We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, close to Peking and Tsinghua universities” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Lakeview Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Lakeview Hotel to your Saves list
The Lakeview Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.127 Zhongguancun North Street, Haidian District, Beijing 100080, China (Zhongguancun)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #427 of 5,462 Hotels in Beijing
Lund, Sweden
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good hotel, close to Peking and Tsinghua universities”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

Very conveniently located just by east gate of Peking university and west gate of Tsinghua university. Also close to the Yuanmingyuan park and the summer palace.
Good breakfast, ok fitness room, nice pool.
Rooms were spatious and quiet, with all amenities you need, including free wifi.
Housekeeping not quite what you are used to from Europe/US, but ok.
In all, I spent 9 nights, and it was a perfectly fine stay.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    74
    24
    4
    3
See reviews for
1
4
7
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Location:

It is right on campus and this is the reason that you might want to stay here. It is the most decent hotel on campus and even around the campus of Peking University. Walking distance to two nearby subway stations (around 10-12 minutes walking) and close to faculty buildings. Bus stations about 3-5 minutes from the hotel. It is also across the street from a Tsinghua University entrance.

If you are a tourist, unless you want to see the universities, and want to be a bit closer to the Summer Palace, staying here would not be very convenient. Summer Palace is a few subway stations away.

Going here to the eastern part of Beijing (Sanlitun) area by subway can take you 45 minutes.

No shop or western restaurants nearby. There is a cafe inside the hotel serving western food. Of course, as it is on campus, there are some places to eat nearby, but serving Chinese food only.

The Room:
The room is big and well decorated. It looks modern. Bed is comfortable. The hotel is quite new, so there is no much problem. But a few years later, then I don't know. Many Chinese hotels age and deteriorate quickly after opening due to poor management and maintenance, and the Mainland Chinese guests are never kind to the room.

Mine was a non-smoking room, and it smells ok.

Washroom is big and modern, with see-through glass to the bedroom. Separate shower unit, but water do leak out, though not serious.

It is not perfectly clean, but It is OK.

Wi-fi:
NO wi-fi in the room, but LAN is available. Being a university hotel, I don't understand why no wi-fi is available.

Fitness facilities:
The gym and heated swimming pool are good, and clean. Gym has all the necessary facilities for a work out. Comparing to Peninsula Beijing, I think while Lakeview is not as well equipped, its is not far behind and definitely adequate.

Verdict:
I won't rank it as 5 stars though it pretends to be one. It is more like a 3 stars business hotel, or perhaps, if I am generous, can give it a marginal 4 stars as it is still a new one.

For tourists, the location is not that good, unless you enjoy a less busy area and the campus environ. It also depends whether you can get a good bargain. For business travellers, it is definitely far from the office areas. For visiting students and academics, a nice choice, and perhaps the only decent choice that you can walk to Tsinghua and Peking University.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, Indiana
Top Contributor
203 reviews 203 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

This is an excellent location if you are visiting Tsinghua University or PKU. The lobby is quite attractive, the view to the courtyard is very pleasant, and the rooms are nice. The negatives are weak wifi signals, dirty carpets, and expensive breakfast and lunch at the lobby restaurants. Also, my room on the nonsmoking floor had a smell of cigarettes. Overall, it was pretty nice compared to most hotels I've seen in China.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

I just completed a weekend stay at the Hilton Beijing and moved to the LakeView Hotel for a meeting I'm attending this week. The difference between the two hotels is shocking. The Hilton was a clean Western hotel with a friendly staff that all spoke English. My room was very nice and the food was great. On the other hand, no one at the LakeView seems to have a firm grasp of English. My "non-smoking" floor smells very strongly of smoke and my rooms carpets are so stained that I am afraid to walk around without socks. I'm trying to ignore the cracked and dirty bathroom floor as much as possible. Also, given that no log-in is needed for the wireless at Lakeview, I'm very hesitant to connect to VPN and potentially open up an unsecure door to my email and my company's files.

Normally, I don't have high expectations for a hotel but so far Hilton Beijing delivered and LakeView isn't even in the game.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winterthur, Switzerland
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Huge hotel quite central (depending on where you have to go ;-)).
Nice bar in the entrance hall with regular piano playing sessions. Beer quite expensive (especially when you know the prices in a normal bar)
The hotel room was nice and big enough and also clean. Nice to have a scales in the own hotel room. :-)
Fitness center (gym) was not huge, but enough for the interested guests.
Fascinating breakfast - for us Europeans quite different - and also qualitatively good.
The only real negative point is, that mostly nobody in the hotel was able to speak English. I believe for a business hotel like this, this should be normal, at least at the front desk, concierge and in the restaurants and bar.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

I do not recommend this hotel. It definitely is not worth the 5-star rating. The room was not clean. The shower was full of mold and hair. I wonder if the floor of the room has ever been cleaned, definitely not recently. I complained about this and asked for the room to be cleaned a couple of times with no satisfactory response. This alone is enough to warrant never recommending the hotel. The redeeming factors were the pool and hot tubs -- excellent and definitely 5-star or higher, but the showers in the locker room suffered from the same mold and hair as the shower in the room. Yech. Really unacceptable. The breakfast was good but not worth the price tag. The train stations were easily accessible. The bed, at least, was clean and comfy. The staff claimed to speak English but really did not. I am hoping that you can do better than this for more than $200 per night in Beijing.

Room Tip: Pick a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

This my second time to stay at the Lakeview Hotel.

Of course no lake is to be seen. Actual lake is a 10 minute walk and it is located on the PKU campus.

My guaranteed reservation was for Non smoking room. But in a surreal repeat of my first stay six month earlier once again "so sorry but no smoking room available. so sorry". After making myself an ugly American a no smoking room on the 5th floor appeared like magic.
The room, the bathroom were in good condition and connecting to Internet was seamless.
The shower door does not close tight so after the shower the bathroom floor will be flooded. One robe and one large towel were sufficient for stemming the tide.

For a hotel that serves many international visitors to PKU the staff English competency is surprisingly poor. I am told that staff with better English competency are in great demand by higher paying employers.

Breakfast buffet was similar to that in many 4 star restaurants except that Lakeview claims to be a 5* hotel. Ordering an 'over easy' fried egg requires sign language and close supervision. The normal 'over easy' fried egg is totally over cooked. If you like cream cheese for breakfast instead of butter this kitchen does not offer cream cheese. As for coffee the regular cafe Americano is vile. But there is an espresso machine which also brews a long cup and that coffee is very good.
On my next visit I will try another hotel. Lakeview management does not need to try too hard because of their close location to PKU. They can charge 5* prices for 3* services and 4* star rooms and get away with this.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lakeview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lakeview Hotel

Address: No.127 Zhongguancun North Street, Haidian District, Beijing 100080, China
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing > Zhongguancun
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #427 of 5,462 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Lakeview Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 336
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA and Agoda so you can book your The Lakeview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lakeview Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.