We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beijing Marriott Hotel City Wall

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Beijing Marriott Hotel City Wall to your Saves list
Beijing Marriott Hotel City Wall
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.7 Jian Guo Men South Avenue, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100005, China (Beijing Railway Station / Jianguomen)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #44 of 5,462 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Leeds england
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

A really top class Hotel in a good location in the centre of Beijing. It has some top class restaurants in the building, the Italian is very good. Can be a bit busy in the mornings at breakfast time due to all the trips setting off early. Rooms are bright and very well furnished. All in all a great place to stay and use as a base for all the sights.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    620
    479
    120
    26
    12
See reviews for
182
238
62
245
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012 via mobile

We used Marriott points to stay here for 7 nights. We were upgraded to the executive suites where we had a large living room, bedroom, and two bathrooms. Everything was clean and well stocked. If you can afford the upgrade, do it! You get a free buffet breakfast in the morning and hors d'oeuvres and desserts in the evening which are pretty substantial. We saved hundreds of dollars doing this. We did eat at one of the hotel restaurants one evening and it cost $66 for 2 hamburgers and two sodas.
The hotel provided us with an electricty converter and any other item we needed. They provide 2 bottles of water every day to drink and brush your teeth with.
We had no problem with checking in or out of the hotel. There is a cash machine in the lobby you can put U.S. bills in $100 or $50 denominations and get the equivelent RMBs back with a$3 fee charged each time you use it, so cash a lot at once.
We hired a 3 day personal guide, Shirley Zheng, from Freeiva.com. She hired a driver and we loved them both. The two charged $200 p/d and we were able to see all the main sites in a much quicker, more comfortable way. Shirley spoke excellent English and was very informative. Because of this we didn't have as much interaction with the hotel staff. When we did there were a few issues over language, but nothing we couldn't over come.
The subway stop is an 8 minute walk. It was much easier to use than a cab, but you do have to cross a busy street to get there. We could get a cab, with just a bit of trouble, from the hotel but had a hard time getting one back.
The hotel is in a difficult place to get in and out of, but we didn't have any real problems with it. Our whole experience in Beijing was great - we loved it and will come back to the Marriott City Wall Hotel. We left a bag of gifts to bring home to the U.S. at the hotel. We are anxious to see how helpful they will be getting this shipped back home. I may have to write an addendum.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Ohio
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Nice hotel. We had a suite with 1 1/2 baths and all the expected amenities. Interesting quirk--the otherwise terrific shower had no shelves for soap, etc. We had problems with the room safe and ran into a slight language barrier in an attempt to have it fixed. It was fixed, however, and we received two follow up visits and a written apology for the inconvenience. We were there as a pre-cruise package with Princess Cruises and the Bistro Buffet was not up to the task of dealing with volume. Long lines for eggs and even coffee. The biggest diappointment, however, was the Italian Restaurant on premises where we had an expensive and inedible Osso Bucco. Stay there, but eat somewhere else. Since we were part of a package, I can't comment on price.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed at this Marriott for 3 nights prior to our Princess cruise. Although we arrived at 1:30am in the morning, the front desk was most accomodating. Although our room was part of the cruise package, we were upgraded because my husband has Platinum status with Marriott so we were able to have breakfast etc in the Executive Lounge. We couldn't believe the "on top" of it service in the Lounge. And we even met our flight attendants there the next morning so we knew it was a good place. Our only complaint, and it had nothing to do with the hotel, was trying to get a taxi back from Tianamen Square. We did everything we should have but a rate of 15 CNY to get there, became a 100 CNY to get back. And there were several taxis setting around. So we walked back to the hotel - an OK adventure - but it took us an hour. Talked to other people who had same experience in trying to get back to their hotel.

But hotel couldn't have been better!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Central Indiana
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

This is a great hotel! I stay almost exclusively at Marriott products, and this experience was one of the finest. If you like upscale at a great price, you will find this to be your ticket. Everything from the lounge to the amenities was first class. My stay gave me access to the Executive level, and I was just totally amazed at the staff and great room.

Room Tip: I had 20 people with me, and all said they had fantastic rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Fairfield, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

Staff was very friendly and very helpful. Definitely "Western traveler-friendly". Every employee has a western name that they have chosen and display on a name tag. Some are creative - like 'Star' and 'Rupunzel'. Virtually all of the employees speak English. The concierge's desk is manned by multiple people all day, all eager to please. The Bistro for breakfast is phenomenal - omelet bar, noodle bar, fresh, unlimited everything including cappuccino and espresso. The huge lobby area is breathtaking, with very modern designs, but with all sorts of little comfy areas to meet / chat / hangout. Great gym and swimming pool. Rooms are comfortable and amazingly quiet. Bathrooms are beautiful, especially ceiling shower. There is a currency exchange machine in the lobby - feed in USD and get back RMB. Also an ATM in the lobby - accepts US bank cards, but you must add a '00' to the end of your 4-digit PIN as Chinese cards all have 6-digit PINs. Rates can be a bit high, but we booked through a tour company with a presence in Beijing and they got us about 1/2 the rate available through the Marriott web site.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

I stayed at the Marriott City Wall for 5 nights. This is a fantastic hotel with a highly professional staff, clean rooms, comfortable bed, great shower (a must for me), and good restaurants. My stay came with free daily breakfast at the ground floor Bistro restaurant. The restaurant itself is modern, comfortable and clean. The food selection is your typical high-end buffet fare, with a blend of Western hot/continental and Chinese congee/hot foods selection. I also really enjoyed dining at Pearl, another restaurant on the ground floor serving up "Pearl River Delta" cuisine, which is another fancy word for Cantonese style fare. What impressed me the most about this hotel is definitely the helpful, cheerful staff. They really go out of their way to help you feel comfortable and welcome.

I didn't give it a full 5-star because my non-smoking room smelled strong of cigarette and I saw guests (or non-guests?) smoking in the lobby. Also, despite being centrally located the hotel's close proximity to the Beijing Railway Stations makes it not a super pleasant place to walk around. It's also not convenient to get taxis (though the hotel is always happy to try to call you one) and enjoy a leisurely stroll. Despite these minor points, I would still highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Be sure to be very specific about a smoking or non-smoking room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beijing Marriott Hotel City Wall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beijing Marriott Hotel City Wall

Address: No.7 Jian Guo Men South Avenue, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100005, China
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing > Beijing Railway Station / Jianguomen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Beijing
#37 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#38 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#42 Business Hotel in Beijing
#288 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Beijing Marriott Hotel City Wall 4*
Number of rooms: 649
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This stunning landmark hotel, adjacent to the remaining ancient Ming Dynasty City Wall and a five-minute driving to Forbidden City, Tiananmen Square, and Silk Market, 2-minute walking distance to Jianguomen Subway Station. It is home to 649 elegantly decorated rooms and suites, featuring Marriott's trademark "Revive" New Bedding, connectivity to plug and play iPods and other personal devices. The meeting space comprises of 4,000 square meters which is one of the largest amongst the hotels in Beijing. Wireless high speed Internet is accessible in all public areas and meeting rooms, a pillar-less ballroom that is interchangeable to suit your needs. Aside from the preferable accommodation and meeting facilities, Beijing Marriott Hotel City Wall offers a distinctive selection of restaurants and bars. The hotel's various facilities and services include state of the art fitness center, a half Olympic size indoor heated swimming pool, 24 hour Room Service, Gold Key Concierge service and a stay to remember ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Marriott, Agoda, Ctrip TA and Hotels.com so you can book your Beijing Marriott Hotel City Wall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Beijing

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beijing Marriott Hotel City Wall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.