We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, comfy rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Beijing Capital Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Beijing Capital Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance Beijing Capital Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.61 Dongsanhuan Middle Road, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100022, China (Guomao)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #18 of 5,423 Hotels in Beijing
Singapore, null, Singapore
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good location, comfy rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Our overall experience was positive but, for the price paid, there really shouldn't be anything to complain about. However...

Cons:

- the front desk and restaurant staff speak enough English to get by, but no one could answer any "out of the ordinary" questions e.g. is there a dress code at this restaurant? Do I need a reservation / booking?
- the rooms were cleaned very late so, after a morning of sight-seeing, you could come back to an unmade bed.
- the staff at Fratelli Cafe ignored / misunderstood me when I said I wanted a small pizza, brought the big one and, when I asked for the left over half to be packed up, they shoved it into a plastic bag, leaving me with a squishy mess. And the tomato tasted as if it had been poured straight out of a tin.

Pros:

- the rooms are large and very comfortable.
- the buffet breakfast at BLD is amazing - the made-to-order smoothies are a must-have.
- location is ideal.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

792 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    529
    226
    19
    12
    6
See reviews for
64
91
44
349
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
beijing
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

I've stayed in this hotel several times already, and the quality of service remained consistent if not improved. The standards are relatively high considering we are in China, and the personell attitude is warm and helpful.
For business travelling is the best place in Beijing I would suggest to my collegues or friends.
The italian restaurant at the first floor, Fratelli Fresh, is northworthy: staff is friendly and chatty, very nice to talk with them, and they are not scared about giving you suggestions about food and even wine (something pretty rare in Beijing). Food is going to be awesome thanks to the new italian chef,I think.
Overall, Renaissance is the perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

This is a well appointed, comfortable hotel but just too far from the center of Beijing. It does sit near a subway station which helps but overall not a great location as it requires a train or taxi ride to reach downtown and tourist locations. Also it seems that very few taxi drivers knew where it was so always carry the hotel business card with you.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Renaissance, Beijing is the best hotel in Beijing and the top choices for me. I started my business travel from Oct, 2012 and I already has lived around 120 nights. When it comes to the reason, I will suggest you to experience the breakfast in 4 floor, wonderful service in 24 F, especially the best bath tub in your room. It will be your fantastic experience that you drink a glass of red wine, watch the TV and immerse yourself in the white bath tub...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

I come to Beijing often on business and when I do, I always stay at this hotel. This hotel is perfect for businesspeople as well as tourists.

The location is good, it is about 10 minutes by taxi to Sanlitun, the main tourist shopping/bar/restaurant district. There is also a subway station (Shuangjin) just next to the hotel, which allows you to get anywhere in the city quickly. There is a shopping mall across the street with a foreign supermarket in the basement and plenty of shopping in the surrounding streets for anything you may need. Many foreigners live in the neighborhood so many local shops with a variety of American and European items.

The hotel is very modern but also comfortable and the rooftop indoor eternity pool and gymnasium are very nice. The entire hotel is kept very clean and the food is good too, with an Italian chef on staff. Definitely try the R Burger, it is that great Marriott burger that everyone likes so much. Beds are awesome and there is a selection of pillows if you ask.

The hotel is extremely well managed and the level of service is outstanding. There are employees from all over the world that come through Marriott’s internal exchange program. Many of the Chinese employees speak English, and everyone is always saying hello and asking if you need assistance with anything. I’ll tell you how great the service is. My friend and his wife came to visit and his wife cut her hand trying to open a can of peanuts in the room. The hotel staff took her to a nearby international hospital in the Marriott van and went with her while she got a few stitches, helping to translate and making sure everything went well. They waited with her and insisted on paying the bill. Then they brought her back to the hotel and then next day took them to the airport, all for free. They are just all so concerned about the guests having a good experience. What could have been a bad situation and a bad experience left my friends talking about how great everyone was.

Good room, good bed, good service, good location, good views. Did I miss anything? I obviously can’t recommend this hotel enough.

Room Tip: Get a room on the side of the 3rd ring road. The other side of the building has another building jus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forlì
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

They collected us at the airport as the service was included in the "pack" of the room. Good driver and good car (believe me, both are not ordinary in China). Check-in friendly and very fast as the luggage service.
Room very nice with all you need and also a nice view.
Highly recommended the club floor with the lounge: good buffet american/asian breakfast and also complete evening cocktails buffet in a nice ambience and service.
The hotel position is also good: in the middle of everything (nothing really close, as distances counts in Beijing) and 5 minutes walking distance from the metro (if too hot or rainy you can go trough the “Viva” shopping mall).
Very good choice both for business and holidays !

Room Tip: Club floor with Lounge access
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Internationally, I find Renaissance hotels to be my number one or two choice of hotel brands. For me, they are the sweet spot of value and quality; and this one is no exception. Top notch hotel.

I didn't find the neighborhood all that interesting or the location particularly good or bad. If I knew my way around Beijing better I might suggest something else on the basis of location alone, but otherwise I'm totally satisfied with this hotel. Beijing is a enormous city, so wherever you are, you'll probably be taking a taxi to get somewhere else. Taxi ride from the hotel to Tiananmen Square/Forbidden city is about 10-15 minutes and less than $10.

We used the hotel to hire a car, guide and driver to go to the Great Wall. Well worth it, but beware that the "4 hour" tour option is not enough time to get there and back with any time to see the wall. Beijing traffic is bad--really bad. So you will end up paying overtime. No big deal, just beware.

Room Tip: Like all city hotels, a high floor is better because of street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Beijing Capital Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Beijing Capital Hotel

Address: No.61 Dongsanhuan Middle Road, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100022, China
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing > Guomao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 5,423 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Renaissance Beijing Capital Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 522
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Why can't a business trip also be a journey full of inspiring discoveries? Renaissance Beijing Capital Hotel is the ultimate lifestyle hotel in Beijing. Surrounded by upscale shopping malls, numerous of intriguing restaurants and amazing bars in Shuangjing area. The hotel puts you in the heart of Beijing Central Business District, 35 minutes away from the International Airport.Our property offers the perfect blend of comfort, with 522 spacious guest rooms including 37 well-appointed suites. Our International Chefs' team proposes a delicious international and authentic cuisine which should delight your senses. With more than 2300 square meters function space, elegantly decorated, the Renaissance Beijing Capital can satisfy all your business and social events requirements.To end a perfect day in Beijing, enjoy our signature Touch Spa and health club before letting you be pampered in our Club Lounge on the 24th floor.You spend life working. Discover the world as you go. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Renaissance Beijing Capital Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Beijing Capital Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.