay here again on a trip to Beijing with my family due to the service experienced on this trip, the location and the excellent value. We could not have asked for a more comfortable stay. It felt like a home away from home!!!

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade to a suite on the Executive level. Room 8092 had an OK view of the City Walls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights... the room was very spacious, the bed was unbelievably comfortable and oversized......The service was alright... this was my first time in Beijing and I had some day trips planned for the next day... I hadn't received any information from my travel agency and asked Front Office if they could ring the agency for me to see whether everything was fine; FO told me they couldn't help me with the phone call......

Concierge was good, however I did feel that the guy had a scolding tone and attitude every time I asked something....might've just been culture difference...

The hotel has a very good location and there's a metro station 3-5 minutes away

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Beijing Marriott Hotel City Wall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beijing Marriott Hotel City Wall

Also Known As:
Marriott Beijing
Address: No.7 Jian Guo Men South Avenue, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100005, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing > Beijing Railway Station/Jianguomen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Beijing
#30 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#38 Business Hotel in Beijing
#342 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Beijing Marriott Hotel City Wall 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This stunning landmark hotel, adjacent to the remaining ancient Ming Dynasty City Wall and a five-minute driving to Forbidden City, Tiananmen Square, and Silk Market, 2-minute walking distance to Jianguomen Subway Station. It is home to 649 elegantly decorated rooms and suites, featuring Marriott's trademark "Revive" New Bedding, connectivity to plug and play iPods and other personal devices. The meeting space comprises of 4,000 square meters which is one of the largest amongst the hotels in Beijing. Wireless high speed Internet is accessible in all public areas and meeting rooms, a pillar-less ballroom that is interchangeable to suit your needs. Aside from the preferable accommodation and meeting facilities, Beijing Marriott Hotel City Wall offers a distinctive selection of restaurants and bars. The hotel's various facilities and services include Spa, state of the art fitness center, a half Olympic size indoor heated swimming pool, 24 hour Room Service, Gold Key Concierge service and a stay to remember ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, Ctrip DaoDao, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Venere so you can book your Beijing Marriott Hotel City Wall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beijing Marriott Hotel City Wall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.