We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt like home in the middle of china” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beijing Marriott Hotel City Wall

Save Saved
You added Beijing Marriott Hotel City Wall to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Beijing Marriott Hotel City Wall
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.7 Jian Guo Men South Avenue, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100005, China (Beijing Railway Station / Jianguomen)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #40 of 5,118 hotels in Beijing
Gahanna, Ohio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Felt like home in the middle of china”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

The Marriott City Wall is a good place for those visiting China especially the first
time so you don't have as much of a culture shock. Very modern, and everyone speaks
English. Very much like US. Close to Pearl Market, easy to get taxi or hop on a bus.
Usually used to stay at Holiday Inn Lido which has since changed hands and this was
my first time at the Marriott. Very much enjoyed it.

Room Tip: Try and get in the executive towers. The rooms are wonderful. Sometimes non-smoking rooms still smel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,095 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    538
    428
    101
    21
    7
See reviews for
151
194
58
199
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Our first trip to China started and ended at the Marriott City Wall. It was a beautiful place with lots of luxury features that will make you feel at home. There are great western style restaurants, in case you get homesick for western food (we didn't). The lobby bar was wonderful. There were plenty of English speaking employees to help you get a cab or make excursion arrangements. The only downside to the hotel is that it's far from the heart of the city, like Tiannamen Square or the Forbidden City. Taxis in Beijing is a contact sport, so getting a taxi at the hotel is difficult and getting back from your destination is difficult, due to taxi driver reluctance to leave the heart of the city. The good news is that taxis are cheap,$5-10 US will get you anywhere. Perhaps the hotel can secure a private driver as we did to get to and from the airport.
Beijing is a beautiful city and the people are very friendly, even those who do not speak English.

Room Tip: All rooms are good, clean but go for higher floors to get a good view of the neon in Beijing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

On the surface, this should be a first-rate, Marriott five-star. But spend a few days and you'll soon sense something much more mediocre.

Once you're past the marble lobby, you'll find a facility that looks a bit dated, with the carpet starting to wear in the hallways. Service is always a step behind, and sometimes more than a step behind. I twice ordered room-service, and was disappointed both with the small portions and quality of the food. My second experience was truly awful: I ordered a Spaghetti Napolitano that was supposed to be a touch spicy. What I receive was so spicy as to be inedible (and I like spice).

Then there's the internet. If you claim to be a five-star business hotel, the internet better work well. And when it works, it's fast. But on my last morning neither the wireless nor wired internet worked in my room. When I called for help, I was routed to a service desk in the Philippines.

Yes, it's a nice hotel, especially if you compare it to some of the more local options. But for the price, this is waaaaay over-rated. In the end, it's nothing but average. Stay elsewhere if you can.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights in early October and had a very nice stay. The hotel is clean and well laid out and the rooms very nice. We payed extra to be upgraded to a better room and get executive lounge access and it was well worth the extra money (roughly USD$100 per night), even if the lounge was a bit crowded most evenings.

The only negative of our stay was dinner one night at Hawka, one of the hotel restaurants. After a few challenging days of dining at local restaurants (most of which were very good once the ordering was taken care of), we were tired and looking for an "easy" dinner one night with our children. Although the hotel restaurants had five star prices, we figured it would be worth it one night to get the five star service and not have to deal with the language/cultural challenges of a restaurant outside of the hotel.

The food was good, and the service was ok, if not a little too intrusive/over attentive. However, part way through dinner my husband accidentally knocked over a beer, and the glass it was in broke. After doing a quick and not very thorough clean up of the glass and beer on the table, the staff seemed to start avoiding us for the rest of the dinner. That was fine, until at the end of the evening the manager, "Andy" came by and started discussing compensation. We initially thought that he was comp-ing us for the beer since it was mostly full when it was knocked over, but eventually we realized that he was charging us for the glass. Not what we expect in a restaurant in a five star hotel, but we said ok. When the bill came, they had charged us 150 yuan (roughly USD$25) for a standard beer glass (about five times the cost of a TsingTao). We called Andy over and questioned the excessive charge, and he just grinned and said that was the cost of the glass.

We'd stay at the hotel again, but definitely not eat at Hawka. We would have given the hotel 5 stars, but knocked one off for the restaurant experience.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osan, South Korea
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

I stayed with my husband and 11 year old daughter at the Marriott in Beijing in May 2012. The hotel was beautiful! The rooms were perfect! Comfortable beds and lots of space. The best part of the hotel was the breakfast buffet. The food was awesome and we especially loved people watching! The hotel was filled with people from all over the world. We traveled with a tour group and we loved hanging out in the lobby on the comfy sofas waiting for our bus each morning. We also ordered room service one night and it was also wonderful.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We recently stayed 2 nights, and were very impressed with the hotel and the service. We arrived via train, and reception staff worked very quickly to get us our rooms, including processing an upgrade to the executive floors and lounge (well worth it). The even asked if we had eaten yet (we hadn't, and it was 10:30am), and they told us to go get some breakfast at the lounge and return to finish off the paperwork.

During the next 2 days, we visited the Summer Palace and the Temple of Heaven, and the concierge was extremely helpful in telling us where the local subway/underground station was, what trains to take (including switching), how long we should expect to travel etc etc.

We had dinner in the restaurant, and the service and food was superb. The executive lounge was an absolute treat - not only did it have a wonderful view of the adjacent City Wall, but the staff was extremely attentive, and the food & beverages (breakfast and afternoon hors d'oeuvres and evening cocktails) were just right.

Rooms were well appointed, bed was very comfortable, the cleaning staff seemed to be able to clean without us ever seeing them. The pool/whirlpool and exercise facilities were excellent, providing guests with sandals, towels, locked doors etc etc.

Even when leaving (which was too bad), the door man asked us where we were going, gave us an indication of how long and how much for the taxi, and gave us other useful information for our journey.

Tip for photographers - the hotel is beside the main Beijing Rail station, and that station is a beautiful building, and wonderfully lit at night - its an easy walk, and there are pedestrian bridges to get across the street for various views of the station.

Room Tip: We had a south facing room (1211 in the D tower I think?), which faced the City Wall and the Guard T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We have just returned from a 12 day stay in various parts of China. We stayed at The Marriott for 2 nights. We upgraded to an executive suite which allow access to the club lounge. The upgrade for us was 640RMB per night. This was great value. The lounge has breakfast, mid afternoon snacks, free alcohol in the evening and a buffett dinner. The rooms were comfortable and the lobby area was beautiful. The only draw back for us was that we didn't do the research properly and it was a 2 hr drive to the Great Wall- no fault of the hotels, totally our fault.
We had a car from the hotel pick us up from the airport and all in all, had a great stay :)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Beijing Marriott Hotel City Wall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beijing Marriott Hotel City Wall

Address: No.7 Jian Guo Men South Avenue, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100005, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing > Beijing Railway Station / Jianguomen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Beijing
#17 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#31 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#33 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#38 Business Hotel in Beijing
#321 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Beijing Marriott Hotel City Wall 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This stunning landmark hotel, adjacent to the remaining ancient Ming Dynasty City Wall and a five-minute driving to Forbidden City, Tiananmen Square, and Silk Market, 2-minute walking distance to Jianguomen Subway Station. It is home to 649 elegantly decorated rooms and suites, featuring Marriott's trademark "Revive" New Bedding, connectivity to plug and play iPods and other personal devices. The meeting space comprises of 4,000 square meters which is one of the largest amongst the hotels in Beijing. Wireless high speed Internet is accessible in all public areas and meeting rooms, a pillar-less ballroom that is interchangeable to suit your needs. Aside from the preferable accommodation and meeting facilities, Beijing Marriott Hotel City Wall offers a distinctive selection of restaurants and bars. The hotel's various facilities and services include Spa, state of the art fitness center, a half Olympic size indoor heated swimming pool, 24 hour Room Service, Gold Key Concierge service and a stay to remember ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Ctrip DaoDao, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Beijing Marriott Hotel City Wall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Beijing

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beijing Marriott Hotel City Wall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.