We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Downtown Beijing

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Downtown Beijing to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Downtown Beijing
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.98 Beilishi Road, Xicheng Distrct, Beijing 100037, China (Xidan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #157 of 5,113 hotels in Beijing
Manchester
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Just returned from this hotel. it is well located near the subway which was a doddle to use. The hotel itself has a nice loby area. We were on the club floor in a good sized room, it was very comforbale, no issues with the room at all. Club floor also gave us access to the club lounge where we enjoyed a few beers and snacks after sightseeing all day. We also had free internet access. The food in the restaurant was good as well, we had the chicken curry. My only criticism is that it took until the third night before we were offered the food menu, and there were spirits bottles available in the lounge when I believe they should have been there every night. If they are not there, remember to ask!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    55
    152
    59
    6
    4
See reviews for
25
38
13
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights and was very fortunate to be upgraded to a state room. The facilities were great, and breakfast in the cafe was busy but reasonable choices available. It's biggest advantage was that it was 5 minutes walk from the subway so was very easy to get around. My only real complaints were the smoke smell in the room and the inability to cool the room (only heat), but I didn't specifically ask for non-smoking and the cooling issue is one I have had in most hotels across the world.

The concierge didn't speak english very well at all (well it is China after all!), but they were very good to arrange my train tickets for onward travel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Enjoyed our 4-night stay in the hotel, it was very conveniently located near the Fuchengmen station, from there you can access the rest of Beijing for only 2 RMB per trip. There's also a currency exchange machine at the hotel. Water pressure was excellent.

I wanted to rate the hotel higher for this visit, but overall experience was just okay. Language was still a problem and we had difficulty communicating with some front desk staff, I also felt they preferred to talk to other locals over foreigners and prioritized them even though I was clearly next in the queue. We were put on a smoking floor even though we requested for non-smoking rooms, there was no recognition for iHG rewards members and lastly the breakfast was just average, I was expecting more.

But overall, it was still a good stay, all we were looking for was a clean room, comfy bed and the location was really good, would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ada L, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Downtown Beijing, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your precious time to share your experiences with us.

We are pleased to know your satisfaction with our hotel and would choose us again in your future trip in Beijing. All problems you have mentioned in your comment have delivered to the hotel management, proper actions have implemented already. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best source for improving guest services.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again.

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

The hotel is at walking distance from few shopping centers and an underground station. It is a standard Holiday Inn facility, with rooms quite small and a bit dated even if well kept. Internet connection is chargeable (in my case included in the fare) and quite slow.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ada L, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Downtown Beijing, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your sharing about your recent stay with us.

We are pleased to know that you appreciated the location of our hotel, an aspect of our hotel that is preferred by many of our guests. Your encouraging reviews will help us constantly improve our quality and we hope to exceed over and beyond our guest expectations.

Thank you again, we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Stayed here mid September 2013. With Holiday Inns you know what to expect, and this was certainly it. Clean hotel with comfortable beds,good sized rooms, safe and clean bathrooms (ours had a bath - was certainly useful after a day of trekking the Great Wall). The breakfast was amazing - a selection of English, continental, American, Chinese breakfasts were provided - fruit, yogurts, breads, pastries, juices, coffees, teas, milk, noodles, rice, vegetables, curried eggs, dim sum, boiled eggs, poached eggs, beans, toasts, sausages, bacon, hash browns, pancakes, french toast, maple syrup - amazing! If you stay at this hotel, make sure you include breakfast! Hotel was also in a great location, on the same block (2 minute walk) to the nearest underground which is really easy to use. Lots of small shops and local/western restaurants nearby too. Staff also polite, helpful and friendly which of course usually makes or breaks a hotel. Great all round hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billericay, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Hotel is a short 5 min walk from Fuchengmen station on Line 2 (Blue Line). Exit A turn right to end of block then left, hotel is on your left past shops.
Staff are most helpful at all times, willing to help out with any questions, all are excellent!
We had a room with twin beds which I think are a little bigger than the average uk single bed.
Room was spotless with good aircon, free wifi as we are platinum members, tea and coffee making facilities, jug kettle if you need boiling water for anything else. TV had Hbo film channel, national geographic also in English.
Bathroom had a bath with loads of super hot water, had a little black around the silicon of bath but all was clean and sparkling so have no complaints.
Within the hotel there is a nice little gym to use, coffee shop, restaurant , tea shop - for buying tea, massage parlour, hair salon.
It is easy peasy to use trains on subway nearby to reach other parts of Beijing, 2 cny for each journey , cheap as chips!!!!!
All in all a very good stay, would def stay again if in area
Thank you to all the staff that made our stay a great one!!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ada L, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Downtown Beijing, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking your precious time to share your stay experience during your stay in our hotel.
We are pleased to know that our hotel help in making your stay enjoyable. Your encouraging review will help us constantly improve our quality even further as we hope to exceed over and beyond our guest expectations . Thank you.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

The hotel is very clean and the staff are very helpful. Is is very conveniently placed within walking distance of a metro station. However, the taxi driver found it difficult to find the hotel. It is not an easy hotel to find. The carpet in the lobby and the room is a little shabby and needs revamping. The booking agent 'Hotels.com' booked us in one bed for a couple and a 17 year old child. The hotel was good enough to provide a folding bed for my daughter in the sitting room which she was not very happy about. I would stay at the hotel again as the staff are very friendly and it is very clean. What is missing is a swimming pool : If there was one, no one told us about it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Downtown Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Downtown Beijing

Address: No.98 Beilishi Road, Xicheng Distrct, Beijing 100037, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing > Xidan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#99 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#173 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Downtown Beijing 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Ctrip DaoDao and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Downtown Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Downtown Beijing Hotel Beijing
Holiday Inn Beijing

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Downtown Beijing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.