We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beijing Marriott Hotel City Wall

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Beijing Marriott Hotel City Wall to your Saves list
Beijing Marriott Hotel City Wall
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.7 Jian Guo Men South Avenue, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100005, China (Beijing Railway Station / Jianguomen)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #45 of 5,465 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Osan, South Korea
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

I stayed with my husband and 11 year old daughter at the Marriott in Beijing in May 2012. The hotel was beautiful! The rooms were perfect! Comfortable beds and lots of space. The best part of the hotel was the breakfast buffet. The food was awesome and we especially loved people watching! The hotel was filled with people from all over the world. We traveled with a tour group and we loved hanging out in the lobby on the comfy sofas waiting for our bus each morning. We also ordered room service one night and it was also wonderful.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    624
    482
    120
    26
    12
See reviews for
182
239
63
247
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We recently stayed 2 nights, and were very impressed with the hotel and the service. We arrived via train, and reception staff worked very quickly to get us our rooms, including processing an upgrade to the executive floors and lounge (well worth it). The even asked if we had eaten yet (we hadn't, and it was 10:30am), and they told us to go get some breakfast at the lounge and return to finish off the paperwork.

During the next 2 days, we visited the Summer Palace and the Temple of Heaven, and the concierge was extremely helpful in telling us where the local subway/underground station was, what trains to take (including switching), how long we should expect to travel etc etc.

We had dinner in the restaurant, and the service and food was superb. The executive lounge was an absolute treat - not only did it have a wonderful view of the adjacent City Wall, but the staff was extremely attentive, and the food & beverages (breakfast and afternoon hors d'oeuvres and evening cocktails) were just right.

Rooms were well appointed, bed was very comfortable, the cleaning staff seemed to be able to clean without us ever seeing them. The pool/whirlpool and exercise facilities were excellent, providing guests with sandals, towels, locked doors etc etc.

Even when leaving (which was too bad), the door man asked us where we were going, gave us an indication of how long and how much for the taxi, and gave us other useful information for our journey.

Tip for photographers - the hotel is beside the main Beijing Rail station, and that station is a beautiful building, and wonderfully lit at night - its an easy walk, and there are pedestrian bridges to get across the street for various views of the station.

Room Tip: We had a south facing room (1211 in the D tower I think?), which faced the City Wall and the Guard T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We have just returned from a 12 day stay in various parts of China. We stayed at The Marriott for 2 nights. We upgraded to an executive suite which allow access to the club lounge. The upgrade for us was 640RMB per night. This was great value. The lounge has breakfast, mid afternoon snacks, free alcohol in the evening and a buffett dinner. The rooms were comfortable and the lobby area was beautiful. The only draw back for us was that we didn't do the research properly and it was a 2 hr drive to the Great Wall- no fault of the hotels, totally our fault.
We had a car from the hotel pick us up from the airport and all in all, had a great stay :)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

beatiful, clean, breakfast is very good, location is great, this was a group tur, I don't know the price, you can walk around the area, the lobby is spacious and beautiful, the air conditioning not at my desire temperature

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington, dc
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Excellen hotel. Excellent service. The rooms were well appointed. I'd only advise that you always keep the air conditioning on since the outside polluted air tends to seep in if you don't. Maid service was great. The Executive Suite on the 16th Floor had a stupendous breakfast buffet and an outstanding happy hour buffet which served as a buffet dinner. Endless drinks during the happy hour. Great computer stations in the Executive Suite with immediate internet access. ATM machine was easy to find and use and booking out overnight train to Xi'an to visit the Terracotta Warriors was easy. This hotel is centrally located. The 52 Bus will drop you off right in front of the hotel if you catch it at the West Beijing Train Station. The 43 will take you the Silk Market while the 25 will take you right to the Pearl Market. Each bus drops you off right that the Marriott Beijing City Wall. There are quaint grocery stores nearby as well as other great amenities. Thumbs up to this great five star hotel where my two sisters and I, along with my mother and aunt had a great stay!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed 2 nights at the Marriott City Wall and were surprised by the hotel. It has excellent, large, well-appointed rooms with all the modern conveniences found in large, quality hotels in, for instance, New York or London. The lobby and lobby bar areas are spacious and beautifully designed and the restaurants are excellent. The hotel has four towers and a myriad of rooms. It is located in Central Beijing close to and within walking distance of some attractions. I was very surprised by this excellent hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Nice, modern comfortable room made recovering from a 12-hour jetlag a bit easier. The breakfast buffet was the best we have ever had - a great variety of Western and Chinese breakfast items. One caveat is that one morning when the main buffet was full they directed us to one of the satellite locations - the variety there was far more limited. The buffet as well as the other restaurants in the hotel all have 5* prices, so it pays to have the breakfast included in your rate.

Both the lobby and the rooms in the hotel have wi-fi. Lobby is free, the room is free if you become (or are) a member of the Marriott loyalty program.

There seemed to be too few elevators in each bank relative to the number of guests staying, so the wait to take the elevators was sometimes longer than expected.

The hotel is within walking distance to the Metro and one of the major railway stattions, as well as a combination mall/department store/supermarket.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Beijing Marriott Hotel City Wall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beijing Marriott Hotel City Wall

Address: No.7 Jian Guo Men South Avenue, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100005, China
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing > Beijing Railway Station / Jianguomen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Beijing
#38 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#38 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#41 Business Hotel in Beijing
#298 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Beijing Marriott Hotel City Wall 4*
Number of rooms: 649
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This stunning landmark hotel, adjacent to the remaining ancient Ming Dynasty City Wall and a five-minute driving to Forbidden City, Tiananmen Square, and Silk Market, 2-minute walking distance to Jianguomen Subway Station. It is home to 649 elegantly decorated rooms and suites, featuring Marriott's trademark "Revive" New Bedding, connectivity to plug and play iPods and other personal devices. The meeting space comprises of 4,000 square meters which is one of the largest amongst the hotels in Beijing. Wireless high speed Internet is accessible in all public areas and meeting rooms, a pillar-less ballroom that is interchangeable to suit your needs. Aside from the preferable accommodation and meeting facilities, Beijing Marriott Hotel City Wall offers a distinctive selection of restaurants and bars. The hotel's various facilities and services include state of the art fitness center, a half Olympic size indoor heated swimming pool, 24 hour Room Service, Gold Key Concierge service and a stay to remember ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Marriott, Ctrip TA and Agoda so you can book your Beijing Marriott Hotel City Wall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Beijing

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beijing Marriott Hotel City Wall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.