We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Marriott experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beijing Marriott Hotel City Wall

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Beijing Marriott Hotel City Wall to your Saves list
Beijing Marriott Hotel City Wall
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.7 Jian Guo Men South Avenue, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100005, China (Beijing Railway Station / Jianguomen)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #40 of 5,424 Hotels in Beijing
4.5 of 5 stars 1,205 Reviews
Ann Arbor,Michigan USA
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Marriott experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

I have used this hotel several times in 2012 and have had great service. Good downtown
location, convenient to tourist and downtown business locations.

House staff are attentive and good with English.

Several restaurants - Asian and Western. Italian restaurant was very quiet - very few
customers.

One minor problem - taxi drivers have trouble finding the entrance. Be sure to have the
location named in Chinese... and even so, expect that the tax drivers will take an extra time
around the block to find the entrance.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    597
    463
    113
    23
    9
See reviews for
172
227
59
230
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mount Joy, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

This hotel has a great breakfast on the 1st floor and we also enjoyed the gym daily. The only negative is trying to get a cab around dinner hour. It is out of the loop and alot of taxi drivers do not want to waste their time going to this hotel. We took the bus. Great massage place across the street. The hotel restaurants are also very good if you want to stay in a night.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Stayed here as a large group (3 rooms: 1 with my father in law, 1 with my sister in law, her husband and their 2 children and the 3rd room with my family (2 adults and 2 children). Booked online and reserved 3 standard rooms. When we arrived on the 26th December the hotel was very busy and we were upgraded to 3 suites- bonus!!! The suites were excellent and fitted 2 roll out beds in the living the room. The second bathroom in each was handy with the children. All aspects of the hotel were excellent from the concierge service to the room service and food. Food could be considered expensive but breakfast was good value and room service was well presented and very tasty. The children ate breakfast free as they were under a certain height and this made better value. The decoration of the hotel was very clean and well maintained. I would for sure stay here again on a trip to Beijing with my family due to the service experienced on this trip, the location and the excellent value. We could not have asked for a more comfortable stay. It felt like a home away from home!!!

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade to a suite on the Executive level. Room 8092 had an OK view of the City Walls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights... the room was very spacious, the bed was unbelievably comfortable and oversized......The service was alright... this was my first time in Beijing and I had some day trips planned for the next day... I hadn't received any information from my travel agency and asked Front Office if they could ring the agency for me to see whether everything was fine; FO told me they couldn't help me with the phone call......

Concierge was good, however I did feel that the guy had a scolding tone and attitude every time I asked something....might've just been culture difference...

The hotel has a very good location and there's a metro station 3-5 minutes away

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Excellent stay! Location is superb, near to the subway as well as 24hr fast food chains. Breakfast spread was also very good, and the rooms and facilities were great. Maintains the standard for the Marriott brand.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond Hill, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

The Marriott brand is in its glory here in Beijing. We felt very pampered as we dined in the hotel restaurants, swam in the swimming pool, used the gym and soaked in the whirlpool in the ladies locker room. The hotel staff is very helpful...and the convenience of having a Grayline Tour desk in the lobby was perfect!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taiping, Malaysia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Maintains the quality of a marriott and easy access to many food places (including some less obvious ones). the hotel is situated near a mall and also residences so you have a good mix of large malls and also smaller shops. the staff is friendly, the deli on the ground floor is quite good. I

Not so good: Taxi's are hard to come by but you're within walking distance to the subway

Tip: Great Hot Pot if you cross the main/busy road, if you go around dinner time, just follow the crowd, it's in an office building but that entire floor is the hot pot restaurant. if you tell the waitress that you don't have a discount coupon, you'll get seated faster.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beijing Marriott Hotel City Wall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beijing Marriott Hotel City Wall

Address: No.7 Jian Guo Men South Avenue, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100005, China
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing > Beijing Railway Station / Jianguomen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Beijing
#32 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#33 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#37 Business Hotel in Beijing
#310 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Beijing Marriott Hotel City Wall 4*
Number of rooms: 649
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This stunning landmark hotel, adjacent to the remaining ancient Ming Dynasty City Wall and a five-minute driving to Forbidden City, Tiananmen Square, and Silk Market, 2-minute walking distance to Jianguomen Subway Station. It is home to 649 elegantly decorated rooms and suites, featuring Marriott's trademark "Revive" New Bedding, connectivity to plug and play iPods and other personal devices. The meeting space comprises of 4,000 square meters which is one of the largest amongst the hotels in Beijing. Wireless high speed Internet is accessible in all public areas and meeting rooms, a pillar-less ballroom that is interchangeable to suit your needs. Aside from the preferable accommodation and meeting facilities, Beijing Marriott Hotel City Wall offers a distinctive selection of restaurants and bars. The hotel's various facilities and services include state of the art fitness center, a half Olympic size indoor heated swimming pool, 24 hour Room Service, Gold Key Concierge service and a stay to remember ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Marriott, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Beijing Marriott Hotel City Wall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Beijing

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beijing Marriott Hotel City Wall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.